We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Use Grapeline.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Grapeline Wine Tours Santa Barbara

Grapeline Wine Tours Santa Barbara
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Get ready for a flexible, fun-filled day in the vineyards, sampling liquid treasures crafted by passionate local winemakers. Discover Santa Barbara's premier wine region aboard The Grapeline Wine Country Shuttle – a fleet of deluxe shuttles with friendly hosts and thoughtfully arranged itineraries. Daily public tours as well as private group outings.
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Use Grapeline.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2012

Tthe Grapeline's Vineyard Picnic Tour of the Santa Barbara Wine Country was a highlight of our visit to Santa Barbara in early December 2011, and since every aspect of our Santa Barbara vacation was wonderful, that's saying something. The service was professional from first contact on, the bus was spacious and comfortable, the wine was delicious, and the wine country was varied and beautiful. However, the best part of the tour was our guide/host, Tommy. Tommy went above and beyond to make sure that we saw and enjoyed the diversity of the lovely Santa Barbara wine country - from small town to agricultural countryside. He knows the whole area so well and willing shared that knowledge with us all along the way.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Ben F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    226
    9
    5
    2
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bedminster, New Jersey
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Scenic tour, not educational”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2012

It can be tough to choose a Santa Barbara area wine tour based on a company's website because they all sound so similar - 5-6 hour tour, 3-4 wineries, picnic lunch. We looked at 6-8 websites before choosing Grapeline based on the good reviews. Unfortunately, it was not what we were looking for. The tour was a much bigger group then expected (21 people) and not educational. The chosen vineyards were all interesting and scenic and the picnic lunch was good quality. However, the tour guide, while pleasant, provided no history or other information about the wine region or the individual wineries. We expected some educational commentary while driving to each vineyard, but the bus would have been dead quiet if not for the histrionics of the 20-something Valley Girl sitting in the back of the bus. Why we needed a driver and a tour guide, I have no idea. The driver could have done everything himself.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank CD430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Torrance, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2011

My husband and I took this tour as a part of a one night getaway and I was so glad we went with Grapeline! We both had an incredible time and plan on using Grapeline again with a bigger group. We were picked up at our hotel in Solvang and were at our first vineyard in less than 15 minutes! The van was full, a group of 20, but we never felt crowded. At each vineyard our group had a private tasting in either our own room or in a lovely outside area. We felt very taken care of all day and think this tour is well worth the money. Enjoy!

Helpful?
2 Thank SKate2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
36 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“WANT TO GO AGAIN NOW!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2011

Tom was great, this whole trip was great, these guys know what they are doing. Lunch was AWESOME.

(had to put that i went with friends - I actually went with all adult family - it was a fantastic family trip!)

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
2 Thank 6to82008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tom and Christy from Grapeline Tours were upbeat and engaging!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2011

Some friends and I spent our birthday weekend in Solvang and took the Grapeline tour. What I liked most was the engaging demeanor of both Tom and Christy. Also, they arrived to our hotel on time and kept on schedule. Lunch was in an inviting, open/garden setting with the grape vines as backdrop and both tour coordinators were helpful at all times. We met great poeple on the bus and by the 2nd winery were relaxed and conversational. I would highly recommend Grapeline tours to anyone visiting in the area! Will definitely use this service in the future.

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
3 Thank Nadine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Grapeline Wine Tours Santa Barbara also viewed

 
San Luis Obispo, San Luis Obispo County
 

Been to Grapeline Wine Tours Santa Barbara? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing