We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a disappointment”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
temecula
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“a disappointment”
Reviewed August 17, 2007

The Upham was a disappointment. The staff was very unfriendly and not helpful at all. When we asked for an extra comforter (for our friend who was sleeping on the fold out couch) they told us they didn't have any. At check out, we mentioned to the manager that it might be nice to provide a comforter for the couch bed. She chastised us for not requesting one and informed us that of course they have extras. Even when we explained that we had asked the night manager for one she made it seem that it was our fault for not asking different people each day. There were other interactions that I won't list but I'd have to say that there service was the worst I've ever experienced. I've stayed at many B&Bs and Inns. The thing that makes them special is the personal touch, freindliness and pampering. I've had much better service in chain hotels that are half the cost. With Santa Barbara offering so many choices for B&Bs and Inns, I'd reccommend staying somewhere else. There were some good things about the Upham so here it is: The grounds of the Upham were beautiful and we enjoyed eating the filling breakfast outside. The location was nice - close to state street. We walked up and down State St. each night and even walked to the pier (which was a bit of a walk but we liked getting some exercise). The evening wine was nice but they should improve their "cookie" time. They put out stale Oreos and lukewarm milk. If they don't want to bake the cookies (like most inns do), at least provide a better quality of store-bought cookies. The parking lot is a bit of a challenge. If you have a large car - good luck. I had a camry and could barely squeeze in.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank Leean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    193
    69
    26
    11
See reviews for
72
346
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Lichfield
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed July 18, 2007

This is a hotel with style. Check in staff were pleasant and very helpful, and made telephone calls for us with no charge. The gardens are delightful, and the public rooms and facilities are of a high standard. Our cottage was very small, and the furniture was a bit tired. The bathroom was clean but needed a refit. From the garden, our entrance took us into a small enclosed patio, which was rather like sitting in a shed - what a pity there was no view of the garden. (I'm sure this couid have been achieved with some trellis rather than a solid fence).
The hotel restaurant was very good, as was the buffet breakfast.
In spite of the criticisms, we would recommend this hotel, and next time would ask for an updated room with garden view.

  • Liked — The gardens and public rooms
  • Disliked — the bathroom
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredteacherstwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, NV
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2007

A very nice B&B in a very nice setting with wonderfully balmy Pacific Coast Mediterranean climate and charm. The location is within easy walking distance to a substantial choice of restaurants. The bed has a great pillow top mattress with down pillows and a real down comforter just lite enough to keep one toasty during the gloriously cool evening. Landscaping is well groomed and the staff are friendly. Wine and cheese are served from the liberal afternoon hours of 4-7:30. So whats the beef? Room 61 is on the corner of the Garden building just above the outdoor seating for breakfast that starts at 7:00. If you want to sleep in, request a room further back in the building toward the parking area. Close the windows? No way. No A/C. As I said, if there is a wrinkle I'll be given it. Same with supermarket lines. My cross to bear. Otherwise a very pleasant experience.

  • Liked — Quaint
  • Disliked — Room 61
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BugsyMalone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2007

Very pleasant, if a bit pricey. I stayed in one of the nearby cottages the hotel maintains, though it's all part of one operation and guests at the cottage can use the facilities in the main house. The room was clean and well maintained, if a little small, and looked out onto a pleasant little garden that smelled of jasmine. The staff was very nice and the sitting areas are more like a big family home than a hotel. If I had a complaint, it would be the location - it is a few blocks off State Street, but way up past the top end of the fun little downtown area, around the 1300 block of State Street. As a result, getting around the area on foot, particularly down to the waterfront, is tiring and time consuming. It is easily a 40 minute walk down to the pier. If you don't mind driving or taking the city's electric shuttle to get to many of the city's attractions, however, this is a nice little choice.

  • Liked — Charm
  • Disliked — Location
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Seanibus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 26, 2007

It was a little over a year ago that my boyfriend and I stayed here for a romantic weekend (We both live in SB now but he didn't before) and my memories of our stay are very fond. They have great cottages that are perfect for anyone who likes to feel that they have there "own little place" for the weekend. The bed was truly comfortable and the restaurant (Louie's) is excellent. I have to say it was an GREAT value compared with a lot of other Santa Barbara Establishments. Basically it's more cozy than a hotel, but with classic decor thats not as busy as your typical B&B Ask for the AAA discount, I remember that making quite a good deal.

  • Liked — the yummy bed
  • Disliked — I honestly can't say
  • Stayed October 2005, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lovetheworldgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2007

My wife and I stayed at the Upham for 3 nights last week. We got a buy-two-nights-get-one-free deal through the hotel (Sun-Thurs only). We originally booked the cheapest type of room ($195 a night). The room was pleasant but very small, and so we decided to splurge and upgrade to a "junior suite" for $265. It was worth the extra money (especially given the free night) since the room was much more spacious, with a separate sitting room with a closable door (helpful when one of us was more jet-lagged than the other and needed to read). Both rooms had a very nice, private, outdoor deck, perfect for breakfast or afternoon wine. The bathroom was fine, nothing special or atrocious. The TV was fairly old and made an annoying high-pitched ringing noise -- they could stand to update the TVs.

We found the staff to be friendly, not always super-knowledgable but tried to help as much as they could when we had questions about local attractions, etc. As a previous reviewer said, breakfasts were fine but not great -- some pastries that tasted homemade but a little stale, cold cereal, fruit, cheese, etc. In the afternoons they have wine and cheese but both were unexciting. We didn't try the restaurant.

The hotel is a short walk from the north end of the commercial corridor on State Street, but quite a long walk (30 minutes or so) from the marina.

All in all, we enjoyed our stay and found it to be worth the money we paid, but if we had to pay full price I might try somewhere else before going back.

Stayed March 2007
Helpful?
5 Thank larrys610
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2006

I originally booked a stay at the Upham and was dissatisfied after only one night. They offered to switch me to the Tiffany and I quickly agreed. I'm a seasoned B&B traveler and I definitely think this is a cozy, above average inn. However, as the others commented before me, breakfast was lacking as compared to other B&Bs. I was fortunate enough to stay there when Roxanne, one of several rotating innkeepers was there. She was warm and helpful.

I came on a weekday and they were willing to give me a break on the room. I wouldn't have stayed here otherwise. I stayed in the Victoria Room which was nice but there is some noise from the auto shop next door. I toured the honeymoon suite in the attic and it's fabulous but super pricey ($550/night). If you can get a deal, this is the room to have!

  • Liked — Location.
  • Disliked — Mediocre breakfast.
  • Tips/Secrets — Haggle for decent room price.
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kellismom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,034 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,235 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
124 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
748 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing