We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent service”
Review of Simpson House Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Simpson House Inn
Ranked #1 of 52 Hotels in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 16, 2012

This is an oase of peace, excellent service, fine cuisine and helpfull staff!
Thank you Peggy and Christian for your kindness and help with our son.
THE hors d'oeuvre and afternoon tea was amazing...
The location is top, not far from State Street where you can find restos and shops.

Room Tip: We had à room with a balcony where we had breakfast...Fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katrin18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (572)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

399 - 405 of 572 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2012

The grounds of the property are spectacular. If you can't relax here, you can't relax anywhere. The service is superb and Robin and Brad could not have made us feel more welcome. Their recommendation for wine and food made they weekend. We will be back every year.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
1  Thank PaulandJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

This is an extraordinary place. Everything there exudes peace and tranquility.
Beautiful gardens and several water fountains throughout this romantic property. Walking distance to several restaurants and shops.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Helio60742
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 23, 2012

Wonderful location in Santa Barbara with upmarket decor, warm welcome with well considered treats. A good mix of privacy and social occasions with the cheese and wine buffet evening.

We stayed in an outside suite which had a fantastic home from home feel with small cosy dining area for breakfast as well as a cosy area for watching romantic black and white movies!

The room also had a jacuzzi which was a nice relaxing addition. Fantastic personalised suite. Good location to walk to restaurants in Santa Barbara, fantastic room service for breakfast. A wonderful European style American B&B in a fantastic setting. Would recommend.

Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
Thank LondonEyeSpy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

We spent 3 glorious days at the Simpson House in April and it blew us away. The property is lovely with spectacular gardens and public spaces. The cottages (we stayed in the Garden Room) offer tranquility and privacy and each includes its own private patio. Many small touches made our stay memorable, including the personalized welcome and daily messages from the management. Breakfast and cocktail hour were perfect and generous. Dining or having a glass of wine on the wrap around porch of the main house was an elegant treat. The location of the inn is astounding - right in the middle of town, but seemingly out in the country due to the placement of tall hedges, fountains and gardens. We could walk everywhere in town and enjoyed our stay immensely.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cge9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This was our second visit to the lovely Simpson House, and I have to admit that we liked it even better the second time around. The staff is more than accomodating, engaging in convivial conversation if you're so inclined, or giving your privacy if that's what you prefer.

Most of the staff hails from the hospitality industry, and their expertise shows. We were initially in the Margaret Simpson room in the main house, but the a/c was not working properly, so James, one of the innkeepers, immediately moved us to the Tack Room, which was nestled in the back of the property, with sprawling views of the lush greenery surrounding the inn.

Celena's charming grace in the dining room enhanced our experience at every meal we enjoyed, making us feel welcome and appreciated.

If you want to indulge in some of the finest amenities that Santa Barbara has to offer, you owe it to yourself to stay at this charming B&B.

We can't wait to return again.

Room Tip: The larger rooms in the back afford more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank grathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

So, this is what flawless looks like! The only five-diamond rated B&B in North America exceeded expectations. From the moment we turned into the driveway to the time we left, the Simpson House Inn, we had a feeling of peace and serenity. The tall hedges shield the world outside and when we wanted to turn it back on, we simply walked the two convenient blocks to State Street. The staff personified customer service and you're never without some sort of food, goodie or drink. The breakfast was outstanding and the constant variety of cookies, scones, lemonade and ice tea leave you never hungry. The afternoon "wine and cheese" could pass for dinner -- and one night it did. The Katherine McCormick Room was serviceable but knowing what was wiating downstairs and outside beckoned us to not spend too much time in the room. Our friends were in the Sun Porch Room which was a bit bigger but with the fabulous sun porch, one could be lulled into never leaving your room. Therre are not enough superlatives to describe the Simpson House Inn. We've already booked a return trip in four months. If you can afford it -- it's worth the price. If you're coming to Santa Barbara, I can't figure out how you can't afford to stay here...

Room Tip: The rooms in the Carriage House or one of the cottages are incredible. You can't go wrong regard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HospitalDude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Barbara hotels
0.7 mi away
Kimpton Canary Hotel
Kimpton Canary Hotel
#6 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,079 reviews
0.7 mi away
Spanish Garden Inn
Spanish Garden Inn
#3 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,253 reviews
0.7 mi away
Belmond El Encanto
Belmond El Encanto
#8 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,042 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
Hotel Milo Santa Barbara
#18 of 52 in Santa Barbara
451 reviews
1.6 mi away
Harbor View Inn
Harbor View Inn
#11 of 52 in Santa Barbara
1,331 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Upham Hotel & Country House
The Upham Hotel & Country House
#13 of 52 in Santa Barbara
657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Simpson House Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Simpson House Inn

Address: 121 E Arrellaga St, Santa Barbara, CA 93101-1903
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Santa Barbara
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Santa Barbara
Price Range: $357 - $583 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Simpson House Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Simpson House Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Simpson House Hotel Santa Barbara

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing