We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Hotel in beautiful setting - Loved it”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #13 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
ca
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Beautiful Hotel in beautiful setting - Loved it”
Reviewed August 20, 2011

My husband and I and a Couple from the East Coast stayed at the Upham for our daughter's UCSB Graduation June 2011. We stayed for 3 nights in 2 King bedroom's and both were beautiful, very comfortable and quiet. This is a beautiful Hotel in a beautiful serene setting and we could not have been happier or more relaxed. We loved having coffee and breakfast in the garden, relaxing there again late afternoon and having great shopping and Restaurants just a few blocks away.
Louie's Restaurant is right in the Hotel and serves excellent food, I would highly recommend it. I probably would not visit Santa Barbara again without at least having Lunch there. For Graduation we walked a few blocks to OPAL Restaurant, another fabulous Restaurant.
I would love to stay at the Upham again. What really impressed me is that the management did not double the room prices for Graduation as most of the other Hotels do.

Room Tip: The property is so lovely it's hard to decide on the best room. We were upstairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank eckdish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

641 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    342
    193
    69
    26
    11
See reviews for
72
346
20
82
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Brentwood, CA
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

The hotel ground are beautiful. The rooms are nice. The 4:00 free wine in the lobby with cheese and crackers couldn't be beat. The bathrooms could use help. The shower is a claw foot tub with a curtain that doesn't quite fit. We were there for four days and had trouble with the shower every day. The curtain kept falling down and the air through the window kept blowing it in. I couldn't adjust the curtain or the window. The space was so small it was claustrophobic. There was not enough toilet paper for three of us and the toilet didn't have enough power.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TorresTrio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Comfortable rooms - older clientele - nice breakfast - nice grounds - good location

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Palhaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange County, CA
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2011

Plus: Close to heart of Santa Barbara including State Street with its many restaurants and shops. You can walk to dinner easily. Accommodating when we told them we might need the room a tad early to get ready for an event beginning at 3:30 pm. Attractive grounds.
Minuses: Needs upkeep including a fresh coat of paint. Lots of peeling surfaces in this old place and if they wish to keep it open they should maintain all that ok'd wood. Bathroom needed redo and maintenance. (we were in the 'Lincoln' cottage). Tub could not be closed due to broken fitting and sink could not either for the same reason. Breakfast OK but not interesting. Scones subpar. Fruit should be offered. Not much of a presence of management or service in the breakfast room. Very do it yourself. Our friend who stayed in a competing b & b for the same cost had hot scones, good service, fruit etc. Will stay at the competitor next time. It's the little touches that make a difference.

Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ADG123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lo Angeles
1 review
Reviewed August 10, 2011

we made reservations 3 months in advance with a note that we were vegetarians who did not eat eggs. We were told they would be able to accomodate us and that a note was made in our reservation. THe hotel itself was lovely, although I should note there is a different between the Upham and the COuntry House. We stayed at the Country House which is more of a B&B with the traditional hot fresh chocolate cookies and snacks. The cookies we had were amazing. The room was very nice, if a little smaller than imagined but a very comfortable bed. The disappointing part was the breakfast. We were told that the main entree was Quiche but that are substitute entree was crepes that were made with eggs. The other options were scrambled eggs or plain oatmeal. All three of their hot options had eggs and plain oatmeal doesn't sound very great for a deluxe B&B breakfast. There were scones and pastries but it was disappointing that making reservations so far in advance they couldn't make the crepes with fruit or just a plain pancake would have been nice. Perhaps on other days they would be more accomodating. Otherwise it was a very nice stay at a good location.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kel78belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, August 12, 2011
We are so sorry to learn of our guests’ disappointment. We are however, a bit confused. Upon checking reservations, we saw the note that our guests did not eat eggs. Prior to their arrival, we called the guest to discuss their breakfast options as most of our breakfast offerings and cookies are made with eggs. They confirmed that our spinach and feta crepes would be acceptable. We are truly sorry for the misunderstanding and hope that they will return in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My friend and I were very disappointed in the Upham. On its face, it is a charming B&B with a nice interior garden for relaxing and enjoying the free breakfast and wine and cheese. However, one should get more for the money. The woman who checked us in was a little sour and acted as though she was doing us a favor, though the check-out lady was friendly. My friend and I had bungalow rooms -- tiny but OK for one, though sparsely furhished. The beds were old-fashioned and uncomfortable -- definitely no pillowtop matress -- and the pillows were thin and had a dirty-hair smell and should have been replaced. The towels were threadbare. My bathroom had no space at all for my bathroom supplies -- no shelf, no extra ledge on the sink, nothing -- and no hook or bar for the wet towels or my robe. My room was not air-conditioned, which required leaving the window open. My "window" was a floor-length opening with a door that opened in. When open, only a flimsy screen separated me from the world. The lock on the "window," door, and on the gate for the fenced in patio were also flimsy. I felt unsafe and slept fitfully. The sparse furniture on the patio was rusted and dirty. Water pressure was low and the shower head was not up to par. Equally disappointing were the freebies. The breakfast on the first day was ordinary, not the luxurious continental breakfast advertized. On the second day, however, some delicious scones were added -- the best part of the stay. At the wine and cheese hour, the inn served a cheap red and white wine and a grocery store cheese spread on crackers, neither worth the calories. And the advertized oreos at night were oreo-copies! Parking is tight -- not enough spaces for the number of guests and difficult to maneuver. We had difficulty finding a place to park one night.

On the positive side, the inn is pretty and its exterior and gardens are well maintained. The location is excellent -- on a quiet street at the edge of the shopping area in walking distance to down-town shops and restaurants. With a bit of extra effort and relatively little expenditure, considering the cost of the rooms, this inn could be top-notch.

Room Tip: I can only speak for two bungalow rooms -- avoid!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank cadkison
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jan1404, General Manager at The Upham Hotel & Country House, responded to this review, August 11, 2011
We were shocked to read of our guest’s extreme dissatisfaction with their stay at the Upham. Their comments regarding our beds and linens were quite a surprise. We receive frequent requests from departing guests to find out the brand names of our sheets and mattresses and in fact, on several occasions, we have sold guests our pillows, duvet covers and even mattresses. None the less, we are always dismayed to hear that a guest did not enjoy their experience with us. We do have a variety of accommodations at varying price points with our bungalows being the most cozy and economical of our accommodations. Again, we are very sorry our guest did not enjoy their stay and the “honest-to-goodness” Oreo cookies that we serve.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 183 helpful votes
Reviewed August 8, 2011

My wife and I spent a night at The Upham after a hideous crammed overnight flight from Hawaii to LAX. What a difference a little help makes. We emailed in advance and the hotel let us check in just before 9 am to get some sleep before enjoying the city - this made all the difference to our stay so thank you, again.

Our room like many others described was small and bathroom tiny but who cares - the city is beautiful and there are so many places to explore. Location couldn't be better and you can walk to all the interesting sites. If you want to relax the hotel has lovely gardens so you don't all need to be sitting in your room!

Breakfast a little limited but ok - no hot options at all. Free wine and biccies in the evening a really nice touch as is the free parking and wifi. No the cheese in a pot doesn't look inviting but wow it's tasty so get stuck in!

A great place to stay if you bear in mind the limitations of a 150 year old hotel in the centre of an incredibly expensive city.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vedev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,036 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,236 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#14 of 52 in Santa Barbara
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#19 of 52 in Santa Barbara
126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
749 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Santa Barbara
Hotel Santa Barbara
#23 of 52 in Santa Barbara
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-3027
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#8 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing