We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A quaint historic hotel” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A quaint historic hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2014

True to the other reviews, the bathroom is small, but they made good use of the space, with little cubbies and creative areas to store toiletries. No where to put shampoo and shower supplies except on the floor of the shower. The service was great and the bed was comfortable. I could not get the wifi to work.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shelly A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    336
    245
    102
    53
    32
See reviews for
150
375
30
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodbury, New York
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We just got back from staying at this hotel. I had read reviews ahead of time and some were mixed so we were a bit hesitant. Upon arriving, the valet parkers were friendly and quick. You can go in and out without a problem. The hotel is lovely! Perhaps we were in a renovated room (#310) but our room was clean, comfortable and pretty although the bathroom was small. We had little room to put things so we used space in the bedroom. This wasn't an issue. We spend two full days in area and really enjoyed our stay.
Jim, from the front desk was more than helpful with checking in and with each suggestion he gave. From lunch at the Boathouse, to wine tasting in SB to walking along shops, we got all suggestions from Jim. The best was the dinner at San Ysidro Ranch. One of the prettiest outside dining places, freshest and delicious meals. Tip:tortilla soup and fish/chips were delish! If you sit outside on patio, prices are better. Check out the grounds-just beautiful! Ride up to ranch goes through some serious money put into houses! Another great suggestion was lunch at Lucky Penny by wine tasting places. Fantastic chicken salad sandwich and green salad with nuts and apricots! One would easily pass this place had it not been suggested.
We've been spoiled with beautiful beaches on Long Island, NY so weren't so impressed with beaches but this didn't spoil our visit to them.
Hotel gym was small but adequate and clean. Old elevator with door but this adds to the charm of the hotel.
My only suggestion would be to have more seating and possibly outside seating for breakfast. We had to wait for a table. Continental breakfast is included too...nice and appreciated.
We would definitely go back if we visited area agai

Room Tip: We didn't hear outside noise that some reviewers shared. We were in room 310.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank aericken
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2014

We got a great deal from Hotwire and stayed here mid-week on the 9th of July, for one night. My friend and I were given a room facing the front of the hotel over-looking the mountains. It is a really tight room but very nicely appointed. The design is hip and new. It's too bad that people are giving this place a 69% because that room is really nice. The bathroom is really tight too. Really cute, but tight. They have created places to put your things but you can't be swinging your arms around because you will be banging on stuff. We thought that bed was amazing and just right. I wish I had that bed at home.
Valet personnel were very nice.
We planned on having breakfast at the hotel but were disappointed with the offering. We grabbed a coffee and left. That dining room is tired and not well maintained. Staff is not attentive and the tables are not too clean from the night before (we had tea the night before and I think the ring from my tea cup was still imprinted on the table-same table).
I will stay here again for that room.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SBATustin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2014

This hotel, superbly located in historic Montecito, is a past glory; the rooms are small and the bathrooms are even smaller with no place to put your toilette items. And the prices are high - the hotel is living off tradition. it really needs a major renovation.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dianainroma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontecitoInn, General Manager at Montecito Inn, responded to this review, July 14, 2014
We'd like for potential readers of this review to know that 52 of our 61 guest rooms were indeed renovated in January of this year, with the lobby set to be redecorated in early August of this year, and our suites scheduled to be redecorated before this year's Thanksgiving holiday. These renovations will not be of any disturbance to our guests whatsoever...the lobby furniture will be installed in a single day, and the suites in one week (the suites are located well away from all other rooms). We're very happy that the quality of our new decor for the 52 guest bedrooms renovated in January has been very well received by new guests as well as our many guests who've stayed with us frequently over the years! In fact, we have never been busier! Photos of our newly-designed standard bedrooms are available to see on the Montecito Inn website. We hope you visit the website to become more familiar with our property, and we look forward to hopefully having you with us soon!

Danny Copus
General Manager
Montecito Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napier, New Zealand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

All that was to be expected and more. I had a very good rate, which allowed me to experience this historical hotel. Well maintained, very friendly and youthful staff. I had a beautiful room with view of mountains. I did not hear noise of the highway. Tiny bathroom but that did not matter, for it seamed to have the original fittings which were solidly made of old world quality, and nicely tiled. Very comfortable beds, though slightly rubbery pillows. Nice casual bar, which serves nice looking bar food. I ate in the hotel restaurant which was popular and nice. Great location to shops and walk across highway to beautiful beach and flash residences.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank minajack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
230 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 3, 2014

This is a very old boutique hotel built and owned in the late 1920's by Charlie Chaplin; so quite a number of Hollywood luminaries and starlets may have stayed there in the old days.

Our room was quite small. We stayed 5D/5N and we adapted to the small space after a day. It was a comfortable room w king bed and large ceiling fan. The bed and bath linens were luxurious, so were the toiletries. The room came with free Wi-Fi, a flat panel TV, mini fridge, safe, iron and iron board, small wardrobe with a long mirror on the inside door, three large drawers, two armchairs, and two foldable racks for our two suitcases.

The bathroom was quite tight, but with imaginative use of the small cabinet, it was possible to store our toiletries.

We explored the premises and thought about what it might have been like in the days of Charlie Chaplin. The swimming pool was in a kind of garden, so perhaps starlets can drink, tan and cavort poolside. There was also a small gym.

The breakfast room was obviously designed for people-watching with glass windows all round, but with the sun shining directly into the room every morning, it became uncomfortably warm in the summer. Could do with shades like in the French Riviera.

The room rate came with continental breakfast, which was adequate. However I heard a house guest grumbled that he preferred to have a proper American breakfast of bacon and eggs, hash browns etc..

In any case, the inn is within easy walking distance to many little eateries for breakfast, lunch and dinner.

Coffee and fresh fruits are available all day in the lobby.

Car valet service is available in the small covered car park.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sweetafton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BOTHELL
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014 via mobile

The hotel its located in a good area pretty close to the beach . I did not like the fact that the rooms are not looking like the pictures on the web . The hotel has no view of anything ... Just a big roof ... freeway.. It does have nice things though . Free bike rentals , nice and helpful staff . Refreshments and fruits offered all time . I expected just a little more cozier little more charm .

  • Stayed June 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EMESEBOTHELL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MontecitoInn, General Manager at Montecito Inn, responded to this review, July 3, 2014
We very much appreciate some of the comments within this review. We would, though, like to clarify something regarding the comment about views. As with any hotel, there are better views from some rooms than from others, however, the Montecito Inn does indeed offer very nice views from many of its rooms. Some room categories even guarantee a view. Room categories that guarantee a view are our Mountain View King Bedrooms, The Tower Suite (boasting perhaps the best view from any room in all of Santa Barbara), and The Apartment. Other room types are positioned in different locations throughout the Inn, however, some of them still offer partial views of either the mountains or the Pacific Ocean and Channel Islands in the distance (the Montecito Inn is located two blocks from one of the best beaches in town). We encourage all of our future guests to inquire about room types, locations, and features such as views via our website (www.montecitoinn.com) or with us directly via telephone.

We look forward to having you with us and accommodating your every request,

Danny Copus
General Manager
Montecito Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
1.8 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Fess Parker - A Doubletree by Hilton Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd., Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Jetsetter and Despegar.com so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing