We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel....at a good price.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
Ranked #5 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersBronze level
Costa Mesa, California
Level 6 Contributor
274 reviews
94 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 254 helpful votes
“Nice Hotel....at a good price.”
Reviewed June 16, 2011

I have used hotwire.com several times to book a room at this hotel. At $49/night it is a steal if you just want a place to sleep.

The rooms are nice and clean and check-in is fast and efficient. The last time I stayed there I messed up and arrived a day earlier than my hotwire reservation called for. The manager was nice enough to switch my reservation around although the reservation issue was clearly my own fault.

The hotel is located in a large office park, which empties out at night. The place is almost deserted on weekends, which serves me just fine.

I have not eaten at the hotel restaurant, but....the menu looks somewhat "basic". There are not too many, if any, other eating establishments within easy walking distance. However, Orange County's biggest shopping mall....with numerous places to eat is within easy driving distance.

Parking used to be free at this hotel, which suited me fine as I usually stay on weekends. Self parking is now $11/night, which I don't like...!!!

The parking lot has not gotten any bigger. In my estimation, the tripadvisor complaints about parking has just resulted in an overnight stay getting $11.00 more expensive.

If parking was still free, I would rate this Doubletree a "five". Because of the parking charges I'll only give it a "four".

PS: There is another Doubletree nearby. It is rated a little higher, and costs $10/15 a night more on hotwire.com. However, it charges even more for parking....!!!

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ebrynnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

877 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    352
    261
    156
    68
    40
See reviews for
213
129
67
386
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Marana, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2011

I found this hotel on Priceline when I was looking for a pre-cruise hotel stay not too far from Long Beach. It is a Hilton property and I was very pleased with the room and would stay here again. They heard everyone's complaints about the parking so they contracted out with valet parking for those that get there late. We didn't have a problem getting a parking spot but when we woke up the next day, we saw cars parked in every nook & cranny possible. Self-park is $11/day and valet park is $13/day. It used to be free but since they got complaints they subcontracted it out. You pay an extra couple bucks to the valet if you get there late.

Our room was clean, large, flat screen tv, had a view of the pond/lake out front and close to the freeway. At $45/day plus $11 parking on priceline bid, I certainly can't complain. The motel 6 was $70 so I was very pleased. Plus it came with a full hot breakfast buffet for the two of us with eggs, bacon, pancakes etc.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank slajmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2011

We would not stay here again, the hotel is nice but the issue with parking is enough to say do not stay again. Once the parking lot is full ( valet parking pretty much is the only way you get to park here) you have to use an over-flow parking parkade several blocks away, dark and out of the way.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColleenMaitland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level 6 Contributor
484 reviews
196 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
Reviewed November 30, 2010

I needed a property near Orange County Airport that had a shuttle and wouldn't wear the numbers off my credit card. In the baggage claim area I noticed they have kiosks which directly connect you to local hotels for shuttle service, well sort of, only three hotels were listed and the Doubletree was not one of them. Once I dug the number out and called the hotel they picked me out in about 15 minutes. Front desk staff was very nice and pointed out the restaurant/lounge area, explained how the types and hours of meal service. Room was what I expected, clean and updated. My room faced the 55, but the road noise was not noticable. The staff at the restaurant were attentive and it seemed to me that many of the guest were regulars and there was always lively conversation in the lounge. Internet worked fine, they have a nice business center also. The one downside to this property is the parking. The lot is small for a hotel and the surrounding office towers make parking a premium BUT the fact that you don't have the option to self park, and the valet rate they charge will be high, would influence my decision to stay here if I had a rental car. The valet's even gave my coworker a hard time when he came to pick me up in the morning. I would hope a great property would not stake its reputation on their parking shortcomings.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jonathan F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fullerton, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 19, 2010

I am a filmmaker who travels with specialized and expensive electronics equipment. I had to attend an event at this hotel and was not afforded an opportunity to self-park my car and retain the keys to my vehicle. The valet manager insisted that I would have to let the valet park the car, or park a block away in a retail area and walk to the hotel in the dark on a nearly deserted walkway around a man made lake.

I could not explain to the valet that I had this equipment because I am concerned with the security of my gear. But, I feel others who travel with expensive merchandise or equipment would also be opposed to giving their keys to a valet.

I have attended a monthly meeting at this hotel for a very long time. This is a very new policy. I hope the management re-thinks this policy and gives guests an opportunity to self-park when they object to giving up their keys.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BookishGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco Bay area, CA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2010

We enjoyed the 3 night stay at the Doubletree Club Orange County Airport. The front desk people were very friendly and helpful. The housekeeping was good. We did have an issue with the sofabed not having clean bedding, but when we called the problem was quickly rectified with a housekeeper quickly making up the sofabed with all new bedding. We liked the location and we were able to take advantage of the "Make my weekend" special that included a nice breakfast buffet. The room AC/fan is a little noisy but we didn't need to use it much. Note: Our parking was free, but they will be charging $11/night self parking starting Nov. 1. Unfortunately It seems like all the hotels are doing this now. The current free parking did influence our decision to stay here though. Lastly the pretty lake in front of the hotel is really nice and there is even a duck food dispenser with which you can feed all the different kinds of ducks there. We actually really had fun doing this.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bwh29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton and Hove, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed August 17, 2010

Large quiet room with fridge - very clean and modern. Great varied Neutrogena products in bathroom. Woolfgangpuck coffee and herbal teas. Great position near South Coast Plaza and John Wayne Airport. Starbucks etc 2 mins away. Free wii fii in lobby. Very welcoming staff on check in. Nice pool + jacuzzi. Easy free parking on site - Very enjoyable comfortable problem free stay.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank taylorc27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Courtyard Santa Ana Orange County
1.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
1.2 mi away
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport

Property: DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
Address: 7 Hutton Centre Dr, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5794
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
#4 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 167
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Hotel Orange County Airport is a beautiful lakeside property located on the border of Santa Ana, Irvine, and Costa Mesa. This Santa Ana hotel is conveniently located near Orange County's corporate business centers, including First American, IBM and Sears. Enjoy proximity to nearby CA attractions including Newport Beach, Angel Stadium, South Coast Plaza and Disneyland. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hilton Hotels Direct, Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Doubletree Orange County Airport
DoubleTree Club By Hilton Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing