We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Chino Hills, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2013

I did a lot of research before selecting the Simpson House as the first destination for our honeymoon. We were not disappointed. From the moment we arrived, we were pampered beyond compare. We stayed in the Greenwich Cottage, which was quiet, cozy, well appointed and very clean. The bed was extremely comfortable and the sheets were silky smooth. My wife equated it to, "sleeping of a cloud." The grounds are beautiful and the food and main house accomodations are incredible. We definitely return here on out anniversaries. The 5 Diamond AAA rating of this inn is well deserved.

Room Tip: Choose the Greenwich Cottage. You won't be disapponted!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

528 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    463
    41
    16
    7
    1
See reviews for
45
401
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Camarillo, CA
Level Contributor
99 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 1, 2013

We stayed two nights for a long needed long weekend away. We have lived in Ventura County since 1990, yet this was our first visit to the Simpson House. How could we have waited so long??? This Inn absolutely deserves its 5 Diamond AAA rating.

Once you enter the property, the outside world vanishes, and you enter this totally serene environment, with immaculate and perfectly groomed grounds, complete with a number of fountains that added the soothing sound of gently running water wherever one walks. If one wished to, one could stay on site for total immersion of peace, relaxation, tranquility, and exceptional yet unobtrusive service.

Of course, if one wishes to wander State Street, the Simpson House is well located and easy walking distance from the Street and the main downtown area. We walked quite a bit and found the stroll enjoyable and easy.

All the staff, particularly Barbara and Kerry, were delightful. Engaging, friendly, personable, down to earth. They added to the overall sense of calm that permeates this place. All food offerings were exceptional, and since the Simpson House is strictly vegetarian, we were in our element. One could literally get your entire day’s meals on property, from breakfast, mid-day snacks, late afternoon-early evening offerings, and dessert tray later. With local wines of course as part of the late PM/early evening offering. We in fact met at least one couple (repeat guests we learned) who did exactly that in their stay that paralleled our visit, i.e. never left the property for meals, and seemed delighted with the ability to do so.

Our room was spacious, well appointed, unique, with exceptional bedding and bath linens. We cocooned in the room for both nights after off premises dinners with wine and the DVD player. A most well needed retreat from life in the “real” world.

Most highly recommended. We look forward to an early return and many repeat visits.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Randyhol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

Beautifully restored Victorian house with garden and guest house in backyard. Very quiet and intimate. The tea-time snacks and wine were really exceptional and offered in the lovely dining room. But the breakfast on the porch was the best we've ever had in a b-and-b. Walking distance to all the great shops and restaurants! When visiting don't miss a visit to the nearby world famous botanical garden!

Room Tip: the guest house out back was dreamy
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Palad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
417 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

This 5 Diamond B & B located in downtown Santa Barbara is a must. Situated on and acre of land, the 1864 Victorian house and Carriage House are considered one of the best examples of this building type in California. The owners have restored this property to pristine condition, furnished with many authentic antiques.
We enjoyed a two night getaway, and loved the peace and quiet found behind the garden walls. Evening serves a nice wine and cheese tasting, One can walk to many great places to dine for dinner within a few blocks. The breakfast the next morning was superb. While not priced for the faint of heart, this is worth a trip.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mitch w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

Others have describe this place well. I thought o just submit my review to triple confirm what everyone else has mentioned about this place. Perfect accommodation. Great location. A little bit pricy for us but we enjoyed every minute of it. (We also stayed during thanksgiving so that might be it). You get the 5 start service. You almost want to stay in and not explore Santa Barbara:-) We checked in late and got out right a way but stayed the next morning and relaxed till noon before we check out.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank prokni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

From the moment we arrived, we knew we had chosen the right place to stay in Santa Barbara! We were greeted at our car the minute we parked and personally welcomed into the House by our gracious hostess who personally introduced us to our gorgeous room and explained all the amenities. We stayed in the Katherine McCormick room in the main house and, although our room was small, it had abundant character and we loved it. The decor was charming and the amenities were perfect (Kiehls bathroom products, bathrobes, media facilities including an extensive movie library, internet access etc).

As it was our anniversary, the staff had prepared a beautiful Red Velvet cake and card especially for us. We were also served delicious pre-dinner canapes and drinks and our hostess recommended (and booked a table for us) at a fabulous local restaurant. It was an easy stroll from the Simpson House to the main street of Santa Barbara for dinner and we felt completely safe doing so at night. Despite being only minutes from the centre of town, the Simpson House is a tranquil oasis, hidden behind impressive hedges and set amidst a beautiful, verdant garden with water fountains. We slept so soundly in this peaceful idyll.

In the morning, a delicious multi-course breakfast was served in the garden and on the beautiful veranda by very attentive staff, and upon departure, we received gifts and were farewelled like family members.

Thank goodness the owners of this beautiful historical residence fought for its preservation as The Simpson House is one of Santa Barbara's treasures. The care and attention invested in its restoration has produced a beautiful home. Thank you to all the wonderful staff - you made our stay truly memorable.

We highly recommend the Simpson House and would definitely stay there again if we ever return to Santa Barbara.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Choca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
40 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012 via mobile

Fantastic and beautiful B@B. We highly recommend to all. Only a couple blocks off of State Street. My husband and I just loved it! We would definitely recommend to all. Location is only two blocks off of State Street. Complimentary bikes were available to us. Breakfast was.over the top.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Darlenehixon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 995 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#2 of 51 in Santa Barbara
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,205 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 964 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#12 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Harbor House Inn
Harbor House Inn
#4 of 51 in Santa Barbara
4.5 of 5 bubbles 700 reviews
3.8 mi away
Four Seasons Resort The Biltmore Santa Barbara
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Property: Simpson House Inn
Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, HotelsClick, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing