We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tar Baby” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Arroyo Burro County Beach Park

Arroyo Burro County Beach Park
Ranked #16 of 173 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The locals call it Hendry's Beach, a place to meet for breakfast or a cocktail at sunset, stroll or jog the sandy shore, watch for whales, fish or ride the wild surf.
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tar Baby”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2014

gorgeous weather and views, enjoyed the zen garden appearance of small boulders as the tide went out but it took us half an hour to scrape the tar off of our feet and scrub the residue off with acetone.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank frankiedolls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    164
    69
    20
    6
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
walla walla
Level Contributor
52 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Perfect For Early Morning Walk And Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Arroyo Burro is a wonderful spot to start the morning. Bring your dog for off-leash fun on the beach and later enjoy breakfast (can't recall the name of the restaurant), but it is wonderful. Very Santa Barbara.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank havenwallawalla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murrieta, California
Level Contributor
495 reviews
300 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 141 helpful votes
“Dogs love it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Locals call this Hendry's Beach and sometimes you can see whales and dolphins off shore. There is a small free parking lot, but get there early as it fills up quickly. The restaurant is reasonably priced and has a great view of the water. Lots of people come here with their dogs and it's great fun to watch!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Alexandra T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
101 reviews
22 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful, excellent for dogs and kids.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2014 via mobile

Arroyo Burro (Hendries Beach)is very beautiful, huge awesome cliffs, wide beach, lots of happy dogs and kids...even has an (expensive) restaurant and self-serve dog wash for your convenience. Parking is limited, like everywhere in Santa Barbara, but its not as hard to park as some places. Early AM is foggy and cool, but go then or late afternoon for best parking opportunities. Santa Barbara gem!

Helpful?
1 Thank G612
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect for dog lovers”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2014 via mobile

After visiting the Stearns Wharf area, we stopped by Arroyo Burro to get away from all the tourists.

We love dogs, but our boxer and pit bull were staying with family back on the east coast. It was great to see all the dogs running free on the beach. I liked how the beach was separated into two sections, one side was leash on and the other leash off. This makes a lot of sense.

The beach was perfect for a relaxing stroll. Everybody was friendly and the dogs were all well behaved. I wish we had our dogs with us so they could join in the fun.

Helpful?
Thank Matthew R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Arroyo Burro County Beach Park also viewed

 

Been to Arroyo Burro County Beach Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing