We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Service was fantastic”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #16 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2012

We were pretty high maintenance guests. We didn't mean to be but it seems like it was just one thing after another with us - arriving just as restaurant was closing due to massive LA traffic issues, a very sick person in our party with some special requests as a result, asking for something to be stored in the hotel refrigerator for us to take to our daughter at college, leaving an important camera part in the hotel room and asking for it to be sent. They could not have been nicer or more accomdating, meeting all our needs with a smile. As a previous reviewer stated - it is an old hotel so rooms are small, maybe a little too plain and small bathrooms but the outside and insided common areas are plentiful and really nice. No coffee makers or refrigerators in the rooms. Also, one of the buildings has a super steep staircase leading to 3 upstairs rooms. If you have trouble with stairs ask for a ground floor or cottage room. Only suggestion to management is to put a mirror in the room itself in addition to the one in the bathroom so two people can be getting ready at same time (we were in the Lotus cottage). Would like to return when weather is warmer so we can dine outside and enjoy the grounds.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dspolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (660)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

397 - 403 of 660 reviews

Reviewed November 4, 2012

This place is just a few blocks from State street but quiet and peaceful. We stayed there twice and both time we were very happy with our stays. They serve pretty good selection of continental breakfast. There were several kinds of juices, cereals, yogurt, bunch of yummy pastries. In the late afternoon, they have wine reception with red and white wine with cheese spread & crackers. You can sit in the beautiful garden while having breakfast or wine. The room is good size and clean. I love their bed and pillows, so comfortable. Staff was nice and friendly. I'll definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Juno27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2012

The Upham is the perfect getaway for the weekend. It is a great B&B and it was built in the 1870s. This is all about expectations. 1870s means, small rooms, small bathrooms, etc. However, if you know this going in you can have a wonderful time. The grounds are nice for relaxing and the breakfast buffet is much better than average.

It is a short 2 block walk to state street and the best part about the entire place is Louie's is in the hotel itself which is my favorite restaurant in Southern California.

Because of the location and the restaurant, we just park are car and do not get back in it until we check out.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank TravellerWKids
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012

Went all out for my wifes birthday and stayed in the penthouse for 3 nights over the weekend. Had the whole top floor to ourselves. The breakfast was amazing and delivered to our door. The most comfortable bed. Slept with all the doors and windows open. Patio just outside the bedroom was a great outdoor living area to hang out, day or night! It was a wonderful non-commercial down home getaway. 2 blocks from State Street, where all the shops are located. Would recommend it for a romantic getaway.

Room Tip: Would recommend the Penthouse for a romantic get-a-way.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 6foot33012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

After a 4 hour drive from palm springs through traffic clogged LA, this Inn is blissful. We love the old Victorian look with modern feel and care taken. Staff were very helpful and friendly. The wine in the garden in the afternoon and evening is a nice touch as well as the breakfast. We were only on a stopover through to San Fran but now will return to the Upham for a proper visit next year. The restaurant attached to the Inn, Louies, prepared one of the best tasting and presented dinners myself and my wife have ever had. I know Santa Barbara is known for great restaurants but Im not going any further than Louies next time.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Doclicter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2012

This was a lovely hotel with a very good in house restaurant. Bed was great, room lovely, big and clean.
Our only problem was the in room cooling which was very noisy even on low. Fortunately the weather was cool overnight and we were able to turn it off to sleep.
Location was good for the shops but a long walk from the pier. There is however a good 50c shuttle bus to the beach from shops near the hotel

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Higgy141
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2012

We stayed here for two nights in September. The staff were very friendly and helpful but found the hotel slightly dated, especially the bathrooms. The hotel is in a good location for the towns shops and restaurant but the beach and pier and almost an hours walk. My husband was slightly disappointed with the breakfast selection as there is no cooked options offered.
Overall a pleasant experience but would elsewhere next time.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amye_123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#20 of 52 in Santa Barbara
475 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,092 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 52 in Santa Barbara
575 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
165 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#25 of 52 in Santa Barbara
335 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $235 - $414 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing