We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Flashback Lunch”
Review of Cowgirls Cafe

Cowgirls Cafe
Ranked #176 of 685 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Restaurant details
Orange County, CA
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
222 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
“Flashback Lunch”
Reviewed February 4, 2014

Food is typical greasy spoon fare. Atmosphere is flashback 1974. I had breakfast served all day - waffle, 2 eggs, 2 bacon - but when I got it there were three eggs - bonus? Hubby had a turkey sandwich that was too dry, got a side of mayo to spruce it up. Nothing remarkable, nothing horrible, just basic lunch/breakfast food. Service was fine - food served relatively fast especially since they were full at noon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank cybertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    8
    8
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mission Viejo
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Good place for an average lunch”
Reviewed January 14, 2014 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Went to Cowgirl's recently for lunch with a couple of co-workers. It's close convenient, but quality of food is average. Décor and surroundings are very outdated, which in itself might actually provide some charm, but given the average menu and food, it really warrants an average rating.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Home-style cooking at a great price!”
Reviewed November 29, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Been here a handful of times and always have:
- great service
- great food
I very rarely have to wait longer than a few minutes before I/the party is sat. I'll be going again and again.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Not a great place for lunch...”
Reviewed October 1, 2013

Based on the other reviews I would wager this place is perfectly adequate for breakfast, but avoid this place for lunch. I had the worst BLT I've ever tasted (wooden tomatoes, chicken like sawdust, tons of lettuce and very little bacon) and my husband had a very bland burrito. My daughter's grilled cheese looked like the best thing we ordered. The servers were all so nice that I felt bad not eating my yucky sandwich so I packed it up, then threw it away later. I'm usually a fan of greasy spoon diners--just not this one.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jenny H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great breakfast place!”
Reviewed September 8, 2013

This is my 3rd time here. Flavorful huevos rancheros, perfectly cooked hash browns, homemade salsa and friendly service.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank ktsjones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cowgirls Cafe also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Cowgirls Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing