We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 7, 2006

Very nice hotel with a country/victorian decor. We were given a spacious room in the main building, with sofa and a writing desk. Parking and breakfast are included, but the latter is so-so.
The location is very convenient: very quiet but just a brief walk away from the center of Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sweetjuly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (671)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

612 - 618 of 671 reviews

Reviewed September 5, 2006

We checked into the Penthouse and realized two things immediately... this was absolutely the only room in the place I wpuld have been happy with for over $200.00 per night and since it's the only room that is airconditioned... its the only " sure thing" in the summer. The other rooms looked clean but shabby and they were not even pretty or handsome... the carpets and furniture looked tired in the other rooms... saw them all.

The Penthouse Suite was beautiful... comfy couch, nice outdoor patio, Jacuzzi tub... spacious and just perfect.

Except for the hair in the tub. I cannot get past the hair in the tub. They quickly respnded to my complaint... but it sure grossed me out and I never felt comfortable after that.

The breakfast, as another poster mentionedd, was so-so. The serving of oatmeal, although tasty was plain and served with no milk. The scrambled eggs were fine, but served alone on a plate.. no fruit, no meat... just eggs.. not even a garnish! The pastries were great , as was the fresh oj and good coffee.

I would only go back if this one room ws offered at $250.00 or under. Unfortunately I paid a slight bit more than that.

I still can't get past the hairs in the tub.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank beachtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2006

After a day of wine tasting, we checked into the Upham and loved every minute of it.

The lobby always has a treat at any given time. In the morning its pastries, coffee or juice. In the afternoon its a glass of lemonade or maybe some white wine. In the evening Oreos and milk. It was great seeing kids coloring in the lobby with a plate of Oreos and milk right beside them. Its the little things that make the Upham so charming.

Our room was perfect. For less than $200 we got a comfy room (not huge but rather cozy). To compensate for a smaller room, the bathroom was much larger than expected and I'd rather have a larger bathroom so it doesn't feel like I'm showering in a closet.

Dinner at Louie's (the hotel restaurant) was a nice experience as well. Moderately priced if you don't order wine with your dinner. After a day of drinking wine, I settled on an ice tea for dinner.

All in all, the hotel was great. I'd love to have our same room when we go back to SB.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
5  Thank ShakeItFast
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 8, 2006

My husband and I stayed at the Upham several times. We love this hotel. It has the quaint feel of a Bed and Breakfast, yet is so much larger than a typical B&B that it also feels like a boutique hotel. The rooms are decorated very elegantly, so it does not have the homemade feel of a B&B with doilies and old bedspreads, etc. The grounds are very nice with a grassy area and chairs in the middle of the hotel. The breakfast is very nice and full, as is the wine/cheese hour and evening milk/cookies. The fireplace sitting area is very relaxing for reading the paper or a favorite novel. I am planning another trip to SB and am sad we won't be staying at the Upham since we now have a toddler and need a larger room. I would recommend this hotel in a heartbeat to anyone (without children).

  • Stayed: July 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank sstlouis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 1, 2006

One of the things you look for in a bed and breakfast is a decent breakfast. You won't get that here. The woman who check us in couldn't wait to leave for the day; in fact she said "what took you so long? I've been waiting for you" in not a nice way. She practically threw us into our room and bolted. Breakfast was a choice of bad pastries or oatmeal and no fresh fruit besides a bowl of apples that looked old. Our room was miniscule and the shower needs updating; you could barey turn around in it. No hooks for towels. Never again.

2  Thank wethuiop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
san diego
16
Reviewed July 9, 2006

I arrived in town quite late on June 29th and checked into the Upham around 11 pm. When I arrived in the room it was approximately ninety degrees inside. Considering a shower and cool off I discovered that I did not have any towels in the bathroom. After calling the front desk three times, I had to dress and leave my room to request towels personally. Your office staff did accommodate my request. The following morning at approximately 7:30 am I awoke to the sound of a weed whacker trimming the hedge immediately outside the door of my room. After thirty minutes of trying to sleep through the noise I gave up and went to breakfast. The weed whacking continued through the rest of the morning until I checked out.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2006

As a freelance writer and photographer, I'm always amazed when a place exceeds our expectations. Such is the case with the Upham. I'd stayed here about 25 years ago, and was pleasantly surprised at the updated decor and modern amenities. Our cottage was absolutely charming, giving us an expansive view of the grounds, birds and pristine landscaping. Sprinkled about were other patrons of the Upham, either reading, enjoying the wild life, or simply sipping a glass of wine.

Their Louie's Restaurant was also a pleasant surprise, and according to our engaging waiter, "Many customers come simply for the halibut, " which met our expectations. Sit outside on the verandah, and you can revel in the weather for which Santa Barbara is famous.

Built in 1871, history surrounds the Upham. You owe it to yourself to indulge yourself in this charming retreat.

Mary McGrath
Culver City Observer/Del Rey News

  • Stayed: July 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank grathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,286 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
521 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
581 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
899 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $268 - $437 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing