We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Stay in Santa Barbara” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Upham Hotel & Country House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
The Upham Hotel & Country House
Ranked #18 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Santa Monica
1 review
“Best Stay in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2011

Arin L.

Santa Monica, CA
5/11/2011 I stayed at the Upham Hotel last December with my boyfriend for his birthday weekend. It was our first time staying at the historical hotel and were very impressed! The lobby was warm and welcoming with a fireplace fire lit, holiday decorations and complementary beverages / small bites. We enjoyed a glass of wine by the fire before checking into our room and visited with some of the other guest passing through. The hotel grounds are beautiful with lush landscaping and many quaint places to sit and enjoy the peaceful surroundings. Our room was very cozy, complete with a fireplace and wonderful linens.

I enjoyed a morning walk/jog to the nearby Marina. The complimentary breakfast offered at the Upham was also impressive. Our stay was short and sweet but we are looking forward to returning to the Upham soon. Hands down the best stay we have had in Santa Barbara. Wonderful service and a warm and welcoming staff!

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank arinlarson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    179
    65
    26
    11
See reviews for
68
326
19
76
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2011

We stumbled upon the Upham during a last-minute trip to Santa Barbara ... during Spring Break. The first hotels we called were full (fortunately) and we were so happy to find The Upham! I knew the minute I made my reservation that we were in for a treat. The hotel is beautiful, the staff is lovely, the grounds are gorgeous. Happy hour was a nice bonus (aside from the cheese lump - please pass!) and the breakfast was substantial. It was a quaint, lovely, quiet alternative to most lodging options. Be sure to have a glass of wine in the garden at sunset. It is beautiful!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ndkt323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leucadia, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2011

My husband and I were on a road trip and after a disappointing view of a B&B he found the Upam Hotel on trip advisor. It is a classic hotel with real people that care running the place. Fred was very kind and showed us a wonderful cottage room that felt just like old England looking out on to the beautiful rose garden. It was very quiet night and the other guests were in sync with the peaceful atmosphere. If you want to party and be noisy this is not for you. In the morning we ate breakfast outside with the most darling children and their parents from England. Blue Jays came to visit us in the pink camillia tree. Only moments from great shopping on State Street.Do not miss dining the restaurant in the hotel where I had the best meatloaf ( steak loaf) that I have ever enjoyed.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank leucadia108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelbyville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2011

Awesome experience. Stayed at The Country House, a Victorian home that was built in the late 1800's and is now a part of the Upham. The lady downstairs is like a Grandma. She greets you warmly. Makes sure everything is ok with your stay and cooks you breakfast in the home's kitchen. The smell of fresh baked goodies drifts through the air. Pretty gardens and rooms. A step back in time. Loved it!

  • Stayed April 2011
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TheDwight
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis
Level Contributor
36 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2011

Good experience overall. The hotel is perfectly situated if you want to be downtown Santa Barbara. It is about 1.5 miles to the main beach. The room was comfortable and clean however the nights are not very quiet as you can hear people walking, talking and even snoring. Not very pleasant to wake up at 3 in the morning and realize that the person you hear snoring is not next to you in your bed!
Breakfast is self service and there is a limited amount of pasties (muffins, scones) as well as breads that seemed to be either defrosted or day old. Otherwise, juice, coffee, tea and fresh fruits are available all day. In addition there is white wine with crackers and cheese offered in the evening.
We enjoyed the New York Times and Los Angeles Times available daily.
The gardens are beautiful kept and peaceful.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sild-o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2011

This was our 2nd trip to the Upham. Last year we were in a lovely quiet Queen room upstairs in the garden building. This year we were in the same building but the room was stifling hot (in April!) despite an overhead fan and room fan. The 2nd night we had to stay in the cozy living room to cool down a bit (this was unusually warm weather for Santa Barbara, but what is this room like in summer?) We were also kept awake until after 1AM by the gentleman in the room next door talking on his cell phone...the walls are very thin. Obviously this was NOT the Upham's fault, but something to remember in choosing rooms.
The service is wonderful and professional. The breakfast is delightful and we appreciate the long hours as well as the afternoon wine (but please get rid of that cheesy cheese ball! as the only appetizer!). One of our favorite items is the peaceful beautiful garden, the perfect place to sit and read!
Louie's restaurant is excellent, we dined here 2 of our 3 nights...service is wonderful. We also love the location. Close enough for walking to shops and a wide variety of wonderful restaurants, but far enough from the bustle of town.
Despite a few 'niggles' we will be back again (especially now that we have scouted out which rooms are most quiet and cool!)

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janet E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2011

We had the most wonderful stay at the Upham. The service was impeccable, the gardens were gorgeous, the food and beverages, available all day, were wonderful and included in our stay, the lobby was a dream, and our room was private and lovely and quaint. They even have parking on-site, which is so helpful in Santa Barbara. They really made us feel special and accommodated all our needs. It was also walking distance to downtown State Street, so we hardly needed a car at all.

Room Tip: Try to book a Sunday through Thursday.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank weezie1971
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.4 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 980 reviews
1.4 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,244 reviews
0.4 mi away
Simpson House Inn
Simpson House Inn
#1 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,192 reviews
1.3 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 688 reviews
1.4 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#32 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Upham Hotel & Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Upham Hotel & Country House

Property: The Upham Hotel & Country House
Address: 1404 De La Vina Street, Santa Barbara, CA 93101
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Barbara
#9 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
#11 Romantic Hotel in Santa Barbara
#15 Family Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Upham Hotel & Country House 4*
Number of rooms: 58
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Victorian treasure in the heart of downtown Santa Barbara, the Upham Hotel and Country House is the oldest continuously operating hotel in Santa Barbara, Southern California. Constructed of redwood with sweeping verandas, the 58-room 1871 landmark is surrounded by an acre of gardens and combines the intimacy of a bed and breakfast with the convenience of a full-service hotel and conference facility. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your The Upham Hotel & Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Upham Hotel Santa Barbara
Upham Santa Barbara
Upham Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing