We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not really that good”

George's Thai Bistro
Ranked #30 of 690 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Price range: $15 - $20
Cuisines: Thai
Restaurant details
anywhere
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
171 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 138 helpful votes
“Not really that good”
Reviewed October 5, 2011

had dinner here 2 times. The thom ka kai soup is pretty ok, Main dish was not really mindblowing nor typical thai, ,nor as spicy as advertised. More like a nasi dish with some basil. Would rate the food more like a fusion of all kind of asian thing. They serve also jambalaya, not very thai if you ask me. Price is ok but ambience and food not that thai as I was expecting.

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank PELOWELOMAN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

28 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    10
    5
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Woodstock GA
Level 6 Contributor
136 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great Thai food, ordered "5 out of 10" heat and it hit the mark.”
Reviewed September 12, 2011

We were browsing the Delta Sky Dining site to see what was in the area and decided to try this place we've not been to in the past. It is now an official part of our lunchtime rotation.

  • Visited September 2011
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank vtailbonanza
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntington Beach, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Our favorite for Thai food”
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We have been eating at George's since he opened 12 or so years ago, and at that time we lived nearby. We now live in Huntington Beach but still go back several times each month, even though there are many Thai restaurants closer. George, who is usually there, makes trips to Thailand to buy seasonings and the meals are excellent, and reasonably priced. Don't go without trying the homemade mango ice cream with sticky rice for desert. When asked how spicy you want your dish, the rate on a scale of 1-10... don't go above 6 unless you like VERY spicy.

  • Visited February 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryHB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Napa, California
Level 6 Contributor
268 reviews
128 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 333 helpful votes
“Visiting from out of town...good food!”
Reviewed July 5, 2010

The good...the food! Everything we ordered was tasty and prepared to our liking! We had appetizer and two entrees. We would return!

The bad...they are a bit disorganized. You see wait-staff literally running from table to table. Looks a bit understaffed. We did wait 45 minutes for our diner to arrive. We were visiting from out of town, so had no agenda. If we were in a hurry, I imagine I'd be upset.
They also took over what was once some kind of Denny's or old I-Hop or something....popcorn ceilings and all! No Thai (or even Asian) ambiance to speak of!

The staff are all very gracious and friendly. We would certainly return! Just plan on the extra time.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LQGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
“Not sure why this is under French, but it is VERY good Thai! We like alot:)”
Reviewed January 12, 2008

Not sure why this is under French, but it is VERY good Thai! We like alot:)

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor reviewer on Facebook
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual contributor and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George's Thai Bistro also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to George's Thai Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing