We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersSilver level
White, Georgia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“SUICIDE”
Reviewed January 30, 2013

I am a Hilton Honors member and stay almost exclusively at these properties and although the tragic event involving a young lady committing suicide was in no way the fault of management the elavator system, air conditioning/heating system not working was a travesty. The room smell was horrible and the only way to make this somewhat better was to open the sliding glass doors and let the smog in. I also could not locate any carts upon check in and was there for a trade show with dozens of heavy boxes to unload. Two hours later I was in my room but with zero help from anyone at the front desk. Upon check out all five elevators were not working and it took me hours to get loaded as I was on the eight floor of this Hotel. Management had promised to supply me some help but after an hour of waiting no one arrived. They deducted 2 days from my room rate of which I stayed six nights. Had they knocked off the entire stay it would not have sufficed but would have shown genuine concern with what I and everyone who stayed was subjected to.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank keith o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHild2312, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
“Thank you for your loyalty to the Hilton Honors program, Embassy Suites and your patronage during the recent Trade Show at our hotel. As a frequent traveler, we certainly appreciate your understanding that the property staff was just as affected and shocked as the guests were when this tragic event occurred in the atrium of the hotel. Quick action by the management and on-duty late evening staff redirected guests away from the scene as soon as possible and assisted with luggage while police and authorities managed the situation, which was otherwise outside of our control at the time. Hotel management was in close contact with the local authorities in securing the scene and trying to mitigate guest exposure and inconvenience which is difficult with an open atrium design – while at the same time doing our utmost to respect the deceased and wishes of the investigators at the scene.”


Regarding your difficulties with access to the elevators, bell carts and bellmen during the heavy Trade Show checkout, we apologize for the wait you experienced. It is certainly our wish that even with 300 rooms of Trade Show attendees, all with numerous boxes and trade show displays exiting around the same time that we would have the staff and resources available to assist every guest in a timely manner.

We normally have 5 elevators that service the property’s needs but two of these were out of service as part of a modernization upgrade and are scheduled to be back in service, working better than ever, by mid February. As you may have noticed during your stay, the elevator upgrade is a part of the hotel’s multi-million dollar interior and exterior renovation which is taking place and will include new carpet in all of the guestrooms, corridors and meeting rooms as well as many other improvements like the already renovated lobby, restaurant, sports bar and parking lot. If you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our General Manager directly. Thank you”
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    270
    200
    164
    107
See reviews for
457
138
38
382
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Luis Obispo, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Nice hotel. I've always loved the indoor beauty of Embassy Suites. Cute turtles. Great breakfast for it being complimentary. The omelet making was brilliant and prompt. I would have gone to the gym and the pool but I did not have time. Oh the restaurant was good too. I had the pulled pork sandwich.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TheBreeze805
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

I have stayed at many Embassy Suites in the past and was extremely dissapointed in my stay this past weekend. Although the hotel is beautiful and the rooms are nice as far as layout, this experience was far from normal. There was a dead body in the atrium area from someone who fell/jumped, people were checking in with small children and were not warned. I am so glad I didn't have my children with me! It was traumatizing! I understand terrible things happen, but the fact that the hotel did not offer any type of compensation for those who witnessed this tragic event is beyond me. To top it off the great breakfast was set up right where the body was all night. I could not fathom eating at all. The rooms and elevators smelled like urine and mold, the ac did not work (is controlled seasonally by the hotel). An overall terrible getaway!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nicole L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHild2312, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Nicole, Please accept our sincere apologies for your recent experience at our property. We are sorry to hear you were not comfortable in your room and in light of the tragedy in our atrium we understand your discomfort. We were all taken aback by this incident and assure you we did our best to handle the situation in conjunction with the appropriate authorities. If we may be of any additional assistance, or if you would like to discuss your stay further, please do not hesitate to contact our General Manager directly. Thank you
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed January 26, 2013

Close proximity to John Wayne Airport (SNA) and the great breakfast and evening Manager's reception make this hotel a decent choice. With a layout similar to other Embassy Suites (floors of rooms surrounding a central courtyard with plants and a flowing koi pond stream), the familiar is a good thing. I have stayed here many times both on business and with my family and while I like the hotel, it is REALLY "long in the tooth" and desperately needs an upgrade. The elevators are extremely slow (they were being upgraded in December 2012 however) and the carpets and furnishings are beginning to show wear. The spa motor was broken and out of service for a week and kids without adult supervision were running amuck in the pool area and running around on the floors during our stay. Staff is friendly though and the hotel remains a solid value for dollar...but Hilton really needs to invest in the hotel to maintain brand quality.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hodad57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
White Lake, Michigan
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed January 25, 2013

My husband just got back from a week staying there. He was there for a business conference and did not have a choice in the hotel. When he got home, I immediately was disgusted by the smell. Everything he took with him smelled so bad, like it was moldy. His coat, the luggage, his backpack, clothes......everything needs to be taken to the laundry or dry cleaners! Think twice about staying here. One bright spot was the morning breakfast station and the man making the omelets!!

Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank SUgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Hills, Utah
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We loved staying here. We loved the wonderful breakfast every morning and the room was great. The only bad thing was that they had a water problem in our room and the carpet was moist from water damage so it kind of smelled musty. If the room didn't have water damage, it would have been perfect. The elevators seemed to break down quite a bit but we didn't mind taking the stairs to get down a little faster. For the most part, it was great and the location was good also. We also used the exercise facilities and enjoyed that feature also.

Room Tip: Just get a room that doesn't have water damage.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Krissie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 19, 2013 via mobile

This room is NOT becoming of an Embassy Suites hotel. I would love to see the Hilton family spend a night here.
Our bathroom door has a severe case of either wood rot or mold! The room smells funny (thanks to the mold??) and you cannot control the temperature in your room. The elevators are being repaired, but I wonder if the rooms will be given the same treatment.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amber R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PHild2312, Director of Sales at Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport, responded to this review, January 29, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay at our hotel. We sincerely appreciate your feedback and we’re very sorry you were unhappy with your stay here. As you noticed we are currently undergoing a modernization of our elevators and will begin to renovate our rooms shortly this will include carpeting throughout the hotel as well as an update to our guest rooms bedding and furniture. The condition of our suites is very important to us as we aim to provide guests with the best accommodations and service. The issue with the smell of your room has been addressed and we are very sorry this led to uncomfortable stay at our hotel. We hope you will consider staying with us in the future.
Sincerely, Pamela Hild, STAES_DS@hilton.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.9 mi away
No photo provided
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
1.8 mi away
No photo provided
1.1 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport

Property: Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
Address: 1325 E Dyer Rd, Santa Ana, CA 92705-5615
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 300
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A gem among Santa Ana hotels, Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North features comfortable accommodations and a full range of thoughtful amenities. Located two-and-a-half miles from John Wayne/Orange County Airport, this all-suite hotel is located within easy reach of many Santa Ana, Costa Mesa, Irvine, and Tustin area businesses and corporations. Relax in a two-room suite with a separate living area and enjoy amenities such as two large, flat-screen TVs, a microwave and WiFi access. Host a corporate meeting or special event at this Santa Ana hotel, offering more than 8,000 sq. ft. of versatile meeting space for up to 380 guests. Relax while expert event planners take care of the details and enjoy all the support you need for business in the 24-hour business center. Start each morning with a free cooked-to-order breakfast and savor complimentary drinks and snacks at the Evening Reception*. Indulge in classic American cuisine and sample delicious signature desserts at the Sweet Spot Sports Bar & Grille. Bathe in this Santa Ana, California hotel's soothing whirlpool or plunge into the heated indoor pool. Re-energize with an invigorating workout in the modern fitness center, get some work done in the fully equipped 24-hour business center, or explore nearby Santa Ana area attractions. *Service of alcohol subject to state and local laws. Must be of legal drinking age. Parking: Self Parking is available to guest at $17.00 per night. Valet Parking is available to guests at $19.00 per night. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Embassy Suites Santa Ana - Orange County Airport North Hotel Santa Ana
Santa Ana Embassy Suites
Embassy Suites By Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing