We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Santa Barbara
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (839)
Filter reviews
839 results
Traveler rating
750
57
21
8
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
750
57
21
8
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the main house sun room tack room parlor room greenwich cottage carriage room hors d'oeuvres state street the cottages breakfast delivered bed and breakfast wine and appetizers beautiful grounds cookies b and b early evening each morning
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 839 reviews
Reviewed January 16, 2020

We were surprised by the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. In addition, the food and service was wonderful and exceeded our expectations. We had a wonderful weekend and can't wait to go back. I highly recommend Simpson House Inn!!

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank gsumner7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpsonHouseInn, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for staying at the Simpson House Inn and for posting a comment regarding your stay. We appreciate your kind words about the staff and overall experience here. We hope to have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 10, 2020

We have stayed here 10 different times now and absolutely love coming here for our little getaway. Peggy is so fun to talk to and is very informative. Yummy food. Quaint and cozy and gorgeous property. Can’t wait to go back. Love the Hayloft

Date of stay: January 2020
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Cjnazarian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucianoSimpsonHouse, General Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

My favorite room as well.

Thank you so much for your continued business.

Best Regards,

Luciano,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2020

We stayed in a room in the main house. The house itself is one of the oldest in Santa Barbara and the owners have tried to stay true to this. The hotel's decor was victorian including the very elaborately wall papered ceiling in our room. There were some very nice touches like wine o'clock when you could go and sample the local wines with crudities. At breakfast, you are given a menu card with your name on it which it is nice. The staff were nice but the overall impression I got was that they weren't much interested in the overseas visitors and really only wanted to talk to the Americans. Perhaps they think they are more likely to return. I'm sure that the American visitors are much more impressed by this Victorian house than perhaps Europeans would be?

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank arich64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpsonHouseInn, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear arich64,

Thank you for staying at the Simpson House Inn and also for taking the time to share your experience and valuable feedback. We are nothing without our guests and are honored to have them come from all parts of the World. I'm so sorry if you felt differently. I hope we can have another opportunity to host you in the future.

Sincerely,

Haley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2020 via mobile

Amazing hotel and location. The hotel is over 100 years old, but it feels as modern as any other newer hotel. The artwork in the room and attention to detail, truly brought you back to its origins. Walking distance to local restaurants. Evening wine reception and spread was spectacular. Turndown crew was great. Check in process was 5 star service. Thank you for a amazing night.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank giullermon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SimpsonHouseInn, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded January 8, 2020

Dear giullermon,

Thank you for the kind words and excellent review. We are honored you chose to spend your birthday with us thrilled you enjoyed all the little touches that make the Simpson House Inn so special. We look forward to having another opportunity to host you again!

Sincerely,

Haley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2020

Simpson House Inn was the perfect place to spend a few days over Christmas. My husband and I stayed in the main house, and loved walking down the stairs to a beautifully decorated living room and fireplace.

We've been to Santa Barbara before and found staying closer to the beach less interesting. We enjoyed the Simpson House, and it's location much more and loved the beautiful area to walk around in. The grounds are spectacular, even in winter.

The upper part of State Street is also more interesting for shops and restaurants and a short walk from Inn.

The staff was incredibly helpful. It really could not have been a more lovely stay. I can understand why this is not the first visit by most of their guests. We will be back.

Room tip: We loved the Margaret Room in the main house. It had a beautiful view to the front yard.
Date of stay: December 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank InUzBe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LucianoSimpsonHouse, Manager at Simpson House Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you so much for visiting us.
I am very glad you have enjoyed your stay and what we have to offer.

Best regards,

Luciano.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews