We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best Whale Watching” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Condor Express Whale Watching

Condor Express Whale Watching
Westlake Village, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Best Whale Watching”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

This whale watching was one of the best if not the best we have been on . The boat was the most comfortable cruise boat , with the nicest amenities from seating to lunch grill. They have a wonderful grill on board with great hamburgers, sandwiches, snacks etc.
The captain was informative, knew right where to look for all the wonderful sea life on the Southern California coast. Once we got to Santa Cruz island the information about the caves, history of the island etc just kept coming.
Then if the cruise wasn't enough we returned to beautiful Santa Barbara! Great food, beaches, attractions and lodging. Wonderful day trip from Los Angeles.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sandy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    25
    6
    5
    9
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Can I work here please?”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

Oh how I loved this trip. Been whale watching in San Diego but the whales weren't feeding then. This was so, so amazing that I wanted to go again and again - too expensive though .

We saw several humpbacks, minke , dolphins , sealions and loads of pelicans . The dolphins swam along with the boat and then the whales appeared right in front of the boat - the most amazing experience ! You must go!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Citrus Heights, California
Level Contributor
110 reviews
25 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Very good humpback sightings”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2013

October 21 we had very good sightings of humpback whale (about 15 total), a distant minke whale, sea lions, plus many common dolphins. A naturalist told about the whales and other wildlife we were likely to see. She said the humpbacks we saw were resident whales that hang around the Santa Barbara area. I was a little worried we wouldn’t see whales since our trip was in between the northern and southern migration times. The weather was great and the seas were about as calm as it gets. The dolphins were bow riding alongside the catamaran and it was fun to watch their antics. We saw a lot of action several times when groups of humpbacks at a distance were having a feeding frenzy and lunging up to get a mouthful of fish. Unfortunately we weren’t close enough to get a real good look, but it was great to see even at a distance. The naturalist said humpbacks aren’t usually found in large pods like some whales but they come together in small groups to hunt and feed cooperatively.

Our tour was 4 hours and was just right for our viewing pleasure. The Condor Express is clean and appears to be a new catamaran. I don’t think there was much problem with sea sickness because the sea was so calm. I always take some Dramamine, just to be safe. As someone else said, sea sickness “is a normal hazard of being out on the waves…not the fault of Condor Cruises; it is just the way it is when you're out on the waves.”

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Beary_Nice-Kins
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
93 reviews
17 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Provided a great experience and saw some amazing sites.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Weather and sightings can make or break a trip like this. We had great luck on both. The boat is well suited to whale watching and is equiped to make locating them easier. The captain is knowledgable about the wildlife and the channel and narates the trip. All crew were pleasant and helpful. All in all a great option for spending a day on the water.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank CDog007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A must do in Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 6, 2013

We read about Condor Express whale watching when we arrived in Santa Barbara so had not planned or booked before we arrived. Our hotel made the reservation for us and the day before we were near the boat when it was unloading from that day's trip and were pleased to hear from passengers that they had seen whales.

The Captain obviously is hugely experienced in knowing just where to head as we saw hundreds of dolphins on our way out to find the whales. We first saw a single humpback who was travelling along and we tagged along for 15-20 minutes or so catching some good views of spouts and flukes. We then sped out further and found a pair of humpbacks. These two seemed just as interested in us as we were in them! We stopped nearby and the two whales then spent about the next hour circling us and diving underneath the boat. It was just an incredible time and even when we began to move away they actually followed us. We moved on to a nearby island looking at the cliffs and he even managed to take the boat into a large crevice in the side of the island so close to the walls of the crevice that you could almost touch them.

So it was a really worthwhile trip to make, we would have loved to have also seen a blue whale but were delighted to have seen everything that we did.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Peedee1955
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Condor Express Whale Watching also viewed

 

Been to Condor Express Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing