We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

“Pretty Good --funky, reasonably priced” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #15 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Encinitas, California
Level Contributor
200 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
“Pretty Good --funky, reasonably priced”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My wife and I stayed here when I came up for business and spent the weekend after my meeting. We stayed in the Country Inn house across the street and down the block from the Upham but which is linked to it. It's a funky old Victorian house B&B. Because of age of the house the rooms are a bit small and can be a little weird. Our room (the Nicole) had the sink outside the toilet/shower room on the other side of the room from them! From our experience you are better off booking into one of the rooms with a complete bath/sink/shower ensemble together. The shower was also iffy in terms of regulating temperature--easy to scold or freeze yourself unless you got exactly the right spot on the dial. Breakfasts were mixed. Not much choice on hot part--whatever they are doing that morning (for example, spinach crepes or pancakes etc) or scrambled eggs (with or without cheese). Eggs were ok but not great. Choice of cereals or not very good yoghurt (Yoplait--come on, really? With Trader Joe's around?). On the other hand the crumb cake one morning was really good. There is wine and simple cheese in the afternoons and cookies for guests too. Inkeepers are nice and helpful without being intrusive. Good service. Quiet generally (although creaking stairs and sometimes footsteps in penthouse above us), pleasant garden with deck eating. Just 2 blocks from State St and lots of restaurants and shopping. If you want a really good hotel you can go to the Inn of the Spanish Garden which is lovely but pay a lot more. For half that price, this is a good alternative.

Room Tip: Don't get a room with sink not part of the toilet/shower room
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ellis K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

560 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    303
    162
    59
    25
    11
See reviews for
62
301
17
70
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Ojai, California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

We are a mature couple who love to go to Santa Barbara Symphony performances on Sunday afternoons. We like to arrive early at the Upham. Even if our room isn't ready, we've been invited to help ourselves to breakfast items and enjoy the lounge. We typically walk down State Street and enjoy shopping and the fresh air. Then we go back and check into our room, get settled, and walk over to the Granada Theatre for the concert. After that, wine and cheese, dinner at Louie's, followed by milk and cookies (we're usually too full for that!) The next morning we enjoy a leisurely breakfast and head to the Botanic Garden for a walk. This makes a perfect weekend for us! We'll be back!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Country Inn owned by the Upham is where 4 of us stayed. Two of us booked the Penthouse to have more room. It was $475 per night, and we got it discounted at $425. I still felt it was very overpriced and not a good value. We were not able to control our temperature in the room and the main sitting area in the general living room downstairs was cold too.

The Innkeeper was wonderful and cooked us fantastic hot breakfast, wine and appetizers in the afternoon were great and nice freshly baked cookies and breakfast breads. I don't recommend booking the Penthouse for the price it wasn't worth it. Older properties need maintanance in order to keep their charm.

Room Tip: Half of our group stayed at the Upham and liked it very much. The other half stayed across the stre...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank teacherinthehood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013

We had a great stay at the Upham while in town for a friend's wedding. The staff was friendly and helpful, the room was bright, clean, and comfortable, and the location is great -- quiet but close enough to downtown for a good stroll. Louie's Restaurant is also just fabulous. And Oreo's and milk at night? Fantastic!

Room Tip: Ask for one near the Gazebo
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Bob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Our neighbors told us about their great experiences at the Upham. We loved the special during the work week for $165! You can't beat the price for 2 blocks from State Street in a charming hotel! We had friends in town that weren't staying at the Upham and the Upham didn't have a problem with our friends joining us for wine, cheese and crackers on the porch in the late afternoon. Our room was nice, quiet, and the two queen beds were comfortable. The breakfast they serve in the morning was great and saved us from having to pay for breakfast somewhere and saved time for more shopping!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rydleedog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
304 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

We chose this Hotel to get away from the corporate chains and a desire for some old world charm.
The Upham did not let us down. Beautiful gardens, spacious rooms, lovely lounge area with fire place where breakfast is served from 7 till 11am and drinks and nibbles from 4 till 7pm.
Just 2 blocks walk to famous State street was another bonus. Our only negative is that the room we had no 32 needed updating, TV still the old big box and the furnishings whilst comfortable is tired. We would go back just the same as we noted they were updating the rooms progressively with one section closed while in that process.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Walter J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
63 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 14, 2013

A comfy, quiet, quaint and charming place to lodge. Room 50 was spacious and clean with a nice table, chair, oversized sofa chair, and armoire with a TV inside. Loved the large closet with two sides to hang clothes. Bathrobes were provided, and glad I did not have to pack one. Bathroom was small but good enough for one person at a time, good shower power and hot water stayed hot. The heater kept us nice and warm with the arctic cold weather. The bed was comfortable and I slept very well. I only wish there was a coffee maker in the room rather than go out to the main house to get the comp beverage and snack offerings.
We ate dinner at the on site Louie's, and had a delicious rack of lamb, salad, and complimentary dessert. My roommate enjoyed her blacken halibut that was one of the special entrees.
Our days were full and long, and did not have the time to enjoy the lovely garden patio area.
The comp breakfast had all the foods that I would eat, especially the cooked hot oatmeal with brown sugar and raisins, yogurt, grapefruit, OJ, and hot tea.
Service was friendly and accommodating from the staff at both the hotel and restaurant. Hotel is only two blocks from State Street which is the main downtown thoroughfare and close to the Santa Barbara Museum. Definitely a hotel to return to on the next visit to Santa Barbara.

Room Tip: Room 50 is very nice and large with 2 queen beds, in a separate bldg in the back with 2 units, but r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank GoldenFeet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.4 mi away
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
Canary, a Kimpton Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 886 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 1,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 1,075 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 stars 582 reviews
1.3 mi away
Franciscan Inn
Franciscan Inn
#16 of 52 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 stars 496 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and Jetsetter so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing