We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Stagecoach Feeling From Years Ago~” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cold Spring Tavern

Cold Spring Tavern
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: A popular mountain for hiking outside of Santa Barbara.
Bedford, TX
Level Contributor
109 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Stagecoach Feeling From Years Ago~”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Stopping at C.S.T. is a must experience. First off when we arrived on a Monday there were about 10-12 retired CHIP officer's leaving on their motorcycles - that was great sight (we are bikers too and so wish we had the Harley on this trip).
When you enter the restaurant it feels like you're in an old time bar/restaurant from a western movie from years ago. If the walls could talk - what a story. The front bar area is cozy and has a working fireplace, there's also a room in the back with more tables. We had a fabulous Buffalo Burger ($12.50); wine & beer. I would definitely return again.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank KayJazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

371 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    225
    111
    24
    6
    5
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Marcos, California
Level Contributor
31 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Stop for lunch at rustic cabin in the woods”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2013

Really cool little spot. Rustic, woodsy ambience. Nice variety for lunch menu. Ordered the beef chili, quiche du jour, beef brisket sandwich, and children's hot dog. Service was fine. Everything tasted like it was made from scratch (except the hot dog which was still very good). Would like to try their Sunday BBQ.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank WineandDineDivine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Walnut Creek, California
Level Contributor
176 reviews
37 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Stop by on your way to Santa Barbara”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

Its worth stopping by on your way to or from Santa Barbara. Take the curvy road below the bridge and you will step back in time to a few old wooden buildings and a small creek. Inside, the rustic atmosphere and creative menu will make you glad you stopped by. I had a buffalo burger, which was cooked perfectly. My son had the venison sandwich and a bowl of spicy chili, which we both enjoyed.
If you want, you can eat outside on the picnic table or stay inside and talk with the friendly staff.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank khub79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
97 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“Fun, out of the ordinary”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

Fun place. Food nothing special in the actual tavern but lots of ambiance. Don't see old places like this very much in CA. We ate in the tavern but there are also picnic benches outside and live music on weekends. Looks like it would be a very fun place to go with a group after a bike ride or hike.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank dspolett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Level Contributor
274 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
“The American Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 16, 2013

Tucked away in the mountains but close, rustic as all get out, this place serves great classic American food. Hamburgers to die for, steaks, venison, great chili con carne and black bean game chili, roast beef sandwiches with all the juice, surprisingly good pastas, and a pretty wicked Cosmopolitan. Decent beer and wine list. Wonderful desserts, on and on. Gets pretty busy at lunch time. We have been three times now with Australian friends and there is unanimous agreement.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Leslie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cold Spring Tavern also viewed

 

Been to Cold Spring Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing