We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Small museum with interesting collection”

Santa Barbara Museum of Art
Ranked #19 of 172 things to do in Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This museum, founded in 1941, houses a prestigious and varied collection of modern and ancient art plus a special gallery for children.
United States
Level Contributor
69 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Small museum with interesting collection”
Reviewed December 22, 2012

This art museum in downtown Santa Barbara is well worth a visit. The collection is diverse and interesting and special exhibitions are very well presented.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank HTvlr16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

332 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    171
    124
    32
    3
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ojai
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Splendid for small town.”
Reviewed December 10, 2012

saw a very nice impressionist exhibit with some very famous artists represented, surprised to find this in santa barbara; went back for another look a few weeks later. check to see current exhibits.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank weimdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehachapi, California
Level Contributor
37 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Free on Thursdays, 5 pm to 8 pm”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

A wide collection of art from different periods. I enjoyed my visit which, unfortunately was cut short. I will definitely visit again.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank kifu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara CA
Level Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Our finest atteaction”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

A wonderful place to visit--part of SB history---wonderful permanent collection---Asian Art upstairs---visiting exhibits---right up there with other big cities, Unique gift shop and excellent restaurant---a must see---!

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank mnull27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Small but has some real gems.”
Reviewed November 3, 2012

This is a great place to drop in to. Well set out. I particularly liked this time the Van Gogh to Munch exhibition; one of the highlights for me was the quality of the descriptions accompanying the paintings, more interesting and readable than many I see in galleries.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank IsisMG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Santa Barbara Museum of Art also viewed

 

Been to Santa Barbara Museum of Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing