We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great hotel and a great location”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #17 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Lancaster, California
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great hotel and a great location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

Downtown Santa Barbara and State Street is a wonderful weekend get-away. The restaurants, shops and brewery pubs make for a fantastic weekend. And my favorite place to stay is the Upham. Close to everything t hat State Street has to offer, but just far enough out of the fray to justify walking a few extra blocks. This place is over a hundred years old yet the rooms are beautifully restored and updated. Make Santa Barbara- and the Upham- your next weekend get-away!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DiverRichard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    184
    68
    26
    11
See reviews for
69
332
20
77
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Santa Rosa, California
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2013

Classic inn. Lovely appetizers and wine in the evening. Rooms with awesome beds. The main, original building has the most charm. Sweet footed bath tubs. Quiet. So quiet that the times we have stayed with children, it is a little tense, worrying they are too loud or energetic.

Room Tip: Main original building has an older historic charm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank J-mom-of-three
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
82 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 17, 2013

We've stayed in many hotels and motels in Santa Barbara–usually by the beach, but sometimes on upper State Street, but never again.

We stayed in the historic (1871) Upham Hotel right in the heart of the Theater District and within walking distance of Bouchon (a great restaurant) and with Louie's Restaurant right in the main building of the Upham.

Our room was big, bright, immaculate, cheerful, AND we had our own private terrace with a nice patio and furniture so we could eat outside. There are a number of cottages or you can stay in the main building.

The Upham provides wine and cheese from 4 to 6 P.M. and a magnificent breakfast with eggs, cheese, bagels, cereals, hot oatmeal, juice, great coffee, and tea. The dining area is sweet or you can take your food outdoors or into the sunroom.

The staff was helpful, the parking on-site, and the surrounding neighborhood was great for walking.

Can't wait to stay there again.

Room Tip: We will try the Lotus room next time. Don't stay near the separate laundry area as it is a bit n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SLL009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Malvern, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
150 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2013

This is a very pleasant Inn, with little bungalows dotted around well manicured gardens. It is not on the beach front but hidden a few blocks back in a residential area. Plenty of parking for guests. "Check in" was quick and efficient. The happy hour is always a bonus, with cheese and wine.

Whilst the restaurant is off the main entrance, it is leased out and is not part of the Inn. I will write another review about the restaurant.

The cottages were well appointed, clean and homely

Breakfast was just okay, as there really was no specific room for breakfast. One had to hunt for chairs and again seating was on an outside patio. OK if the weather is fine.

I did like the place but a little expensive, but it is Santa Barbara.
Graham S
Malvern UK

Room Tip: Try the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Stozzer1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Laguna Hills, California
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

I've stayed at a LOT of the SB "non-beachy" hotels, from the ultra expensive San Ysidro Inn, to the very expensive Biltmore, Canary, & Spanish Garden to some quite modest. All of the expensive ones mentioned above are very nice physical facilities; but the price steers me to keep looking.

With that in mind, I tried the somewhat cheaper (but still expensive) Upham. The original 1870's hotel has been restored several times, and it's about as nice as you can make 1920's style bungalows without San Ysidro's budget. However, old floors tend to creak, old, non- soundproofed walls can't give you complete privacy, and having a central courtyard eating area can make the nearby bungalows noisy. But, if you can accept that, the Upham is essentially as nice as the above places, but a notch less expensive.

They have an ok breakfast buffet, and afternoon wine and cheese. But, for a treat, try eating at Louie's restaurant, right off the lobby (see separate review of Louie's).

Room Tip: Try a bungalow room away from the main hotel to avoid the noise from the outside eating area (I didn...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank brngrp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, TN
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013 via mobile

We spent 2 nights in Santa Barbara and loved this hotel's location. State St restaurants and shops are an easy walk away. Beach is reachable by foot in 20 min. Cottages are quaint and comfortable. Breakfast is included, simple but very good. Would stay here again.

Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Daniel M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Carlos, California, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 13, 2013

We recently attended a concert at the Santa Barbara Bowl, which is within walking distance of the Upham. We chose the hotel initially because of this proximity, but quickly found that within a few blocks were a several excellent restaurants, bars, and shops. Upon our arrival at the hotel, we were promptly greeted by the friendly staff, who made us feel immediately at home. The accommodations were clean and well appointed, and the antique nature of the facility was very charming. The grounds are beautiful and cozy, and were a perfect place to enjoy a glass of wine during their afternoon tasting. We would certainly recommend this place, and look forward to staying here again.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HHHague
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 528 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 703 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#22 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 86 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing