We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rooms just OK, but drivable to beach, - price is great”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
Ranked #10 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 28, 2009

We were looking for an emergency get out of town 2-night stay near beach Memorial Day weekend. Other hotels were too costly. This was very good at under $120/night for first night and $110 second night.

Hotel grounds are beautiful. Kids like breakfast, Koi and turtles in the water inside hotel.

Bathrooms tiny, and could use improvement. Not elegant.

Watching airplanes land on south side of hotel was fun for kids.

Free parking was great - thank you

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank anonymousLosAngeles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,169)
There are newer reviews for Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,121 - 1,127 of 1,169 reviews

Reviewed February 25, 2009

This is a very good Embassy Suites (I have stayed in several so far), very nice on the inside with a beautiful lobby and clean rooms. Staff is friendly, breakfast is first-class and happy hour offers more snacks than other Embassies I've stayed in. There is plenty of free parking. Location is good, just off Hwy 55, minutes from John Wayne Airport. Will stay here again for sure.

Stayed: February 2009, traveled on business
Thank les_paul_em
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 26, 2009

My family and I stayed at this Embassy after Christmas. The front desk was not friendly. We arrived at 6pm to check in and was not greeted with a hello or smile. The lady at the counter gave me the room key and we went to see our room. Oh my gosh! right when we opened the door to the room it had a very very nasty mildew smell. It was very unbearable!...This is room 615. I promptly went downstairs to ask for another room. Luckily they had another room available. This room was not as smelly but it still did have a mildew smell. It must be the carpets. The room itself was clean and bathroom is very small. The door to the bathroom opens inwards so that blocked off some space. My family had breakfast every morning which had a good variety. There were cereal, milk, juice, cofee, muffins, danishes, toast, sausage, bacon, eggs, pancake, cooked to order omlets....lots of variety. My family saved lots of breakfast money eating at the hotel. The problem is that no one ever bothered to ask for room key, therefore, anyone off the streets could've had free breakfast. There was a snack in the afternoon that consisted of drinks, chips, nachos and crackers. We left for disneyland all day and when we got back the front desk did not acknowledge us at all. One night two employees were arguing amongst themselves behind the front desk. We walked passed and neither looked up to greet us. I thought that was very unprofessional. There was ample free parking. The lobby and atrium was very nice. We paid $120 per night which is very reasonable. Will I stay there again? maybe.

  • Stayed: December 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank ashabee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2008

I spent the past week (Mon-Fri) in Santa Ana for business. I travel frequently and have stayed at a lot of Hilton Properties. I really don't see what people do not like about this hotel. The suites are so roomy, the free breakfast is wonderful, the happy hour with drinks and snacks is awesome, the staff are friendly and helpful and the atrium is beautiful!! If you want some negatives, my room was a little cold, the fan in the bathroom sounds like a jumbo jet and one of the outlets didn't work at first but....oh well, I got over it! The hotel was very apologetic about the troubles, sent me up a small room heater, fixed my electrical problems and gave me a free movie and popcorn for my inconvienence. I would definately here stay again!

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MicleleL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2008

I have stayed at several of the other motels along Hotel Terrace Drive and the Embassy Suites is clearly the top of the line. You are going to pay significantly more (roughly $50 a night) but if you have multiple people in your party then it is probably worth it. It seemed like there were several youth sports teams staying there when we went. They were probably putting 5 or 6 kids in a room - which you can do with two double/queen beds plus a pull out sofa sleeper. The room furnishings were in excellent condition - I must have been staying in a different room than the other reviewers who complained about theirs. The breakfast is MUCH better than at the nearby La Quinta or Comfort Suites. There was one major problem. On Saturday night they run a "Mystery Dinner Theater" in the restaurant. That seemed to be why the parking lot was jammed full of cars with nowhere to park. After 15 minutes of searching, and no street parking allowed nearby, I ended up having to park in the La Quinta lot next door and hope they didn't care or notice (they didn't). I took off one star from my rating for this. Other than that I'd highly recommend this hotel. If you are, like me, coming to visit your kids at college (several schools are close by) then the "suite-style" rooms make it easy for them to join you for a couple of nights.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank malandinara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2008

We are a frequent customer of Embassy Suites, and this property is not what we expected. Upon check into our non-smoking room, I noticed burn marks on the sofa and many places in the carpeted rooms. I promptly called the front desk to inform them, to which they seemed uninterested.

Avoid rooms that face the freeway due to the noise, especially avoid room 711, as the sliding glass door is defective and all freeway traffic noise comes in and kept me from having a peaceful night sleep. I wedged the door closed with towels and slept with earplugs.

Weight room was an fitness center was outstanding and very clean.

The above statements were sent to Embassy Suites Santa Ana by email, and to date I have heard no reply.

Property is dated and could use some updating, especially to remove damp odor.

Parking was adequate with the abundance of similar quality motels nearby, easy freeway access, close to South Coast Plaza and O.C. Airport.

  • Stayed: June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Vegas411
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 10, 2008

I am sorry to say this was the most disappointing Embassy Suite I have ever stayed at. When you first arrive you are deceived by the beautiful entrance way. Once you are checked in the nightmare begins. The rooms smell, feel damp and are in need of a lot of updating. We chose this hotel because of previous Embassy Suite experiences. This one does not measure up at all. It should not be called an Embassy suite. The breakfast was just ok. The food was average and the staff was rude and very unfriendly. I have never stayed at a hotel before that unplugs every type of machine at exactly the time breakfast stops serving food. My son wanted a glass of milk at about 2 minutes after they stopped serving breakfast and all the machines were turned off. I am sorry I did not take pictures to share. We also stayed here because we read that they recently updated the rooms. Wrong....the bathroom was redone but the carpet was old, stained and the furniture was worn out and cheap. The beds were ok...however, the sheets felt damp and the pillows were lumpy. I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. the worst part is how much we paid to stay there over $200.00 a night.

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mom2fourWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.9 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
0.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
0.1 mi away
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Irvine - Orange County Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport

Address: 1325 E Dyer Rd, Santa Ana, CA 92705-5615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $130 - $205 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among Santa Ana hotels, Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North features comfortable accommodations and a full range of thoughtful amenities. Located two-and-a-half miles from John Wayne/Orange County Airport, this all-suite hotel is located within easy reach of many Santa Ana, Costa Mesa, Irvine, and Tustin area businesses and corporations. Relax in a two-room suite with a separate living area and enjoy amenities such as two large, flat-screen TVs, a microwave and WiFi access. Host a corporate meeting or special event at this Santa Ana hotel, offering more than 8,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting space for up to 380 guests. Relax while expert event planners take care of the details and enjoy all the support you need for business in the 24-hour business center. Start each morning with a free cooked-to-order breakfast and savor complimentary drinks and snacks at the Evening Reception*. Indulge in classic American cuisine and sample delicious signature desserts at the Sweet Spot Sports Bar & Grille. Bathe in this Santa Ana, California hotel's soothing whirlpool or plunge into the heated indoor pool. Re-energize with an invigorating workout in the modern fitness center, get some work done in the fully equipped 24-hour business center, or explore nearby Santa Ana area attractions. *Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age. Parking: Self Parking is available to guest at $17.00 per night. Valet Parking is available to guests at $19.00 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Agoda, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North Hotel Santa Ana
Santa Ana Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing