We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful charming garden cottage hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Beverly Hills, California
1 review
“A wonderful charming garden cottage hotel”
Reviewed February 23, 2011

We loved the charming garden cottages. The staff is warm and gracious. There is a complimentary continental breakfast served in the morning. Wonderful location is walkable to State Street shopping and many restaurant choices. Very cozy and relaxing with a charming atmosphere. The staff is very courteous and made us feel like family. We will come back
Loved it!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lve2trvl2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

640 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    192
    69
    26
    11
See reviews for
72
346
20
81
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 22, 2011

I realize Santa Barbara is expensive but for what I paid for a king size suite, I expected something a lot better. The room opened up to the patio dining area. As a result, there was always noise outside the door.The room heater kept me up all night and their was no view outside any window. We attempted to check in 2 hours after check in time only to have to wait in the lobbey for a new TV to be installed. Later that nighwe realized t the TV didn't work due to the installer never connecting the cable TV line. When I informed the front desk at checkout they just said thanks for fixing the TV. I've stayed at nicer places for a lot less that are just as historic. I've crossed this place off my list.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SanD_Guy_902
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We are disappointed to hear that our guest did not enjoy their visit to the Upham. Unfortunately this past weekend, an electrical power transformer went out in our area. When the power was restored the subsequent surge destroyed many of the televisions and other electronics on our property. We are sorry our guest was inconvenienced by the installation of the new television. We were not aware of our guest's extreme dissatisfaction; had we known we could have found an accommodation more to their liking.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
Reviewed February 21, 2011

This hotel was a breath of fresh air, it was like going back in time but with all the conveniences that the modern human needs. The staff was more than helpful and courteous and the facilities were top self. I would highly recommend to any mature couples for a romantic getaway. Even recommend this for immature couples as long as you get all your craziness out on state street and then come back to reality to recover and relax at the Upham.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank balistek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2011

We stayed at the Upham Hotel in January of 2011. Our stay like another reviewer coincided with the film festival. My initial impression was that the facility, other than the grounds, was tired. It most definitely had more of a B&B feel than that of a hotel. Our room was small and again tired looking. The mattress was so soft my husband and I found it difficult to sleep. However, the room and bathroom were both very clean. As the other reviewer mentioned, the walls were quite thin and we could easily hear our fellow lodgers. (Perhaps this is the reason that no ipod dock was provided.) Fortunately, they were quiet at night.
Because it was the film festival weekend, the hotel was quite full and at the continental breakfast some choices had run out. Also, the breakfast area is not large (and in January it was too cool to breakfast outside) so some guests had difficulty finding a table and even cleaned up after earlier guests to secure a table. The breakfast choices were adequate, but nothing special.
The garden area is a delight. I spent a lovely few hours reading and basking in the delightful winter afternoon sun. This was without a doubt the highlight of the hotel.
The hotel is situated just off State Street and a perfect location for dining and shopping.
I would recommend the Upham based on the garden and location, but sincerely hope they purchase new mattresses.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 5W-slopetravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, February 25, 2011
We are very sorry to learn of our guest's disappointment with their stay at the Upham. Due to the age of our hotel (we are the oldest continuously operating hotel in Southern California), renovations are on-going with new beds and soft goods being routinely replaced. We also offer a variety of accommodations at varying price points with our bungalow rooms being the most cozy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed February 17, 2011

It's not like a normal hotel; each room feels like a cottage. The grounds are beautiful and surprisingly secluded for being blocks away from downtown. We loved the old world charm and homey feel of the place, as well as their attentive and accommodating service. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed February 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JoeG009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level 6 Contributor
116 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My husband and I were in town as he had business at the UCSB. We enjoyed our stay but there are some cautions with the hotel. I would agree with prior reviews it feels more like a B&B and has a slightly rambling quirky feeling due to small outlying buildings scattered on property.

Pros - great location right in town, spotlessly clean and well kept; gardens make the place a pleasure; great restaurant, worth eating there one night; continental breakfast was fine. several pillow options to make you happy, robes in the rooms, nice bath toiletries.

Cons - we booked a Bungalow room and they are indeed VERY small. Our stay coincided with the film festival and hotel was offering special prices, which made it seem reasonable for the area. Not sure I would have considered it a good value at all at full price. Bungalow walls were very thin and we heard our neighbor's conversations thru the wall (I'm sure they heard ours too). We really liked being right on the garden with a private tiny deck of our own (unfortunatly it was too cool to really enjoy in January but in warmer months would have taken our breakfast there to eat); we would not have been happy having to navigate thru all the cars parked on the property to reach our room in another less central location. Make sure to ask for a room immediately off the garden to avoid this.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aavery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, February 23, 2011
We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Upham Hotel but are very sorry that you found your guest room a disappointment. The Upham Hotel has a variety of accommodations at varying price points with our bungalow rooms being the most cozy. Hopefully, we will have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Level 6 Contributor
182 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2011

This hotel is nicely renovated in nice neighborhood within walking distance of central Santa Barbara. Most of the rooms are bungalow style with small enclosed patios. The daily rate is $198 (ex tax) p.n. includes breakfast which I thought was still a bit pricey for Santa Barbara in off season.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HKFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing