We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway”
Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #2 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Creedmore, NC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
Reviewed January 23, 2013

My husband and I spent a night at the Eagle Inn in the Santa Cruz cottage and it was amazing. It is set up like a small house, not a normal hotel room. Walking in the front door, and there is also a back door, you come into the living room, which bright and cheerful. There are two seating areas, tv, desk for your computer, free wi-fi, etc. One door goes into a kitchenette, with a small refrigerator, coffee maker, etc. We were provided with a free snack basket with bottled water, fruit and chips.
The next door went into a hallway off to a luxurious bathroom and another door to a huge bedroom which included a spa-tub surrounded by rose petals! Wow.
The next morning we had a lovely breakfast, that is also included in the price of the room. we hated to leave. If you want a nice romantic place, right off the beach, this is the place to go. The staff were all cheerful and accommodating. We will definitely be back. Thanks Eagle Inn!

Room Tip: The cottages are wonderful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lvop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,838 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,277
    418
    92
    34
    17
See reviews for
243
1,246
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Juan Capistrano, California
1 review
Reviewed January 23, 2013

Stayed at the Eagle Inn for the first time an few weekends ago. The weather was freezing and this little hotel was so cozy and inviting. We had a wondful fireplace and balcony, but the bathroom was a bit small for two people. Beds could be more comfortable with less decorative elements and more usable pillows and blankets. The breakfast served freshly cooked each day was a nice touch. The location is perfect. Not far from busy State Street and 2 blocks from the ocean and Marina! Our friends stayed in one of the casitas and would highly recommend that, as well.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beachbuffs12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Folsom, California
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

I've stayed at the Eagle Inn last year and just visited them on a 2 day business trip to Santa Barbara. Paul and his staff do an amazing job of making you feel welcome. On this last visit I had a room with a fireplace and a very large veranda with a umbrella table and chairs and 2 lounge chairs. The room also had a microwave, fridge and coffee maker.The sheets on the beds are first rate and silky smooth. And the breakfast OMG, delicious. You usually have 2 choices and it always comes with a large bowl of fresh fruit. Don't forget to check out a bicycle and take a ride on the beach! This is home away from home except you don't have to make your breakfast or make your bed! Love it!

Room Tip: There are no elevators, but the staff will be happy to carry your bags up and down the stairs, just...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheHuntress52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 22, 2013

This B&B is in a prime location: a short walk from the Amtrak station and a short walk to the beach. From the fresh-baked cookies at the front desk, to the luxurious jacuzzi tub, mine and my boyfriend's stay at the Eagle Inn was fabulous. Comfortable beds, friendly service, and a great breakfast. We didn't want to leave!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Deb K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2013

Staying at Eagle inn on a romantic getaway is a good decision. Aside from the fact that the hotel alone offers lots of amenities for couples, there are lots of activities around The Eagle Inn that couples will enjoy.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Natalie G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Eagle Inn with my Fiancee this past weekend. The staff here were very helpful and accommodating to my special requests. I would recommend this place if you are in need of a special getaway weekend with someone special and are considering staying somewhere in Santa Barbara. I hope to stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Nicholas casita and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
2 reviews
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Eagle Inn frequently on business between 2005 and 2008 and most recently stayed there with my family during a weekend in January 2010. I liked the Eagle Inn before and Paul and his staff have made some noticeable improvements that make this B&B even better including fresh baked homemade chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon, warm cooked breakfast in the mornings and free use of bicycles. We had lox, cream cheese and bagels and biscuits, gravy & eggs on successive mornings which were absolutely delicious. My wife and I also took 2 of the 12 bikes they have for a stroll along the beach which was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Ask about the cottages they have. They are very nice, private and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 52 in Santa Barbara
736 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
670 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#22 of 52 in Santa Barbara
331 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,019 reviews
0.1 mi away
Best Western Beachside Inn
Best Western Beachside Inn
#26 of 52 in Santa Barbara
924 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing