We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Quaint Hotel/Tower Suite Review” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Montecito Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Montecito Inn
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Atascadero, California
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Quaint Hotel/Tower Suite Review”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

Arrived in town early (2:20 pm) before the 3:00 check in and received a chilly reception and were asked to return at 3:00. We drove around the area until 3:05 and magically the valet and front desk gentlemen had put on their "we're happy to see you" personalities and made us feel welcome. The Tower Suite is a hike up 3 flights of stairs (I don't like elevators - especially OLD ones), down a covered outdoor walkway and then down a hallway. You enter a small living area with a not super-comfortable seating area with a flat screen TV on a storage unit that houses the mini bar that's already stocked with no room for your things. The bathroom is also on this level. Nice shower, tub, toilet and single sink. The bedroom is up 16 stairs plus a landing and is also a smallish area with a queen-sized bed. Keep this hike in mind if you're over 40 and get up in the night. The step out balconies were never used - you would only be letting in freeway noise or noise from the busy street out front. The views are pretty beyond the traffic of the mountains and a peak of ocean. Bring your white noise device and ear plugs for a peaceful sleep. We blew a fuse once when ironing clothes - had to call maintenance. The steam shower also had to be reset because of blowing a fuse - 3rd floor seems to have this problem. The pool area is small but lovely - a nice place to relax and read. The cruiser bikes are a very nice added amenity. We took them down to Butterfly beach twice which is a downhill coast (no peddling needed) for about 3 blocks and then up a lung bursting hill to the bike trail all the way into Santa Barbara which is a must - so beautiful! The ground level attached restaurant and bar were great for dinner or a nightcap. The complimentary continental breakfast in the morning was actually really nice with yogurt, fruit, locally made pastries and good coffee. All in all it was a very enjoyable stay in a great location. Yes, traffic is noisy and you need to be in relatively good shape to handle all the stairs but those were the only true downsides to staying here.

Room Tip: Not all rooms have A/C. The Tower Suite does have A/C.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SunSnorkelTan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

595 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    202
    85
    39
    28
See reviews for
107
285
23
57
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (102)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
52 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2012

We stayed mid week off season and were surprised at the price. 109.00 It is a gem from another era. The room was all we needed except the bathroom was quite small. The one thing that is unbeatable is the old fashion service. Every employee was outstanding. The continental breakfast was a little light, but great coffee.
Beware of the water bottle lurking by the ice bucket. It had a tag on it, but my thirst and poor eyesight caused me to disregard it. Yes, at check out I was charged $4.oo for it. The irony was that I left 2 dt. pepsi's in the in-room frig.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank greenthumbCalifornia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
206 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

The people here are the greatest. We had booked a tower suite (ocean view from bedroom) and when we arrived and say the room there was no way we would have enjoyed our stay. The bedroom was upstairs and the bathroom was downstairs. Since we are seniors this would not work. Kyle who was helping us and Yao Ntem the Front Desk and Concierge Supervisor went to work and relocated us to suite 402. This was a beautiful room and we enjoyed our stay more than several of the other hotels on this trip. I am not familiar with the regular rooms. We booked several months before our trip and the price was very reasonable. I will stay there next year if I find the same price. Kyle and Yao Ntem were wonderful. All of the staff were very nice and friendly. The ocean is about a 4 minute walk and so is the Biltmore. I will stay here again and again. Yao also recommende several places to eat in the neighborhood and they were Very good also.
PS the suites are airconditioned.

Room Tip: Look for specials and stay in one of the Suites. They are located on the 1st floor and do face the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank USMC178
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
C
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2012

The hotel does not have air conditioning in most rooms and their is no air flow. Their is no air in the lobby or restaurant either. It was extremely hot. The bathroom is the size of a closet and the mirror was about 12" by 12" . Not worth the high price.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank C c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orem, Utah
Level Contributor
23 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

Would rather stay at the Four Seasons but can't afford $800+ per night. I have meetings there periodically so need to stay close - the Montecito Inn works, though fortunately I don't have to stay in the summer. Pros: great location; charming; friendly helpful staff and good valet parking; decent included breakfast. Cons: small rooms; cramped bathrooms; no A/C, as people have said. Really? Noisy with windows open. You must take an early morning walk down to the coastline and up into the residential area past the Four Seasons - wonderful!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Ietsgotravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 16, 2012

Rooms are very small and old, and bathroom has no space at all!! there is no AC in the rooms, so take that into consideration.
It also seems that the room was not very clean (hair on towells, carpet with all kinds of things on it...).
Overall, I don't think rhis hotel worth the high price. better stay in other place.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meital M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maple Valley, Washington
Level Contributor
64 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 9, 2012

This Hotel is within walking distance to the beach, shopping and some great dinning. They offer bikes for your enjoyment! Valet was very reasonable (under $10) quick, friendly and effecient. Nice little continental breakfast included.

The excercise room is good with a nice eleptical. Nice, quiet business center with a new Mac.

Only down side was my room on the breeze way. So very small even for 1 person. The bathroom has zero shelf space which makes getting ready tricky.

I was there on a rather warm day but did not mind the lack of airconditioning. There was plenty of ocean air if you opened the windows.

Safe location.

Room Tip: Avoid the road side rooms on the 'breeze way'. So small and woke up to road noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank atarnove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
2.9 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,221 reviews
3.3 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,148 reviews
3.5 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
3.8 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 914 reviews
3.9 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Montecito Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Montecito Inn

Property: Montecito Inn
Address: 1295 Coast Village Rd, Santa Barbara, CA 93108-2791
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#14 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#21 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Montecito Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Montecito Inn was built in 1928 by screen legend Charlie Chaplin as an escape to paradise for his closest friends. Enriched with influences reminiscent of early Santa Barbara, guest rooms are a reflection of the Montecito Inn's proud history and tradition. Bedrooms decorated with classic patterns and furnishings in warm earth tones and bathrooms adorned with hand-painted ceramic tile create an elegant ambiance. The Montecito Inn offers the perfect blend of classic style, comfort, convenience, and personalized service. Wake up in the morning to a continental breakfast served in the hotel's restaurant, the Montecito Cafe, or have it delivered to your door. Enjoy lunch and dinner at the Montecito Cafe, a local favorite, which boasts an exquisite California Nouveau cuisine. Other fine dining is also available only a walk away. Relax by the pool and Jacuzzi, or walk only 2.5 Blocks to the beach. Also enjoy the day in Montecito, one of America's most beautiful seaside communities, with boutique shopping. Featuring 61 Elegant Guest Rooms & Luxury Suites, the Montecito Inn offers all of the quality, service and elegance that Santa Barbara has to offer. Our staff is waiting to help satisfy your every desire. Today, the escape is yours. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your Montecito Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Montecito Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing