We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Presidio Motel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Simpson House Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kimpton Canary Hotel(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Orange Tree Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Spanish Garden Inn(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Encina Lodge & Suites(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Santa Barbara(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Belmond El Encanto(Santa Barbara)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Reviews (674)
Filter reviews
674 results
Traveler rating
361
204
72
26
11
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
361
204
72
26
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoreoslouie's restaurantwine and cheeseb badirondack chairsstate streetthe penthousecrackerscookies and milkoreo cookietwo blockscontinental breakfastthe main househard boiled eggscharming hotelyogurtthe main drag
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
371 - 376 of 674 reviews
Reviewed June 27, 2013

The Upham has a great location and the grounds were lovely. Our cottage room was plenty big and private, it didn't really feel like a hotel or a B&B. The mattress, however, was sub-par and the bathroom antiquated. There are no hooks and one small towel rack, immediately over the toilet, for the entire room, and no exhaust fan. The breakfast and tea time was functional/average -- definitely more hotel than B&B in that regard. It's nice enough, but showing its age. A weak 4 stars.

Room Tip: #29 (Queen) is more secluded and shady than some.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scott S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

We stayed at the Upham Hotel for our honeymoon and loved it so much we extend our stay here. The staff are extremely friendly and no request is to big or small. The food if absolutely out of this world. It is a must for everyone to stay here. Really looking forward to get back to stay in the future.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Enda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2013

This is a nice enough B&B, but sadly we didn't find it as fabulous as some of the other reviewers.

Positive features: Good beds, quilts, and linens. The grounds are pretty with lawns and little patios and many seating areas. The continental breakfast was nice enough to get us started for the day. The location is very good and convenient. We love staying in downtown Santa Barbara because we can walk to endless restaurants, the art museum, shops, and a beautiful park.

Disappointing: The rooms are average size and the furniture is not pretty. The bathrooms are very outdated with plain fixtures, white tiles, aging grout. Room security was nonexistent: the bolt didn't work and the only lock was a button on the doorknob (and no in-room safe). The unimpressive wine and cheese reception consisted of generic wines in open carafes (perhaps from a box?) plus a tub of yellow cheese spread and crackers.

It's a nice atmosphere and good enough rooms, I suppose ... but next time we want to stay downtown, we'll probably go back to Inn of the Spanish Garden, which has larger spiffier rooms and beautiful modern bathrooms.

Room Tip: We booked a king junior suite, which was not exactly huge -- but it had a seating area and was far larger than the standard rooms.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LATraveler1727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2013

My husband and I have been staying at the Upham Hotel for at least 20 years. We go a couple of times a year. We like to spend a few days walking into town and just relaxing. We have found this to be the perfect place for us. Charm and character are there along with luxurious beds and clean rooms. We have stayed in so many of the rooms now and there is truly something for everyone. A nice breakfast is there every morning, wine and crackers for happy hour and oreos and milk at night. We have tried other hotels thru the years and keep returning to the Upham! A short walk into town is another huge plus. You cant go wrong at this special Santa Barbara spot.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gita G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 8, 2013

We have stayed at the Country House and the Upham Hotel several times a year for the last 20+ years. We have stayed at other fine hotels in Santa Barbara when we could not book rooms at the Upham. The history, uniqueness, comfort, caring staff and overall value make the Upham and Country House our choice hands down. Jan (the manager) goes out of her way to see to the comfort of all her guests. Over the years, many of the staff have become our friends; we look forward to visiting them at "our home away from home".
Our favorite rooms in the Country House are the Victoria Room and the Darcy Room. Beautiful view of the gardens front and back. Quiet and peaceful. And we love the aroma of pastries baking in the kitchen. Maureen, who cares for the guests at the Country House, gives us a warm welcome each time we visit. Wonderful place to stay and very convenient to State Street.
John and Marianne O'Brien
Granite Bay, CA

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank job1938
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews