We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful B&B”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 11, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for one night at Simpson on our drive from LA to San Francisco. The inn was beautiful and service was impeccable from our arrival. We were greeted by Kerry at our car and given a tour of the house and explanation of the house services. We stayed in the sun room which was worth every penny. The room has its own large private roof deck which proved wonderful to see the stars and for a rooftop breakfast delivered to the room. It was very special. The food was fabulous. The inn is very close to the Main Street of SB which was convenient for dinner. I highly recommend Simpson if you are looking for a great B&B.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mshanti74
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (571)
There are newer reviews for Simpson House Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

387 - 393 of 571 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2012

It was an expensive two night stay but the extra details made it special. Relaxing in the garden was somewhat spoiled by external traffic and gardening noises. Clearly this is not their fault! On the other hand the location makes lots of the attractions of Santa Barbara very walkable. Plenty of good restaurants nearby.
The staff are charming.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christa England H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 8, 2012

This is a beautifully restored and maintained house and nicely landscaped grounds. But most of all the hospitality was excellent. We arrived in the afternoon and were immediately offered refreshments. The happy hour hors d'oeuvres were substantial and excellent. Breakfast was sit-down and tablecloth worthy. A wonderful relaxing place the is worthy of the 5-star rating.

Room Tip: We booked the Katherine McCormick room. For some reason, it was less expensive than the other rooms...
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JBSK89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2012

This was our last stop of our tour down the coast of California before we went home. I was so looking forward to exploring Santa Barbara. We arrived on Friday late afternoon and settled into our lovely room. We booked the Robert and Julia Simpson room. The room was great, but the deck off the room was awesome! It has 2 lounge chairs right off the bedroom over looking the luscious gardens. At the corner is a round table with umbrella and chairs, then around the corner is a sofa!! We had champagne on the deck the first afternoon with a sigh. Saturday morning started with a chain saw across the street taking out a palm tree. Did not think it would take too long, though when we left around noon, it was still sawing! Breakfast on our deck was not so peaceful. Had a wonderful day walking around town. Came back in time to enjoy the happy hour treats, yum. Had dinner in town, came back to have wine on our deck and enjoy the evening. The music from the wedding reception across the street was so loud we could not relax....boom, boom, boom!! Felt like we could not enjoy the deck at all. If you are booking this place on a weekend, beware!! Breakfast was ok. They said they could accommodate me, as I am gluten intolerant. I had a very small plate of boring scrambled eggs each morning. Luckily I brought some of my own food. I would not have made it until lunch without supplements! The sheets are the best! Will be buying a set of these for home. Love the Kiehl's toiletries also. Wish could have stayed here during the week.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank StlWrldtraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

As independent inns go, this is hard to beat. It sits on a beautiful piece of property in the heart of historic Santa Barbara. Beautiful victorian main house with cottages and rooms around the property. Very nicely appointed rooms, beautiful linens, etc. From the welcoming glass of wine, to the scrumptious breakfasts, it really does feel like being a guest at a fine Santa Barbara residence. We have stayed at the 4 Seasons in Santa Barbara, and we really preferred the Simpson House. If you want to be on the water, spring for the 4 Seasons, but we found the Simpson House to be a better, and more unusual experience. Stafff great.

Room Tip: Worth paying up for the better rooms.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ppost69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 12, 2012

I happened upon this amazing place and I won't bore you with the details but I would return to Santa Barbara simply to stay at the Simpson House. This is an amazing place. The happy hour is filled a great treats AND top notch wines. The breakfast is delicious and the house an amazing historic structure.

Room Tip: I think the upstairs front room in the converted barn would be one of the most private rooms.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WyoBruin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 8, 2012

This was one of the best places we stayed as we travelled north on the pacific coast highway, easy to find, close to restaurants and shops but very very peaceful . There was always something to eat and drink through out the day, lovely hors d'oeuvres and wine early evening and late night tea and coffee . Very comfortable beds and pillows with plenty of amenities . Everyone was very helpful and made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. Wish we could have stayed longer.

Room Tip: We stayed in the main house with wrap around balcony. But would have equally loved to have stayed in...
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGW60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#5 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,067 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,247 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#7 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,032 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#17 of 52 in Santa Barbara
426 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#10 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,315 reviews
2.2 mi away
Santa Barbara Inn
Santa Barbara Inn
#12 of 52 in Santa Barbara
152 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $360 - $664 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Agoda, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing