We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Inn!”
Review of The Eagle Inn

The Eagle Inn
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Chicago
Level 6 Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Wonderful Inn!”
Reviewed July 2, 2008

My husband and I stayed at the Eagle Inn for three nights, June 1-4, 2008. We were in a king jacuzzi room that also had a fireplace and balcony, room 215. The room was exceptionally clean and very spacious. The jacuzzi filled up quickly with great water pressure and the water was always hot. There's nothing worse than a tub that takes an hour to fill with lukewarm water! The fireplace turned on with the flick of a switch; and the balcony overlooked some trees on the side street next to the property. We had no noise issues whatsoever.

A note for computer users, the Inn had free wireless Internet in the rooms, which was always very speed; they also have a computer for guest use in the breakfast room.

We felt the breakfasts were more than adequate with fresh fruit, yogurt, pastries, breads, cereals, milk, juice, and coffee. If something was running low, it was always replenished. It was a nice start to the day and definitely got us through until lunchtime.

The location of the Eagle Inn is Excellent. You can walk to the beach in a few minutes or to the main drag on State Street in about 10 minutes. They have plenty of free parking in their lot and you can park the car and hoof it just about everywhere you'd want to go.

The staff was friendly and helpful, and we especially enjoyed chatting with the night girl, whose name escapes me.

Overall, I would highly recommend the Eagle Inn and would absolutely stay there again in the future. Enjoy!

  • Liked — The cleanliness
  • Disliked — There's nothing not to like!
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank CV724
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,868 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,298
    426
    92
    35
    17
See reviews for
251
1,264
71
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (214)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Novato
2 reviews
Reviewed July 1, 2008

We stayed in the cottages and they had all kinds of great extras, perfect for honey mooners plus being very private. Beds were very comfortable, real linen sheets I think. The bathrooms were spotlless and new. The location is wonderfully convenient, 1 block from the train station and State Street, 2 blocks from the beach. Everyone was very nice

I wasn't impressed with continental breakfast but it was adequate and I would stay there again and recommend it to others.

  • Liked — charming Santa Barbara look, comfort, convenience
  • Disliked — construction next to and across the street from cottages
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judyc135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I had an amazing day, night and morning at this fine hotel. Nancy, at the reception desk, went the extra mile to make sure that I was happy and comfortable in my room. The rooms are incredibly comfortable and clean. Oh what a good nights sleep I got on the pillowtop bed. The owners pay special attention to every detail, from the tasteful decor, to the appropriately chosen music of Cesaria Evora playing in the breakfast room in the morning. From every corner of this hotel, one will see a perfectly composed vinete (sp?). I took a peek at the grounds behind the Inn where the cottages had been completed and they are perfect for a small family. My visit was solo, without the husband and my son. It was a pre-mother's day getaway gift and this was the best gift they'd ever given me. I enjoyed the room so much that I refused to leave, even for dinner. And lucky me, there was a service that delivered from all of the fine restaurants in town. I had a wonderful feast without even getting out of my bathrobe. I can't say enough about this place and I can't wait to return. What a hidden jewel.

  • Liked — The super clean rooms and the tasteful decor. Also, the room was nice and quiet.
  • Disliked — I loved everything.
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BeachRoach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
manchester
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2008

stayed here two nights in standard room, which was a bit floral for our tastes but perfectly adequate. bathroom was clean and functional. self service breakfast was fine, 2nd day choice of pastries a bit limited.
well located with off street parking.

Stayed May 2008
Helpful?
Thank outofofficemessage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
Reviewed June 4, 2008

We stayed at the Inn for the weekend of our daughter's wedding, actually the whole wedding party stayed there. All we can say was amazing, the rooms are beautiful, the staff is great. Our room was a 2 bed queen with a full kitchen and a nice view of the islands. The brides room was a king cottage, just perfect for a bride and her new hubby. I would and will stay again, My daughter and her new husband are already planning for a first anniversary visit. Thank you to Paul and his staff.

  • Liked — The beautly of the grounds and decor
  • Disliked — no elevator
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank MrsClarke2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level 6 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2008

Spent a wonderful weekend @ The Eagle Inn!
Arrived early (1:30) Friday afternoon. We realized we were early but the manager Paul was very nice & let us know they would have our room ready within an hour. He gave us a map of Santa Barbara & pointed out some good restaurants & how to get to all the points of interest.
We had originally reserved a standard 2 Queen bedroom. We were pleasantly suprised when we were upgraded to a 2 king bedroom with a Kitchen. It was upstairs at the front of the Inn so we had a good ocean breeze coming in the windows. This was a good thing as there was a uncommon heat spell that weekend & the temp got up to 90 degrees on Saturday. There was no AC in the room but with the breeze & the ceiling fan it was very comfortable.
The Inn itself is an old Spanish style house dating back to the 1920's. It has wonderful character & is a pleasant relief from the generic chain hotels. The beds are very comfortable & the bathrooms sufficient. There are flatscreen TV's & a good selection of cable channels as well as a DVD player. Some rooms have big Jacuzzi tubs.
There is an parking lot attached so you dont have to fight for parking on the street. We parked our car & it stayed there until we left. Everything is within walking distance, the beach is 2 blocks away, & the warf about 1/2 mile. You can catch the electric shuttle bus at the warf & it will take you up & down the main drag, State street.
The Inn serves a complimentary continental breakfast every morning at 7:30. It was perfect to start the day. A good selection of fresh fruit (Watermelon, Cantalope, Honeydew, Strawberries, Papaya, & Grapes) Bagles, Pastries, several kinds of cerial, & Yogurt. There was also Regular & Decaf Starbucks coffee as well as various kinds of hot tea & orange juice.
All in all it was a very good experience & I will definitely be staying here the next time I come to town

  • Liked — Comfortable, good location, great character, good price
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vegasgirl36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 4 Contributor
49 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed April 23, 2008

Found this hotel and booked it after reading all the reviews. As a family of five, I had found it very difficult to find affordable accomodation in Santa Barbara, without having to pay for two separate rooms. This hotel provided a double air bed (for a small charge).

We were allocated a large room, with kitchen,on the ground floor. The room was lovely and also had tv/dvd player. I thought the hotel was a little gem. The continental breakfast was great and I also noticed a computer in the breakfast room. The kids were disappointed not to find a pool however, out of all the hotels we stayed at this one was my personal favorite.

We were with in walkable distance to all the shops and close by to the sea. Would we stay there again - my husband and I would so it is a great place for couples however, with teenagers they expected a swimming pool.

  • Liked — decor of room
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank brady33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#15 of 52 in Santa Barbara
679 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
0.3 mi away
No photo provided
The Wayfarer
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
338 reviews
0.2 mi away
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
Brisas Del Mar, Inn At The Beach
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
746 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing