We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place for kids”
Review of Santa Barbara Zoo

Santa Barbara Zoo
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This zoo with a view was once a posh estate owned by a coffee and tea merchant; now it's the lush domain of more than 500 animals representing 160 species. The pink stucco mansion that once presided over manicured lawns and gardens is gone—replaced by open-air habitats built for the less refined but still exacting tastes of giraffes, elephants, gibbons, snow leopards and gorillas. What hasn't changed is the surrounding scenery; the Pacific and Santa Ynez Mountains are just as spectacular as they were back when this was the setting for civilized galas instead of the wild antics of monkeys and meerkats.
Useful Information: Activities for young children, Activities for older children
Ventura, California
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great place for kids”
Reviewed May 25, 2013

This is a manageable size place to take young kids. We have taken our friends kids there, and they love it. If you have kids, I wouldn't miss this place when in town.

Helpful?
1 Thank Curtis M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,126 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    632
    383
    92
    15
    4
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“A wonderful family experience!”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

Went with my grand daughter to enjoy the animals. A very quaint, nicely maintained place for a day outing with family. Worth every penny spent!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank TravelinTogether2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
94 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great little zoo”
Reviewed May 15, 2013

Nicely appointed little zoo with a decent selection of animals, good way to spend a couple of hours in the sun.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank JKC1979
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small but very nice.”
Reviewed May 14, 2013

The zoo wasn't crowded, plenty of time to look around. The volunteers shared a lot about the animals.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank vacationaddictDenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ventura, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Not too bad”
Reviewed May 11, 2013

It's an ok place to go with the family. Didn't seem like they had many animals. No elephants or zebras, but the lions, giraffes, and gorillas were a fantastic sight. The little train ride was decent, just watch out for the broken sprinkler that squirts you in the face!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Adam F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richard B, CEO at Santa Barbara Zoo, responded to this review, May 13, 2013
Thank you for visiting the Zoo and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. We take our guests' comments seriously and use them to help us improve the Zoo experience. The Zoo cares for and exhibits over 600 animals, representing more than 160 different species. You are correct, we have no zebras, but our two Asian exlephants have been here since their arrival in 1972. Their exhibit was significantly renovated in 2004 and we continue to make improvements to enhance their care and experience. Because of the construction of our new education center, the Discovery Pavilion, guests are channeled up the main pathway to the exhibits on the south side of the Zoo. Some guests miss the exhibits on the north side because they follow the main pathway only. The pathways around the Discovery Pavilion will be open this summer, so I hope you'll come back and experience more of what the Santa Barbara Zoo has to offer. (Because of your note, I'm investigating the sprayer you encountered on your train ride!)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Zoo also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Zoo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing