We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“What a great place!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“What a great place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2005

Big rooms, king size beds, jacuzzi tub, double showers extremely clean, working gas log fireplace with easy chairs, fresh roses in room, need I say more. If you turn on your bionic hearing, you might hear a train once in a while. Our room had a window unit air conditioner, but who needs air when it is 50 degrees at night. The inn looks just like the pictures on the website.

  • Stayed November 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank malford814
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,754 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,215
    403
    89
    32
    15
See reviews for
228
1,187
68
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (204)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Stafford, UK
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2005

My partner and I stayed at the Eagle Inn at the end of October as part of a tour of California. The Eagle Inn is a beautiful property in an ideal location - quiet but handy for State Street and the Wharf. Our room was very nice and the train whistles only bothered us on the odd occasion. But as another reviewer remarked, you'd be hardpushed to stay anywhere in Santa Barbara and not be able to hear the trains. The only negative comment I would make would be in relation to the staff. The service provided was fine but they weren't very friendly and approachable. We stayed in about 7 B&Bs/hotels during our tour of California and would say that the staff at the Eagle Inn were the least amenable that we came across. However, I would not allow this to put you off if you were considering staying the Eagle Inn, the good points outweigh the bad points by a mile!

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank billie01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2005

We just got back from the Eagle Inn and actually found out about it from this website. We stayed at the Inn for 2 nights and had the Deluxe King Room. Let me first begin by saying that this B&B blew away our expectations. The room was quite large and had a little concealed refrigerator and microwave as well as a small coffee pot. Our room had a fireplace, an oversized Jacuzzi Bath tub and a stand up shower with two massaging shower heads, as well as a balcony. The bed was comfortable and the room and bath looked as if it had been recently renovated. The water pressure was amazing -- especially for two shower heads and the water did not take long to get hot. The room was very clean and the staff was very friendly. The location was ideal, two blocks from the beach and maybe 4 blocks from State St. A continental breakfast is provided. Nothing special, but nice to have. Our only one negative was that the room we were in faced Bath St. which was a little noisy at times, but there are other rooms that do not face that street and I am sure are quieter. We have spent far more in other hotels and not had nearly the nice experience we did here. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2005

We travelled last week for a solid 14 hours from Ireland, stopping for a night in Santa Barbara en route to San Francisco. We stayed at the Eagle Inn, and had booked the room with jacuzzi. We also had a fire in our room, and we totally chilled out! There is a great Italian restaurant around the corner - Emilio's. And a breakfast place called Sambos if you want to eat out. (But if you want a totally sublime superior breakfast for a couple of dollars extra, walk another minute further to Eladio's - just the bestestest place in USA we have ever had breakfast! A lovely outdoor courtyard overlooking the beach, birds, fountain, really excellent food including proper napkins and tablecloths...we didn't want to leave - they also do dinner....!) The Eagle Inn was so good we booked it for our return night on the Friday - wow!! we got roses, and a goodie basket....We really enjoyed the jacuzzi and fire that night! And it's so clean, with really good quality bedlinen, and really comfortable mattress. Ok, no view (we had the carpark) but we went out for that....And yes, the train could be heard, but it lasts a minute maybe...We would definitely return there, and would highly recommend it. Also, great shopping in State Street - plan a few hours there...we ate at Holdren's that night- really good food, probably too much. One cranky waiter, one totally on the ball waitress and waiter, and a table of too loud people beside us - but the food and rest of atmosphere was excellent.

Helpful?
4 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2005

Stumbled upon this hotel during a one day jaunt to SB, excellent location 1 block from the beach and pier and about 10 minutes to the center of town. Huge rooms with a double headed shower, in room jacuzzi tub and nice balcony. Very pretty spanish style villa with direct acess to a shopping, bars and restraunts and depending on the day they have great farmers markets that set up down state street. We stayed on a Tuesday and it was $130 a night, probably one of the best deals in the area.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, CA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2005

Eagle Inn was great. I really wasn't expecting much but my friend booked it so I went along. The Hotel is SOOO cute and very close to State St. But in a cozy little neighborhood. Be prepared though....our room didn't have A/C...Not sure about the other rooms. Other than that no complaints, just a really nice hotel.

  • Stayed October 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marcelo C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
U.K.
Level Contributor
37 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2005

5 minutes walk from the beach/Stearns Wharf, 5 minutes from the shops, 5 minutes from Amtrak, yet in a quiet and attractive road, this has to be one of the best locations in SB. Yes, Amtrak will give you a whistle in the night, but where doesn't get that in Santa Barbara? Our King room with in-room jacuzzi and balcony was marvellous, and excellent value if you can go midweek. Breakfast is good, staff friendly and efficient although a bit formal.

  • Stayed September 2005
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Pindarus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.1 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 603 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 981 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#16 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Despegar.com so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing