We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #19 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
127 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
“One of the best places to stay in Santa Barbara”
Reviewed April 17, 2010

My husband and I have been staying at this historic hotel, which is composed of several houses of varying sizes, several times a year for the past eight years. It is very warm and charming. Lovely fireplace in the lobby, and some rooms also have working fireplaces. Rose gardens, adirondack chairs, and a gazebo are in the garden. Breakfast buffet is lovely; wine and cheese are served in the evening; oreos and milk before bed. The rooms range widely in price and quality so be sure to discuss what you are looking for with the reservation agent. Don't miss the restaurant as it is one of the best in town. Great spot for a wedding.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hanalei2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    333
    184
    68
    26
    11
See reviews for
69
334
20
79
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Calif
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2010

Stayed at Tiffany Country in one night, B & B in lovely multistory house in a beautiful residential setting.. Lovely grounds, very nice afternoon wine/cheese/crackers/lemonade. Stayed in one of smaller rooms, nicely appointed but quite small but with a great bathroom/shower and small outside deck. There is a larger, lattice-covered deck overlooking the back yard--very nice place to sit/read/enjoy glass of wine. Also nice front porch to sit and watch the world go by.

Encountered skunk in B & B backyard --a few feet away--while walking at dusk to parking area next to room. It ran to the side of the B & B, presumably where it lived, and I ran to my car. Mentioned this not so great experience at checkout and desk person appeared strangely unconcerned. Hot breakast as promised did not materialize due to "Innkeeper misunderstanding" though standard muffin/scone/granola experience was available.

One the whole, a nice place to stay/relax, verify that you are or are not going to have promised hot breakast in building rather than up the street at Upham hotel, and be careful to make sure that the small mammal you reach out to pet in the back yard is not a skunk.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JardineCalif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2010

I spent a good deal of time in Santa Barbara in 2007 before I went to Afghanistan and was fortunate enough to stay at the Upham for much of it. Not all of the hotels in Santa Barbara honor the GSA per diem rate, but the Upham did and was gracious about it. When I went on leave from Afghanistan the following year, I made sure to stop by and spend a night and they took very good care of me. I'd happily recommend it for anyone visiting Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Misterhawk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambria, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 31, 2010

The Upham was recommended to me by a long time friend who own's Louies Bistro, which is connected to the hotel. Upon arrival, I was overwhelmed by the amazing Victorian architecture and gardens. As I entered the hotel, I really felt relaxed and cozy. The interior design was so beautiful and the from desk staff was very nice and comforting. When I finally arrived at my room, it was the nicest and cleanest room I had ever seen. The ammenities were endless. As morning arrived, I was welcome with a excellent continental breakfast...all in all, the best experience I have ever had with staying at a hotel...

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank slocalocal1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ajijic, Mexico
Level Contributor
193 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2010

This is a very nice inn set in a residential area with retail and restaurants within easy walking distance. In addition, there is a very good restaurant on site. The rooms are spacious and charming; many have their own little patio. The grounds are small but lovely. The hotel provides a breakfast that includes the usual pastry, bagels, fruit, oatmeal and cold cereal. Late afternoon they provide white wine, crackers, and cheese. In the evening, they provide cookies.The staff go out of their way to make everyone happy. We had a business meeting there; the accomodations were excellent.

Great beds, very nice bathrooms, good shower pressure.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Susan C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Level Contributor
24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2010

This was a wonderful setup considering it's location in the city. We selected this due to the proximity to restaurants and business.
Each of us had a small room that we found to be very clean, with comfortable beds.
There was nothing in the room (no hot pot/coffee mug) so we had to walk outside onto the grounds for breakfast; we were happily happy that it was not raining. The breakfast was continental-style.

We found the staff polite, extremely helpful and friendly. The evening snacks were OK. The new onsite restaurant is excellent!!!

The green area outside had a more public area and a smaller private area - very pleasant.

If someone was to pay $300 a night I would wonder what other options there were in the area. If you can get a fair price, then this can be a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smilingcarolyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2010

What a treasure this hotel. Just off the bustling centre of Santa Barbara is is a quiet departure from the 'run of the mill' hotels. Personal service that is rare to find in a tranquil setting. We could not fault the help provided for our onward journey, the reception personnel were five star. I would recommend one of the bungalows facing the lawns.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 040711j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,005 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,267 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 536 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 714 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 99 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing