We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in perfect location - has everything you need!”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Brisbane, Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Great hotel in perfect location - has everything you need!”
Reviewed June 17, 2009

My husband and I stayed here on our honeymoon, as part of our road trip through California and we were really impressed. The rooms are clean and quiet and it's an easy walk to the beaches. We had a car, but even without, the walk into the main part of town to restaurants and bars is really pleasant and takes about a half an hour, at the most. The hotel offers a free internet terminal and puts on a very nice continental breakfast each day. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebeccaHyam77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,837 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,276
    418
    92
    34
    17
See reviews for
242
1,246
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I stay in Santa Barbara often and have felt that hotels in this town routinely take advantage of visitors with advertisements of lovely lodging facilities that really don't exist that way you might be led to think. Not so the Eagle Inn. This is a wonderful find especially for the frequent visitor to Santa Barbara that needs a quiet, classy and comfortable place to stay either for business or as a convenient base for enjoying the area on holiday. The Eagle is not a resort type property with pools and hot tubs etc. It is however a lovely, and well appointed boutique hotel within walking distance (but not too close to the noise) of Santa Barbara harbor area and beaches. The location also offers easy downtown access. I found the value of this lovely hotel very good for the Santa Barbara area. My favorite for the money so far!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flyawaybirdie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, NY
Level Contributor
88 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2009

We stayed for a few days and it was an excellent choice. Very nice breakfast, great location where you can walk to everything (State Street, beaches, other areas in town) but secluded enough that it was quite private. We had a regular suite but a great shower, nice towels, and bedding. We had a problem with our car and the manager of the hotel was kind enough to use his AAA membership to get someone to come over and give us a jump. Great serice all around.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Copperdesk63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 31, 2009

Pre-booked one of the newer cottages (Santa barbara) and the space, coupled with the amentities in the appartment, made the stay a real treat and at a very reasonable price. It was laid out with a great deat of attention to detail and staff were very happy to supply what else we needed.
The one beware for anyone is the breakfast staff don't have a great command of English, so getting things from them in the morning was a challenge.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YorkshireGrateful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2009

I came into town for a friend's wedding over a long weekend. We only needed to stay one night, as we were being put up in a villa for the first couple of days. I booked a room at the Eagle Inn for my girlfriend and I. From the first moment, we were treated like royalty. Our room was upgraded without our asking. We had a room/suite with a jacuzzi, inside the living room. Needless to say we made the most of it, spending some time in it, between an afternoon on the beach, and a night out to dinner on State Street. We couldn't have asked for a better stay. Not only would I recommend the Eagle Inn to anyone that I know, but I will book a room there, next time I come into Santa Barbara....

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pgassee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, CA
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2009

The rooms are always beautiful and it's not even a 2 minute walk to the beach and a 5 minute walk to the wharf. It's great because you never need to drive. Everything is down the street, and the waterfront shuttle will take you back and forth to the shopping on State St. My husband and I stayed there for our wedding night and have been back every year since. It's a gem in Santa Barbara and since it's just off the main road, you have a little more privacy than some of the other places in the area. This year we stayed in a cottage and it was even better than we expected. It felt like our own little home away from home. This was the most relaxing trip yet. Even my husband was calling all of his friends to tell them how great our room was. We even canceled some of the activities we had planned just so we could stay in the room and relax.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank D2s2b4gn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed May 28, 2009

Hidden Gem! Classey, inn. The cottages are fabulous! Free breakfasat and cookies and tea in the afternoon.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dflugum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
329 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
922 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and Priceline so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing