We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent hotel and very flexible”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Eagle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Eagle Inn
Ranked #3 of 18 Santa Barbara B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Somis, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent hotel and very flexible”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013

I stayed at the Eagle Inn with my Fiancee this past weekend. The staff here were very helpful and accommodating to my special requests. I would recommend this place if you are in need of a special getaway weekend with someone special and are considering staying somewhere in Santa Barbara. I hope to stay here again in the near future.

Room Tip: We stayed in the San Nicholas casita and it was fantastic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lorenzo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,788 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,241
    409
    89
    34
    15
See reviews for
233
1,208
70
73
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (206)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Danville, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2013

I stayed at the Eagle Inn frequently on business between 2005 and 2008 and most recently stayed there with my family during a weekend in January 2010. I liked the Eagle Inn before and Paul and his staff have made some noticeable improvements that make this B&B even better including fresh baked homemade chocolate chip cookies in the afternoon, warm cooked breakfast in the mornings and free use of bicycles. We had lox, cream cheese and bagels and biscuits, gravy & eggs on successive mornings which were absolutely delicious. My wife and I also took 2 of the 12 bikes they have for a stroll along the beach which was a lot of fun.

Room Tip: Ask about the cottages they have. They are very nice, private and good value.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Larry J J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I stayed in one of the cottages (San Nicolas) for one night to celebrate our anniversary. I didn't give him any advance details about where we were staying, so when we walked into the room his mouth fell open with, "Wow." There were rose petals in the shape of a heart on the bed with a personalized card written by the staff and rose petals around and in the jacuzzi tub in the room. Also a complimentary bottle of bubbly. The cottage was very private and beautifully decorated. We didn't leave the room from the time we got there until check out! Breakfast was brought to us the next morning and it was delicious; spinach frittata, bagel, english muffin,fresh fruit and juice. Delicious, filling and beautifully presented!!! Only problem was our stay was it was only one night. We'll fix that next time; can't wait to return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank matildajane1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

I couldn't have nicer things to say about my stay and the staff at The Eagle Inn. We had a wonderful experience. We had to check in late and they sent us all the info we needed to check in without any problems at a later time. The breakfast and server were wonderful. The front desk was knowledgeable about anything we wanted to find in the area. Top notch!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesse W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

My daughter and I stayed at the Eagle Inn during the Thanksgiving break. We stayed in one of the separate building rooms and it was very quaint and comfortable with plenty of room for my daughter and I as well as for family that hung out with us for parts of the day. The breakfasts were amazing - very good and tasty. Make sure and ask about their special bread buttering service. And the location can't be beat. Two short blocks to the harbor and its beach, and a nice run / bike ride to East Beach and other points Santa Barbara. Definitely a recommended place to stay!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sixtythreeplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morganville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 29, 2012

Our Oct. 2012 stay was wonderful. The Place is terrific from the accomodations - we took a suite in a separate 'cottage' from the main house - Very Clean, well appointed - very, very nice & comfortable 'room'.
Staff was Great from the Front Desk through & including the Kitchen folks.
Breakfast was very, very good as well.
Helpful w/how to get around down-town Santa Barbara and great dinner restaurant suggestions/recommendations.
Enjoyed their recommendation for Bouchon's - you might need to bring money :) - but very good.
Definetely would stay @ the eagle Inn in a Heartbeat if were are back in SB again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm Springs, California
Level Contributor
42 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

An immaculately clean, superbly furnished hostelry.

Our room was like something out of magazine ... extremely comfortable bed, an in-room jacuzzi.
We went there to spend our anniversary and I'll never forget it, nor will I hesitate to recommend it to any loving couple.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bob_and_Elly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
surferpaul, General Manager at The Eagle Inn, responded to this review, November 28, 2012
Great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Anniversaries are certainly something that deserve an extra special getaway. Thanks for spreading the word. We appreciate it!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.0 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
0.2 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.0 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#10 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Wayfarer
The Wayfarer
#15 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 307 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Eagle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Eagle Inn

Property: The Eagle Inn
Address: 232 Natoma Ave, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3522
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 18 B&Bs / Inns in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Eagle Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 31
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Eagle Inn is a romantic quiet boutique hotel located just 2 blocks from the beach. We are a ten minute walk to downtown and The Funk Zone and all of the activities and attractions Santa Barbara has to offer. We have bikes, free, for you to use, and offer free parking and serve a complimentary, tasty cooked breakfast. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Eagle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Eagle Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing