We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very NIce Stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reston, Virginia
Level Contributor
200 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Very NIce Stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2014

My family of four stayed in the 2 bedroom suite earlier this month and it was quite nice! Bedrooms were separated by a sitting area (couch, 2 chairs and a desk) and also an additional half bath. Rooms were comfortable, clean and well-furnished. Hotel grounds were beautiful, and the wine/cheese, oreos/milk and morning breakfast were all a nice touch. My only complaint was the rooms tended to get a little stuffy especially after 4 showers. We had the fans running and the windows open but it was a bit hot. However, it did cool off nicely in the evening. I definitely recommend the Upham and would return.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VABlue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    179
    65
    26
    11
See reviews for
68
326
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
105 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2014

An unexpected stay, thanks to a recommendation.
What a lovely gem of an Inn.
Too bad we could only stay for one night.
Welcoming, relaxed and inviting common spaces, both inside and out
Our small, light-filled room aided by high ceiling and large mirror.
Dinner in-house was delicious.
Staff was friendly and eager.
Kudos on both the complimentary wines & snacks in the late afternoon and lovely breakfast spread the next morning, included in the rate.

We'll be back!

Room Tip: Every room is likely to be unique. Make sure there is A.C in the room you book if you are visiting d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ritajeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2014

We were excited to stay at The Upham for a wedding in Santa Barbara. The reviews were mostly great so we booked it. Upon arrival, the exterior and grounds were so charming and pretty that we were shocked when we walked into the room.
The stench of mold/damp/wetness hit us hard. It was overwhelming.
Since we were in the main house, it was easy to walk downstairs and ask to change rooms.
The man at reception said he could send someone up with an air freshener and 'spray alot to help the smell'.
He also said 'this is a building from 1871 so we should expect these things'.
Are you kidding me?! The inn was full so no other rooms were available and we were stuck.
The room was tiny (the Santa Barbara Queen room), the furniture and bed were shabby. The sheets were so old they had pilling (when tiny balls pop up on the surface) in several spots. The noise from the hall was loud.
The photos of the rooms on The Upham website are VERY misleading. Add dirt and dinge and you've got the reality.
We chatted with the other wedding guests who were staying at The Upham and none of them had positive things to say. One of the couples actually had a similar smell accompanied by a 4 foot wet spot in the carpet.
If this hotel charged $149/night then I'd expect these things, but at $300 a night, it's seriously overpriced.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MFleury8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, August 20, 2014
We are shocked that our guests found dissatisfaction with the condition of their room. We have received many positive comments from our guests regarding the cleanliness of our rooms. We are very sorry that we were unable to move them to a room that they would have found more acceptable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Piedmont, California
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2014

The Upham is a lovely, clean and convenient hotel in the middle of downtown Santa Barbara. The staff was friendly, the complimentary breakfast and wine and hors d'oeuvres were each delicious, tasteful, and the rooms fresh and comfortable. We could easily exercise, shop and sightsee from this location without needing a car or taxi. We can't wait to come back!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kate F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2014

Only stayed for one night which was a shame as I loved Santa Barbara and loved this hotel. When I arrived the staff were very friendly, the room was lovely and clean and was surrounded by lovely gardens and flowers. The breakfast was very nice it was a shame I missed the complimentary wine and biscuits in the afternoon and cookies and milk at night but one day will return to Santa Barbara and will be booking here.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

The Upham Hotel & Country House is a beautiful and peaceful distraction from 21st Century chaos. Hidden away on the corner of a quiet Santa Barbara residential street, this beautiful historic home built in the late 1800's by a cousin of Abraham Lincoln, offers clean nicely decorated quest rooms in the main house and in surrounding cottage type buildings facing a relaxing garden court yard. Once you set your luggage down and fall onto the fluffy white down comforter you will truly feel the stresses of your life float out the window. Offerings of wine and cheese in the afternoon, cookies in the evening and a delightful continental breakfast in the morning consisting of coffee, juices, fruit, scones, muffins, yogurt, hard boiled eggs, oatmeal, and a variety of cereals, will remind you that this is how you really wish you would eat...more simply. Bring down that novel you are reading or grab a newspaper and enjoy your coffee or tea in an early 1900's peaceful garden setting! There is an excellent restaurant off the main house named Louie's which provides good food and late night desserts, but they are not affiliated with the Upham, just it's friendly neighbor. The hotel also offers business services, laundry service, free internet and FREE easy motel-like parking behind the property. And as the mother of three, how do I nicely state that although of course welcome by the hotel, I was pleased to notice there were not many families with children in attendance. Ahh!..such peace & quiet. The small friendly staff from the front desk to the house keepers are most welcoming and helpful. The Upham Hotel & Country House eliminates the big hotel chain hassles. It is simply a comfortable, peaceful and easy escape from everyday life. Be sure to tour the main house and it's other 1800's Bed & Breakfast across the street. Enter through it 's nearly 150 year old grand doors, walk up the stairs, sit in a comfortable chair by the old fire place, look out the windows and imagine all the comings and goings of this California version of a smaller Downton Abbey-time like home.

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms in the smaller buildings are very quiet and nice. Only two up and two down, Ask to be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DSBeck2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

My son, daughter and I are just back from two nights at the Upham Hotel and couldn't be happier. My son will be attending UCSB in the fall, and I'm thrilled to have a quiet and quaint place to call my home away from home.

The Upham has free parking available and is ust a block and a half from the State Street, nearly everything you need is within walking distance. My daughter and I walked to the Mission as well as all over downtown.

Breakfast is noted as a continental breakfast, but generously included steel cut oatmeal with toppings, hard boiled eggs, bagels, muffins, bread, pastries, cereal and milk, fruit, an assortment of juices, and coffee and tea. A dining choice outside on the patio is also a bonus. Evenings include complimentary wine and cheese and later cookies and milk.

The grounds are lovely with lush greens, flowers and trees, and a grassy area filled with chairs is the perfect place to enjoy that glass of wine and check your email with the complimentary internet.

We truly enjoyed our stay (reviewed it in more detail on our blog: http://livlifetoo.yummly.com/2014/08/santa-barbara-getaway-upham-hotel-and.html)
and will definitely book again when we return. Thanks for a wonderful stay!

Note... while parking in front of the hotel may be easier, it is only a 90 minute zone during the day and will result in a $48 parking ticket. I found that out the hard way... :(

Room Tip: Some rooms are reached by stairs, make sure to ask when booking if you do not wish to have stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DrmnOfMaui
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 979 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,242 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 516 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,190 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#33 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing