We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing restaurant”
Review of Julienne

Julienne
Ranked #97 of 530 Restaurants in Santa Barbara
Price range: $20 - $25
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Santa Barbara
Midwest
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Amazing restaurant”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

On our last evening in Santa Barbara,w e tried Juienne and were treated to one of the better meals in our lives! The mussels are to die for. Chef stopped by our table to tell the story of how he decided to prepare the mussels as they were that day. Everything was fresh and original, without being pretentious. A decent wine selection, featuring both local and international wines. But, come here for the food. You will not be dissappointed.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank litho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    20
    20
    7
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“An exceptional experience”
Reviewed December 15, 2012 via mobile

Seldom does a restaurant live up to its reviews, but Julienne went beyond. We decided on a tasting and sat back and enjoyed exceptional flavors one after another, each expertly paired with a perfect wine. This is no ordinary restaurant. I have a feeling it will be difficult to get a reservation soon!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank OjaiRandy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Excellent menu in an inviting environment”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

A small but welcoming restaurant two short blocks from the State St. bustle. Sparkling water free of charge, which saves me $10 right away. The pork belly is fabulous, along with almost everything else. The wine list has plenty of mid-priced quality selections and the service is courteous and timely without hovering. If you're visiting Santa Barbara (or live here) treat yourself to something out of the ordinary and memorable.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank duncanworldtour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Monica, California
2 reviews
“One of the best meals ever”
Reviewed December 2, 2012

My boyfriend and I got a last minute late evening reservation yesterday, as we drove past it and it was near our hotel. We were impressed by the friendly serving staff, at the buzzy and cool vibe (it was quite a loud restaurant given the small space but not one of those painfully loud places where you have to shout at your date in order to be heard), and above all we were really impressed by the inventive and delicious food. We went for the tasting menu, and dishes we had included a yellow pepper soup (perfectly seasoned), a frisee salad that was out of this world, a home cured coppa, and followed up with quail and duck. A description of the creative and unusual flavors and ingredients that went into each of the dishes would not do it justice. I highly recommend this restaurant. We will certainly return on our next visit to Santa Barbara.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank slimtravel8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
long beach, ca
Level Contributor
36 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Yummy and unusual”
Reviewed November 15, 2012

A very comfortable atmosphere. at first glance we both thought we'd have a hard time finding something to eat but upon a closer look the menu came to life and the variety and selections were great.
we both ended up choosing 4 appetizers and the server was charming and helpful in pairing wines to our food.
I look forward to returning.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank tomwin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Julienne also viewed

 

Been to Julienne? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing