We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No Thank you!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Irvine, CA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“No Thank you!”
Reviewed August 14, 2011

Stayed here for a week - (made reservations from elsewhere for the week, and was told after arrival NO REFUNDS). First room they showed me smelled bad- and I complained to the front desk, who (promptly) moved me to a better room down another hall. Bed was adequate but not really comfortable, shower temps were good though, lighting ok, noise outside window is next to either a noisy freeway or a gas station where people drive in late at night and lean on their horn just to be irritating to the motel guests.

PRO's - front desk was usually courteous. Though I noted not to everyone- there were two times they were arguing with other travellers about promised room rates that were higher then stated.). lights ok, shower hot, tv worked ok.

CONS: Hookers hanging around the front entrance and inside the spacious lobby and monopolizing the $10 for 10 minutes internet connection (that broke three times while I was there) it's slow also-. No Refrigerators or microwaves in the rooms , (every other motel in town has them), rooms were smelly and you actually have to ASK for a clean one, there was a really rude dude in a wheelchair who regularly blocked the front entrance doors and tried to pick arguments if you asked him to move out of the way. Other Cons: At the freeway entrance three times saw a guy with an empty gas can and a sign claiming he needed money for gas- and was "broke" and "homeless" - on my last night there saw the same guy coming out of a second floor room to the stairs- carrying the gas can with him- he got in a new BMW and drive off with two women! Homeless Con Man!

I would never recommend this Motel 6 to anyone even for 1 night. There is a very decent Comfort Inn on Hotel Terrace Drive and 3 other good motels just a block away or so on the other side of the freeway - which cost very little more and are definitely better!

Room Tip: Tell them you want a CLEAN room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RedTraveller44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    9
    9
    6
    21
See reviews for
7
6
8
16
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Palmdale, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 21, 2010

Make sure you check out by noon. Management and housekeeping will harrass you and really don't like late check-outs. No appreciation for regular guests.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JohnR2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hesperia, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 14, 2010

It is a large motel. It has comfortable beds. It is a clean motel. It has jacuzzi & pool which makes it more enjoyable. It's close to food and freeway. It takes pets. We stay there when ever we're on that side of town.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Bea4596
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 1, 2010

I work in AZ and when I have to go to those boring meetings in orange county, this is the place were you would see me. Although there is no breakfest in the morning, I can't complain for the good price. The staff was wonderfull. I felt like home. I have to give much props to javier who is one of the staff members there. He would do his darn best to make you happy and comfterable. They also have a pool and spa which is a plus. Especially for those tough days.

  • Stayed September 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank escalade1er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Menifee, Ca
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 14, 2010

Everything would've been okay except there was blood splatter on the wall!!!!!!!!!!!!! Did someone die in the room? When I told the front desk they didn't seem concerned. Not staying there again nor recommending to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MotelGuest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
california
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 8, 2010

Don't bring children here. Prostitutes haunt the place and the staff knows it. The place smells. The furniture is old, stained and the lobby chairs smelled of urine. It is a dive. THe help are arrogant and clearly look down on their clents which is funny becuase they are a graceless, crew. If you have any other alternative dot come. Board of Health should shut them down Heat is noisy and aturns off. Same with air conditionser. Carpets are so nasty you will want to wear your shoes at all ti mes. YOu mnight contracaat a disease God forbid

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MallardDuckSwan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
azcorals
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 9, 2009

I had sto stay here because I am looking for a property to rent and needed somewhere to stay in between. If you stay in a room towards the front of the hotel the street traffic is so loud & if a big truck goes by your room will shake. I stayed upstairs for the balcony & the planes that went over were deafening especially when I was trying to sleep. I would have to shut the balcony door & couldn't even enjoy it because I couldn't hear the tv or my phone calls. On the other hand the staff is pretty polite especially Blanca at the front desk and they accepted my cats no problem & the room did not smell like pets even though they allow them. I would only recommend this if you have pets since they are pet friendly. Oh yea be careful crossing the street to go to Del Taco, Carl's Jr, 7-Eleven....it can be dangerous!

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank azcorals
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0.3 mi away
Best Western Plus Orange County Airport North
0.2 mi away
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport
0.3 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Orange County John Wayne Airport
0.2 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport

Property: Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport
Address: 1717 E Dyer Rd, Santa Ana, CA 92705-5712 (Formerly Red Roof Inn)
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport 2*
Number of rooms: 150
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Motel-6, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Hotel.de so you can book your Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Motel 6 Santa Ana
Motel Six Santa Ana
Santa Ana Motel 6
Santa Ana Motel Six
Motel 6 Irvine - Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing