We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really great cakes beautiful and nice simple lunch or breakfast”

Renaud's Patisserie & Bistro
Ranked #2 of 13 Bakeries in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $15
Dining options: Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Santa Barbara, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Really great cakes beautiful and nice simple lunch or breakfast”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

This is THE place to buy a grown up birthday cake. They are fabulous, beautiful creations. It is a typical french pattiserie really high standard.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Frederika881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    107
    46
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
dallas
Level 5 Contributor
54 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“beautiful and delicious”
Reviewed December 13, 2012

Ate here two mornings in a row for our short visit to Santa Barbara...so pleasant to sit outside and enjoy the delicious coffee, pastries and breakfast meal of eggs, potatoes/fruit and toast. Well done!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank boxerfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bakersfield, California
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Good breakfast spot”
Reviewed November 30, 2012

Nice little cafe with tables outside. They stopped serving breakfast around 10? but were kind enough to make eggs for my husband and I who arrived around 11:30. Great coffee!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank pcas55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
159 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“Please pass the pastries!”
Reviewed November 24, 2012

On my third visit to this almost invisible tiny patisserie, once again I was mesmerized by their gorgeous display cases filled with mouthwatering beauties too many to choose just one from. The Grandgirls were happy with hot chocolate and an order of pasta with creme sauce and mushrooms. There are several small tables and metal chairs outside by the large fountain where you can wish dreams to come true.
That pasta packed to go in a take out box fell over the edge of the tiny tables outside as it was attempted to be opened by a hungry girl.
Upon requesting a clean up the staff immediately began a new pasta dish without being asked. That my readers is the heart of a good business and you leave without thinking you paid $12.95 for noodles, mushrooms and sauce without getting a bite!
As to choosing a pastry treat I figured it might be sometime before I get back to /Santa Barbara so I had to get one more and picked a lemon tart to join my chocolate croissant.
I heard later that Gelsons sells some of their items but since they are two doors away it is fresh but not as good as having your choice removed from behind the glass case and lovingly placed in a small important box. Hard to find if not a native to the area but worth the effort!

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 385eileenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level 6 Contributor
134 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“French food right here in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Located in Loreto Plaza, tucked away in a corner is the closest thing to eating in France! Absolutely delicious pastries including chocolate croissants. A great place for pastry and coffee, breakfast, or lunch. For breakfast, I like a piece of quiche, served with s nice salad. For a light lunch, try their salad with grilled chicken. Small inside, but several outdoor tables. Love it!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TrvlAgtRet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Renaud's Patisserie & Bistro also viewed

 
Santa Barbara, CA
 

Been to Renaud's Patisserie & Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing