We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Upham Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California, United States
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Upham Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

Charming bed and breakfast atmosphere. Continental breakfast was served in the morning. Wine and cheese was served in the late afternoon but we weren't there for that. Centrally located close to good restaurants and shopping.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

569 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    167
    61
    25
    11
See reviews for
64
307
17
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Media, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the Upham in their smallest room, a bungalow queen (Lotus #41) for five nights in early July. This was our first stay here, in the past we have stayed at the Spanish Garden Inn but wanted to try a less expensive option (our room was $225 per night compared to the Spanish Garden prices of around $400). All in all, we liked the Upham very much but the Spanish Garden even more...positives for the Upham were the price, the beautiful garden, nice little perks like the breakfast, wine and cookies, and we really liked the location. Several mornings we skipped breakfast there and walked a couple of blocks to State Street to Renaud's for their great almond croissants and coffee. A few negatives include a musty smell to our room, it was very damp, probably because of the June gloom that was lingering into July. We found if we left the AC on all day it would help dry the room out...but the AC is a noisy window unit so we turned it off at night. The wall separating our room from the next must have been paper thin, because we could hear the couple talking and they weren't raising their voices...but that was ok, since that room wasn't occupied all five nights of our stay. Parking is a problem, especially because they seem to do some sort of business meeting business during the day, bringing a lot of non hotel guests, with their cars, to the space. We were lucky, but a really nice mother/daughter couple we met there from Phoenix said they were told to park on the street, and had to move their car in the morning, when they couldn't find a space. Spanish Garden has limited parking too, but they do have enough spots for their guests. So I have mixed feelings...I'd definitely come back for the location and price, but will ask for a better room next time.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NWB1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Carolina
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2013

Upon arrival we were disappointed with the so-called quaintness of the bungalow and toughed it out. The inn is in such disrepair relative to what we aid for. The room had a terrible stench of humidity and the shower made the bathroom so wet the steam hung in the air and I couldn't use the mirrors. You just can't trust the pictures. There are better places as we found out during our trips into town. I have stayed at other BBs--they need to reinvest the income. Ratty furniture and dingy bedding. Disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NorthCarolinaSabaoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, July 18, 2013
We would like to extend our very sincere apologies to the reviewer for their disappointment. Sadly, we did not know of their extreme displeasure as we would have been happy to move them to a more pleasing accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
Level Contributor
495 reviews
121 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 304 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Friends from Florida were booked at The Upham to attend a business conference. At the last minute we decided to join them for a couple days. Because the main hotel has only 50 rooms, pickings were slim. We elected to stay at the Country House Inn in order to get a king size bed.

My mixed emotions start there. As I was later to find out, the Country House Inn was an existing B&B when the owners of The Upham purchased it in 2000. Registration is at The Upham, but all other services are in this building. Case in point, instead of a hotel staff supporting 50 rooms like at The Upham, we have innkeeper (Maureen) overseeing 8 rooms. Instead of the cold continental breakfast buffet at The Upham, we get to choose a hot entree of either scrambled eggs or the entree du jour (in our three days it was quiche Lorraine, "fluffy" pancakes and shrimp crepes) whipped up by Maureen. Instead of the Oreo's served by tradition at The Upham, we get fresh baked cookies by.....Maureen!

We did spend some time at The Upham. In fact we had dinner at Louise's the first night and wine & cheese in our friends courtyard. Their room was gorgeous with a separate bedroom and living room, a soaker tub and the privacy of their own gated patio. But where they could expense their upscale room, our tastes ran to simply getting a king size bed.

Our room was more than nice. it had a wood burning fireplace that would be a nice feature in winter. It has a jetted Jacuzzi tub that we did not make use of. We had a view (see pictures) out the back of the house and could keep the doors open in the morning to let in the cool air and the cheery bird calls. But the room was worn in spots and I am not sure we had air conditioning (we never tried to use it). More than adequate for our needs but not to be confused with what we saw at The Upham.

Both facilities seem to have problems with parking. Our building only had 7 parking spots despite having 8 rooms. I am told this is rarely a problem because not everyone has a car. Even so I was disturbed to see some of the employees of The Upham breeze in like they owned the place, allegedly with full knowledge of management, because "Thursday is street sweeping day." Yeah, well what about me, the fare paying guest?

By now you can tell the beauty of the Country House Inn is Maureen (or the person she was training while we were there). She came on board in 2000 when The Upham purchased the inn. She spends a good part of the day baking for both this facility and the needs of Louise's at The Upham. She still finds time to say hello, put out breakfast in the morning, cheese & crackers in the afternoon and leave a plate full of cookies every evening. My emotions may be mixed but Maureen I am certain of.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KenVicLee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

We stayed at The Upham for one night in June. The property is lovely with a historic look and feel. We stayed in a bungalow queen and it was really lovely. This was one of the smallest rooms they offer but it wasn't small at all. It had a private terrace with double doors. Even though we were only staying for one night it was really nice to have some outside space. The double doors made the room feel very light and airy. The room also had a wall mounted flat screen TV.

The staff were very friendly and helpful. The hotel is located just a few blocks from State St so downtown is within easy walking distance and the harbour is about a mile away. A shuttle trolley runs up and down State St to/from the harbour area and cost $0.50 per ride if you don't feel like walking.

Breakfast was the usual cereals, fruit, pastries, toast etc but there was a decent selection to choose from. Complimentary wine, lemonade and nibbles are available between 4pm and 7pm in the lobby and after dinner cookies and milk are available.

We really enjoyed our stay at The Upham and were disappointed that we were not staying for longer. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to others.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013 via mobile

The Upham is a great hotel in a super location.The room we had was a little tired and the bathroom had hairs from previous guests which was a bit off putting. We didn't manage to put off the light on the balcony or block it out of the room. The air conditioning was noisy. The staff were lovely and the place had the look of the historical landmark that it is. Breakfast was fine.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Robert B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Evergreen, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

I am actually here for a meeting. The facilities are great and the staff are amazing. I am now imagining coming back here to visit for pure vacation and enjoy the ambience of the Upham. Be sure to wake up for the free substantial breakfast in the morning. Between 4 and 7 pm, help yourself to wine, cheese and crackers. And before you take off for slumber land, enjoy the milk and cookies to help you sleep. All in all a great experience.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Evergreenbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 474 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 905 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,195 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 1,095 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 598 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#36 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 92 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz and Jetsetter so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing