We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed January 19, 2013

Booked this hotel on Hotwire for a two night stay while in Disneyland. Its in Santa Ana in an area filled with hotels. About a 10 minute drive to the park (which I knew about and chose). The hotel is nice to look at although nothing special. $11.00 bucks a day to park.

The room was clean. The beds were ok, although not as plush as other Doubletrees offer. I got what I paid for from the hotel amenities, so that is not the reason for the low stars. The place was clean.

My complaint comes from the staff. I did not find them helpful. I didn't even find them nice. In fact, they went out of their way to make me and my family feel uncomfortable. From check-in until check-out there were no smiles, no greetings and sighs whenever any of us asked as question. I found the Valet's very rude and they ignore me completely on one occasion. They never even offered to park the car for us when the lot was full, although apparently they are supposed to. Housekeeping was very rude as well and would run you over in the halffways if you were not careful.

I have stayed on many Hilton Properties as I am a member of Hilton Honors. I have stayed at several Doubletrees. This is the worst service I have ever seen at a DoubleTree. or any Hilton property. They simply wanted nothing to do with us.

Also, a big sign on the desk reads that they will charge a $50 per day fee upon check in that will be reimbursed sometime after checkout unless something is charged. This was not disclosed prior on either the Hotwire confirmation page on on the Hilton Website. I know a lot of hotels do this now and I really hate giving people money that they will decide to give back to you later, (maybe). Given how we were treated here, I do not trust that they will be honest about giving the money back.

Room Tip: Pretty close to the freeway, ask for a room far from it.
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bgpappa25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (886)
There are newer reviews for DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

756 - 762 of 886 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2013

The hotel
1. did not provide the wake up call requested.
2. The gym does not open until 6 AM. Since they missed my wake up call that was not an issue
3. The gym equipment was not working properly and there was no sound on the TV attached to the elyptical
4. I was only provided one bath towel

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DiamondJohn13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 13, 2013

I spent one night here in January. It is very close to the airport. After calling the hotel they were very prompt in coming to the airport. Check in was quick and efficient. The staff was very friendly and professional. The hotel is small, which is nice. The room was very comforable, pleasent and clean. Lighting was good. The beds were comfortable and bathrooms modern. Transport back to the airport was not on a schedule but on request, which is very nice. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TonyBur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

Who knew this hotel was out here, tucked in a little office park right in front of a nice lake/pond. Quiet and convenient. Shuttle bus will take you to the mall or to a close by restaurant. Room was clean and comfortable. Lobby was nice, and the cookie was great. We only stayed one night, but would stay again. Good price and convenient. No complaints.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank congoroom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

This hotel is located about 10 minutes from John Wayne Airport in a secluded park like setting with a lake and trees but a short walk to Starbucks and other sites. It is a quick hop on the 405 or 55 to any area in So Cal. Rooms are very nice with big windows and comfortable beds. Roughly equivalent to a 4 Points or Courtyard, not much in terms of amenities but quiet location and nice rooms make it a good base for work or play in OC.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank M2hra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 3, 2013

Upon check-in, you will receive a warm chocolate chip cookie:) The staff at the front desk were very helpful! They took care of my check-in immediately and I was inside my room shortly afterwards. Unfortunately, the parking lot has a fee and it was full requiring myself and others to use the valet service, which made the cost higher.

The room had a nice double bed with a LG 42 inch television. The bathroom facilities was well kept with an adequate amount of towels and bars of soap.

The breakfast buffet was nice the following morning. It had scrambled eggs, bacon, sausage, french toast, potatoes, fresh fruit and bagels/toast. It was a nice meal to start the morning.

There is a nice pond next to the hotel allowing guests to enjoy the scenery and work off the food eaten earlier in the morning.

Room Tip: Ask for the higher floors as you will have a nice view of Orange County. Also, the higher up allows...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank n w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Doubletree Club Costa Mesa for one night in December 2012. This was not our first experience with Doubletree hotels but it was our first stay in a Doubletree Club property. The hotel is located in the business district, in Costa Mesa, so the area is secluded and quite yet close to the South Coast Plazza and restaurants. The Hotel is six stories and overlooks a man made lake (ask for room with lakeview). The overall apperance of the hotel was very clean and well maintained, although most Doubletree's are older properties. The staff was friendly and helpful, everyone from the parking valet to the maids. We asked for a lakeview room with a king bed. The room was on the sixth floor and came with a fridge and coffee in the room. The rooms had been recently remodeled, the bathrooms with tile and granite, and new carpets and décor. there was even a couch with pull out bed, and a desk with chair. The bed was comfortable with several pillows which were very soft. the only things that could be considered negative were the older A/C and heating system which was a little noisy, and the chair at the desk which was a cheap office type that wasn’t adjustable and would recline 45 degrees and not stay upright while seated. Overall I would give The Doubletree Club a A rating for comfort and cleanliness. Also those cookies were delicious, from now own I will look for the Doubletree Club brand.

Room Tip: ask for lakeview room
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ogwhitt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Santa Ana Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
1.5 mi away
Hilton Orange County / Costa Mesa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport

Address: 7 Hutton Centre Dr, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $115 - $222 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Orange County Airport is a beautiful lakeside property located on the border of Santa Ana, Irvine, and Costa Mesa. This Santa Ana hotel is conveniently located near Orange County's corporate business centers, including First American, IBM and Sears. Enjoy proximity to nearby CA attractions including Newport Beach, Angel Stadium, South Coast Plaza and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Doubletree Orange County Airport
DoubleTree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing