We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel in transition”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed March 28, 2013 via mobile

It is tough to review this hotel. It is in the process of a remodel and so it might be a completely different property in a couple of months.

The lobby area has been remodeled to the new Courtyard standard. So it is nice and modern. The rooms however are being torn apart. My room was fine. Standard Courtyard.

One complaint is that the room's main lights are motion sensored. So they will turn off after a while. I'm all for going green but they are not very sensitive so I had them turning off even when I was in the room.

The pool area looked nice. It is outside and has a nice feel to it. The workout area was pretty poor but I was told it was going to be expanded.

Overall not a bad place, but be prepared for construction. Should be looking good when it is done.

  • Stayed: March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xy223yz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this reviewResponded April 25, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review! I'm very excited to say that we are now completely finished with our room renovation you noticed was going on during your stay.

Your feedback on the lights shutting off while you were in the room is very helpful to ensure everything is in perfectly working condition.

I am so glad you were able to enjoy our pool area and hopefully we can have you back very soon to enjoy our finished product which will soon include the spa area being turned in to a large workout room as you mentioned.

Thank you!
Mikaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (151)
There are newer reviews for Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 115 of 151 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2013

The updated lobby and bar area are very nice.

The rooms still need updating but will look very nice when they are done. As someone else said, the towels were fairly worn looking and rough but they soak up water and that is their job afterall.

We slept fairly well but beware, this seems to be a popular place for families going to Disneyland and there was quite a bit of noise starting around 6:30am. We had the pleasure (note sarcasm) of listening to a husband and wife have a discussion outside our door and frankly it sounded like they were standing in our room, weird accoustics I guess. We could also hear showers turning on and off from other rooms and the folks above walking around their room was quite loud. I think next time I will ask for a room on the second floor.

We were really looking forward to using the jacuzzi only to find it was out of service (empty of water actually....).

We bought food from the on-site restaurant (2 salads, an appetizer and 2 beers $42). I suggest if you want a beer or two you stop by a liquor store and get a whole six pack rather then pay the cost of a six-pack for one beer at the hotel.

The front desk staff was very nice and helpful though.

Room Tip: Obvious stuff, get a courtyard view if you can, parking lots and cars are no fun to look at. :D
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveling-kimber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this reviewResponded March 12, 2013

Dear Guest,

I very much appreciate you taking a moment to review. I am so happy to hear you enjoyed our public areas and that the staff was able to make you feel welcome during your stay.

I am sorry to hear that there was excess noise in the guest room. Feedback such as yours allows us to make improvements necessary for a flawless stay. I assure you this will be something we look in to. I also want to apologize for the inconvenience of not being able to use the spa during your stay. We have plans for repurposing that space and would love to have you back to enjoy that renewed area and our refreshed guest rooms next time you are in town.

Thank you,
Mikaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Booked this through Priceline and I have used them about 10 times in past and have always been happy with the hotel. Well not this time, traveled with just my daughter & I and did not feel safe at all. They make the check in area look fresh and up to date, but once you leave that area boy does it change. The pictures on there website are not true to the room either. Beds are very low to the ground and not comfortable, towels felt rough to touch , like they were well used. I booked and paid for 3 nights at this place & checked out after 12 hrs......

Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
Thank walkingnsunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review. I am so sorry to hear that you were unhappy with your recent stay. We are in the process of a room renovation right now that will provide us with brand new beds and a completely refreshed style that compliments our lobby and Bistro. If you are back in the area I would love to be able to show you our improved rooms and hopefully have you stay again.

Sincerely,
Mikaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

1. Room was very comfortable, but nothing special. Everything worked and the hotel was very quiet. We enjoyed our stay and did stay for 4 nights during mid-October. Shower, TV, small desk and even a small patio overlooking the pool were very nice.

2. Whirlpool did not work for 4 days. A sign was posted first two days and we had to tell management it was not working. Whirlpool is indoors and was hot, but could not be turned on. This was very disappointing since I am recovering from severe strained leg muscles.

3. Never saw anyone use the outdoor pool. We tried, but it was ice cold and not heated. The ocean is only 5 miles away and was warmer than the hotel pool which was unswimmable.

4. Maid service was dodgy. We were still in the room until 8:30 AM one morning and the maid came to the door. We stated we were leaving in 2 minutes. When we returned back to the room around 5PM, the room had never been cleaned and we needed to change and head out. The maid was just getting to the room. What happened here. We had to change in the public restroom downstairs.

5. Courtyard is the only Marriott chain we have seen that only has lobby coffee and morning's until 9AM and not all day and night. All other times, you have to either make your own in your room (Yuck!) or purchase it from the restaurant. Not a good policy compared to other Marriott chains. Courtyard never had complimentary food, but now has a bistro type restaurant that really doesn't cut it with us. I like to eat, and the new Courtyard has done away with the buffet and gone to breakfast sandwiches and very light fare which also doesn't cut it with us.

6. The area is very nice with IKEA 1 mile away, and tons of restaurants, a Whole Foods, movies, Orange County Irvine convention center and tons of shopping and don't forget Newport Beach which is just a few minutes down the road and worthy of a visit anytime of the year with its niche restaurants and beautiful ocean views.

7. We asked for a microwave and never received one even though the desk told us they could send one to our room. Also, was asked for extra towels, since the small excercise room rarely had towels, we never received them.

Overall average and didn't meet my needs. I would select another hotel in the area, but the management appeared somewhat attentive but did not deliver for many circumstaces.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony, provides extra room to the somewhat smaller rooms.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank emsiess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for your feedback and taking time to write a review. I'm happy to hear that you were pleased with the guest room and location. I want to personally apologize for your stay not being up to the high standard we strive to provide. We appreciate you giving us information that can help us keep our property constantly evolving and improving. If you do plan to make a return trip to the area we would love to have you back so that we may create an experience that will be all around enjoyable.

Sincerely,
Mikaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel served it's purpose just fine for our stay. We loved the pool chaise lounge chairs with cushions. Hard to come by these days.

Rooms didn't have the most recent package, but they are very clean and well kept.

Thanks for a great stay!

Room Tip: Request pool-side.
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christy Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for taking time to write a review! That is wonderful to hear that you were able to utilize our pool area in November and it helped make your stay enjoyable. If there is ever anything I can do to help create the perfect stay please let me know. We'd love to have you back!

Sincerely,
Mikaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Love this hotel service -so far most friendly staff ever
When we checked in (later than mid night) person in front dest was very welcome us and trying to get better location for us -not near elevator but closed to enterance since we have kids in late time
We request roll away bed (we always request when we make regervation ) and this is first hotel that bed show up before us(always ignore our request)
Every staff we met was friendly even people in cafe
Had wonderful new lobby but room was pretty dated -after lobby,welcome to 1980s
Had comfortable stay just wish room was up date bit
Closed to Disneyland -about 6 local mile not in best neighbor, freeway was in distance (any freeway) industrial area
We will maybe stay here again if price is right

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lovehawaiigirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking a moment to review our hotel! It's fantastic to hear that you found our staff accommodating and friendly. It's very important to us that each guest feels welcome and appreciated. If you come back to visit the area or Disneyland again we would be so happy to have you stay in one of our newly renovated rooms :)

Sincerely,
Mikaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2012

Arrived at SNA airport (the one with the three names: Orange County, John Wayne, Santa Ana) and found this one to be an economical Marriott family choice. The hotel offers no complimentary airport transportation, however Supershuttle ($18+tip, book online with coupon UYR59 to get 15$+tip) got me there after I supplied the exact street address. (Neither their drivers nor their website seems to know this location). The hotel is in a quiet neighborhood, reception was friendly and efficient, in typical Courtyard fashion, breakfast is available for purchase in the restaurant area next to the lobby. Room was spacious, clean, very nice work desk (like the extendable second table), OK work chair (those really should be upgraded to netted kind at some point). Room had sliding doors with screen that could be opened to let fresh air in. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Triple AAA rate was the best available
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank usuallyhappytravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
snasa, Property Coordinator at Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2013

Dear Guest,

We appreciate your review and are so happy to hear that the hotel fit your travel needs. Your feedback on SuperShuttle not having our hotel information was very helpful. We have reached out to them and been added to their website. We are currently in the process of a room renovation that will provide us brand new desk chairs, and we would be thrilled to have you back this year to enjoy the new space.

Sincerely,
Mikaela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
3.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
1.9 mi away
Ayres Hotel Fountain Valley/Huntington Beach
2.0 mi away
Courtyard Huntington Beach Fountain Valley
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Costa Mesa Marriott
Costa Mesa Marriott
#8 of 23 in Costa Mesa
389 reviews
2.5 mi away
Crowne Plaza Costa Mesa Orange County
4.3 mi away
Best Western Surf City
Best Western Surf City
#6 of 21 in Huntington Beach
576 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro

Address: 3002 South Harbor Boulevard, Santa Ana, CA 92704-6431
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #12 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: $142 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro 3*
Number of rooms: 133
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Pack your glasses to enjoy sunny California for your upcoming stay in Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro. Our hotel, located in a premier area in Santa Ana, boasts ample accommodations with plush bedding, flexible work stations and complimentary Wi-Fi to stay on task. Start your day with a hearty breakfast from our restaurant, The Bistro, serving traditional and lighter options, then join us later for dinner and cocktails in a casual atmosphere. Soak up the sun in our outdoor pool surrounded by palms trees and perfect weather, or opt for a quick workout in our modern fitness center. Explore and visit popular attractions including Disneyland®, The Observatory, Pacific Amphitheater, and Knott's Berry Farm. Whether your visit to California is business related or family oriented, you can utilize our flexible event spaces for indoor meetings and social gatherings, or host an outdoor celebration on our charming patio. The opportunities are endless when you stay in our Santa Ana hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Reservation Counter, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro Hotel Santa Ana
Courtyard Santa Ana
Santa Ana Courtyard
Santa Ana Marriott
Courtyard Costa Mesa South Coast Metro Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing