We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Lots of character” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #24 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
South Puget Sound
Level Contributor
83 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Lots of character”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here on our way from Monterey to a flight back home from LA. We really liked it. We had no reservation but called several places as we were driving -- the location and value at Montecito Inn seemed good so we went for it and were happy with the choice. Staff are friendly and efficient. On check in we were told about free bikes and breakfast, which we had not known about when we made the reservation. We had a nice dip in the heated pool and whirlpool the night we arrived and used the bikes for a ride the next morning to the pier in Santa Barbara and back. We ate in the restaurant the evening of arrival and enjoyed the food and service; breakfast was nothing to write home about but got us started on the day fine. Valet parking at no charge was a nice touch.

Great walking in the neighborhood to the shops and restaurants. Montecito keeps a low profile but seems to be a pretty well-heeled place.

Room Tip: Freeway noise could be a problem. We were in room 225 which has no view to speak of but was quiet...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathyLen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

484 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    181
    172
    71
    33
    27
See reviews for
88
229
18
43
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (97)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Miami
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2013

I spent a week in Santa Barbara for training purpose (Feb 24 - Mar 2). Montecito Inn was the recommended hotel and the resulting experience was fantastic. The hotel is particularly beautiful and full of history remarked by the presence of Charles Chaplin in most of the halls and lobby. The location is perfectly inserted into a very nice and elegant neighborhood with nearby restaurants (Cava, China Palace, Los Arroyos, etc), shops, and gas stations. Relatively close to downtown. The staff is very professional and friendly. The service offered was excellent as well as the food. The Montecito Restaurant has not many options but the ones offered are delicious. The Bar also has an excellent service and wide variety of drinks and cocktails. Complimentary breakfast has good local pastries & coffee. Coffee/tea service in the lobby is 24/7. However, there are many other places where to have breakfast, lunch or dinner just across the street. The rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. Sometime I could hear some noise from the adjacent room but nothing really disturbing. No working AC in my room but winter travel should be fine in any room. Bed and pillows are very comfortable.
I would be able to strongly recommend this hotel if you travel to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Try to avoid rooms in the rear of hotel. Noise from the expressway 101 is relevant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Migue51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thousand Oaks, California
Level Contributor
20 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here for a week on business. As far as location, you can't beat it. Multiple restaurants within walking distance. The beach is about 3-4 blocks away. The only problem I had was the proximity to the freeway entrance. Street and freeway traffic noise was an issue. I can see never being able to sleep with the windows open, which is something that could be a problem in the warm spring and summer. The room I had was very small and also seemed to have very thin walls. I could hear the guest next door brushing his teeth. Service, I have to say was very good. I chose to move rooms due to the traffic noise and they offered to move my luggage while I was away to another room. Valet was quick and courteous. I never ate at the restaurant but, I heard it was very good. If you're staying just one or two nights it may be ok. Any more than that, I would prefer to stay at another location.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over the restaurant and on the corner by the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TeeOjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Montecito inn is overall GREAT location with 3 minutes walking from the beach and 10 minutes driving from the beaches, shopping districts, and historical sites of Santa Barbara. Parking is $8 although wifi is free (I think). Complimentary coffee, tea, hot chocolate, and water are available 24/7 and a continental breakfast is included. The restaurant at the hotel is a MUST but is a little pricey. Be sure to get the coconut cake! Air conditioners in the rooms are currently being installed although no air condition was not a problem. Service was overall ok as they had given us the wrong room and we had to move rooms in-between the first and second night. The hotel is good for a few, but I would not bring families here.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler5161
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lexington Park, Maryland
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel, clean and in a wonderful area with free bike rentals and a restaurant attached BUT you can hear everything!! I was awoken many times through the night by other peoples cell phones, drunken conversations and dare I say it, BATHROOM visits. The area was very nice but still a distance from State Street, where everything is happening! The hallways smelled of skunk- no bueno. If I ever visit this area again, I think I will stay somewhere else.

Room Tip: ASk for a room with more insulation!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ashley D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairfield, California
Level Contributor
321 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 115 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

A friend suggested the Montecito Inn for our stay in the Santa Barbara area and we're glad that she did. It is a nice boutique hotel in a great location. It is great service and luxury all wrapped in nice setting. There is a coffee/tea station in the lobby area that is a very nice.

The rooms are small but very nice and comfortable. The property has been updated and is well maintained. Our bed was very comfortable,the linens and robes plush. The staff is professional, friendly and go out of their way to make your stay very comfortable.

The only down side to the property is the freeway and street noise. I recommend requesting a room to the front of the property at least the street noise dies down compared to the freeway noise to the rear of the property. During our stay a number of the rooms were being renovated and the window shuttlers were replacing the wndow treatments, so this will probably help with any noise.

Love this property already planning a return visit to the area and will stay here. I highly recommnend this proeprty.

Room Tip: Freeway traffic to the rear of the property and street traffic to the front. Suggest requesting a r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 2marcopolos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sebastian, Florida
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We entered this charming, Meditteranean-style hotel and were immediately enchanted. The staff was pleasant, efficient, and did all the right things. Upon check-in, each guest receives a sheet of paper with the interesting history of the hotel and its' main investor, silent screen star Charlie Chaplin. The desk clerk apologized for not having our room ready but offered us room #316, a very nice upgrade to a 2 queen bedroom with 2 bathrooms. It was a unique setup as we each had our own entrance to the bathrooms and the room itself. The bathrooms didn't have alot of shelf space but were done in vibrant blue tile. The beds were high with plush, comfy mattresses. All the upscale toiletries had a Charlie Chaplin logo on the wrappers. The next morning, before departing, we enjoyed a lovely continental breakfast in a bright room overlooking the street.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank irishdancer2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 903 reviews
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,194 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#38 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 91 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 1,094 reviews
3.9 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 472 reviews
1.6 mi away
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
Hyatt Centric Santa Barbara
#41 of 52 in Santa Barbara
3.5 of 5 stars 1,081 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Odigeo and Jetsetter so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing