We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“whale-watching was a success”

Condor Express Whale Watching
San Antonio, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
55 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“whale-watching was a success”
Reviewed January 1, 2013

We went out to the Channel Islands hoping to see gray whales in migration. We saw 9 eventually, mostly in pairs. The captain was v good at spotting them and timing their dive cycles, keeping in touch with other boats to decide whether another site might be more promising, etc. The boat is nice and big--only one seasick person. Just in case, take some bonine ahead of time and if it's winter be sure you bring gloves and a hat!

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank scdaub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    157
    27
    6
    5
    10
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bakersfield, California
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A surprise every time!”
Reviewed November 22, 2012

Twice I have used Condor Cruises and it has become a tradition to do so every Fall. The waters off of Santa Barbara are home to whales year round and the chances of seeing whales is very high. Not just whales but different species of dolphins, sea lions and much more.They always have knowledgable staff on board to answer any questions you may have and are quick to spot animals and explain what exactly you are seeing. My favorite is when the humpbacks come right up next to the boat. It's breathtaking and they are just a joy to watch. Do dress warmly as it tends to be cold especially when their boat is in motion. Condor Cruises do have a guarantee that you will see a whale or you get to reschedule another trip for free.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Julie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palm City, Florida
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Good experience with knowledgeable crew”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Took the tour on Aug. 26 and enjoyed it very much. Saw humpback whales, minsk whales and a lot of dolphins and sea lions. An added bonus was a visit inside the painted cave on Santa Cruz Island. Captain and crew communicate well to customers. Told us up front the whales were on the move that day and therefore we might not see any, giving folks a chance to back out and reschedule. We caught a break when a boat carrying an oil rig crew radioed the Condor that humpbacks had been seen. Whale sightings were impressive. So, too, were the amazing dolphins, including one pod that seemed to stretch for several hundred yards. Quality ship. Safe, clean, good sight lines. This was a good experience, just what we hoped.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Floridians772
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wurzburg, Germany
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Amazing Whale Watching experience”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

After witnessing several pods of Blue and Humpback whales with dozens of breaches, and cruising with thousands of dolphins (literally) on a picture perfect Santa Barbara day I could not have been more pleased with my time on the Condor Express. Of course, you need to go into these things with a modest amount of skepticism since, according to reviews, sometimes you won't see anything. But if your experience is like mine you will end up seeing much more than you even dreamed of. The marine life was just gorgeous and awe-inspiring. And a sweet touch, the crew takes you over to the coast of the Channel Islands as well providing an exceptionally beautiful experience.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesCorrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Saw a ton of whales!!”
Reviewed August 22, 2012

I was lucky to be invited on a whale watching trip on the Condor Express since my friend received "whale checks" the last time he went since he didn't see any whales. Luck paid off (that's for sure). When we left the harbor, we immediately saw bottleneck dolphins that swam right next to the boat. During the trip, we constantly saw sea lions and common dolphins. Eventually, we were able to see about 10 blue whales and 15 humpbacks. It was amazing considering a few of the humpbacks swam next to the boat and even skyhopped! The trip didn't end there surprisingly...the crew even took us to one of the Channel Islands and gave us a tour of the caves! It was an added bonus! I would definitely recommend the Condor Express for your next whale watching trip!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Condor Express Whale Watching? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing