We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very interesting and historic”

Old Mission Santa Barbara
Book In Advance
More Info
$94.99*
and up
Santa Barbara Electric Bike Tour
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Visitors can tour this historic Franciscan mission that features twin bell towers and lovely gardens.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
1,238 reviews
481 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 586 helpful votes
“Very interesting and historic”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2013

The history of the mission goes back to 1790's and while current buildings date all the way through to 20th century, there is plenty on display and information to show you the development of the area over more than 200 years. Parking is free and adult entry $5. Allow 1-1.5 hours to undertake the self guided tour which is very well marked. One of the early stops is a small theatre room where an 18 minute film plays continuously and provides a good and informative introduction. The museum rooms were originally used as living quarters for missionaries and their guests and has a good historical collection.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank Emanpee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,044 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    1,105
    719
    193
    23
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Texas
Level Contributor
34 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Street Art”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2013

We enjoyed the Mission for what it was. We snatched up some St. Francis of Assisi medals for our dogs (I have a therapy dog and we visit nursing homes and schools and hospitals) and we were impressed with the excellent chalk art on the pavement in front of the mission church. Perhaps not indicative of "Old Mission Art", but definitely fun with a California experience :)

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Picky47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
80 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Late afternoon visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2013

My wife and I just drove up to the Mission to take a look. It was all shut due to the time but it was so beautiful with the sun going down over the building. A lovely green area is opposite with people playing games and walking dogs. Very peaceful indeed.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank euphmag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Mission Santa Barbara”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

Very beautiful, well-preserved and had to be partially rebuilt after the 1925 earthquake, as did most of Santa Barbara. Admission is free unless you take the tour,

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank judichico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guelph, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The Mission to see”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2013

If you see one Mission in CA, the Mission Santa Barbara is the best choice. Beautiful grounds, well organized for visitors and lots of parking.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Spockis54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Old Mission Santa Barbara also viewed

 
 

Been to Old Mission Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing