We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Vacay...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
Ranked #9 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Reviewed September 5, 2012

Not really sure if this is a family hotel even though families stay here. Seemed more couples there during our stay whom where annoyed by children especially around the pool. A couple times parents including myself had to correct others that if you came to the pool to sunbath your better going to the beach because our kids are in the pool to swim and play so if you get wet live with it. I think they may have been part of a tour, and times there where tense confrontations with some parents and couples. Not very enjoyable for the kids. The pool is small BEWARE if all the kids are in it they are packed and can't move. This happened 2 nights we where there. Pool towels are also sparse. Sometimes they have them and sometimes they don't.
Originally there for 5 nights but car trouble added a day. Not happy with the rate for the additional day much higher for a wednesday.
The front desk staff rocked. They all where very helpful and even gave us a map of places to eat in the district.
The rooms are standard, we stayed in suite facing the pool. Furnishings were old and some stained. Fridge barely worked and haven't seen a microwave that old in years. The beds were comfy but doubles the sofa bed was standard. Enough space for my family.
Breakfast is as crowded as they say but it is no different than going someplace ordering then waiting for your meal its just that you have to stand in line and wait. But it is good but just remember to tell them how much of everything you want or you only get one.
Parking can be a nightmare. If you do come back late you will have to be directed to a different hotel to park because I guess free parking means you can take 2 spots or park across 5 an management won't tell you to move.
House keeping cleaned well but was annoyed had 6 people and 4 towels always asked for 2 more but never did get any had to go to front desk every day to get 2 more and seemed like front desk and house keeping don't communicate. By the end of our stay the front desk had the towels ready for us when we walked through the lobby.
Maintenance around the building is sparse also. Every morning even after 11 the garbage cans where full from all the breakfast garbage and never emptied made the place look trashy and birds and other creatures come looking for scraps. There was a broken beer bottle that myself and others reported to the front desk that sat for 2days could always smell the stale beer walking past the stairs. The repairs also going on where displacing.
Overall it is a quiet hotel. After the pool closes people gather around the tables and have adult beverages. I never heard them once. I would bring my family back.

  • Stayed: August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heckya
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2012

Thank you for commenting about your stay with us during your visit into Orange County. I do apologize for any inconveniences that occurred during your stay. We are always trying to find ways to improve our hotel to make our guest feel comfortable. Once again, thank you for commenting about your stay and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (325)
There are newer reviews for Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

173 - 179 of 325 reviews

Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed here for a week four years ago and loved it so did not hesitate to stay again. This time it was just for one night on a road trip and the pool was a big incentive in the hot summer weather. We loved it just as much as before for all the same reasons. Large rooms, clean and well equipped with coffee maker, fridge and microwave. The same lady is still in charge of the excellent cooked to order breakfast and the pool and hot tub clean and inviting. Free wi-fi and use of a computer and printer was appreciated too and the staff were friendly and professional. It was great to see their standards have been maintained. Hopefully we'll get to stay there again some time.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank midgejam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 19, 2012

We would like to thank you for taking time out of your day to comment about your stay at the Quality Suites John Way Airport. We are delighted that you enjoyed your past stay and happy to see you came back to our property, again. We always strive for to provide the most consistent and best service possible. Once again, thank you for taking time out of your day to comment about your stay and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

What should be a nice hotel is not run very well. If you have read any of the other critical reviews on this site, believe them. I made the mistake in not believing, and everything I read came true. My biggest concern was the lack of security and VERY questionable people hanging around the lobby and pool area. We had teenage children with us and they do not need to be encountering these type people, especially when they are not staying at this hotel.

The service at this hotel was sub-par to say the least, both at time of check-in and when notified of non-guests hanging around the grounds.

The cook to order breakfast is a great idea, but when it takes in excess of twenty minutes to get through the line, becasue there is not ample help, it ceases to offer a value.

Pass on this hotel and stay at the Embassy Suites next door, or find another hotel all together.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank terandboys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We were very surprised at the quality of this motel. We got a two room suite for a reasonable price. Other local motels such as the Hampton Inn across the street were quoting 30-50% higher rates. We didn't want to spend that much money and so choose the Quality Suites. It was packed with travelers. It was quiet and the two room suite was spacious. It had two TVs which we didn't use. Breakfast required a coupon. On our cross-country trip, so far only the motels in California have required a breakfast coupon. Internet service was quite good. In some motels, the internet is slow or hangs up, but here, I had no trouble. The inn has a nice courtyard and swimming pool.

Breakfast featured two short order cooks making hash browns, omlettes, eggs , egg beaters, along with standard donuts, juice, and cereal. If we are in the area again, we would certainly stay here.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimOldTimer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for taking time to stay with us at the Quality Suites John Wayne Airport during your cross country trip. We are delighted to see that you enjoyed your stay and that all or our amenities met your needs. Once again, thank you for staying with and we hope to see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We are senior citizens who are always looking for a great deal, a good bargain and exceptional service and amenities. Quality Suites in Santa Ana did all of that and then some. Great room, very clean, well appointed suite with TV in bedroom, and a TV in sitting area as well. Frig., coffee maker, microwave. Exceptionally made to order breakfast: eggs, bacon, pancakes, with all the trimmings. Fresh coffee available 24/7 in lobby. Grounds were well manicured and very clean. Staff friendly and professional. All this for $75.night. Nearby hotels want $110 to $125.
That will be our place to stay when coming into John Wayne Airport 4-5 miles away.

Room Tip: Ask for 3rd floor room in back. Very quiet. Be sure to use AAA or AARP
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Groucho44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded September 4, 2012

Thank you for writing a comment about your stay at the Quality Suites John Wayne Airport. We are pleased to see that our accommodations and staff met all your needs during your stay. Once again, thank you for taking time to comment about you stay and we hope to see you in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2012

The location was convenient and freeway close which was positive. The hotel is undergoing some renovations which accounted for the roped off areas and the caution signs. But that being said, it should have been more important than ever to have the exterior lighting on after dark. We checked in around 8:30 pm and not only was the front hotel sign not lit up, but there was no exterior lighting in the hallways or along the perimeter of the hotel. Another guest had to use a falshlight on his phone to guide me to the elevator. The room was fine and I could see the appeal for a family or larger group traveling together since the extra room provided space to move around. But the bed was not as comfortable as most that I find in hotels today.
The hotel offers a free cooked to order breakfast in the morning. Unfortunately the line was out the door and around the corner due to the number of large families and groups staying at the hotel. They were running out of food and we had to wait for them to replinish the cereal and fruit and waited in lines for 25 minutes to get through the line. Pus the fruit juices were watered down. The cooked to order meal is a nice concept, but lacking in execution on a busy weekend morning.
Overall it's a decent place for an overnight visit, but based on other hotels, I feel that the rating is too high for a glorified motel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GlobetrekGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2012 via mobile

I've been staying here with my family for 12 years. This is a family vacation tradition. The cook to order breakfast is awesome. You can have pancakes, omeletts, bacon, sausage, cereal and more. It's a great place, great location, and great value.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AZMesaFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
managerSantaAna, General Manager at Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2012

Thank you for taking time to write a review of your stay at the Quality Suites John Wayne Airport. We are happy to see that your family enjoyed breakfast and the other amenities that we offer. Also, thank you for choosing our hotel for your family vacation. Once again, thank you for writing a review of your stay and we hope to see you in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Orange County Airport North
1.1 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Orange County John Wayne Airport
0.1 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
0.0 mi away
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport

Address: 2701 Hotel Ter, Santa Ana, CA 92705-5603 (Formerly Quality Suites John Wayne Airport)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Green Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range: $111 - $179 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport 3*
Number of rooms: 176
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The CW Suites hotel is an atrium-style, 177 all-suite hotel. Hotel offers a courtesy shuttle to John Wayne Orange County Airport, free wireless Internet access and on-site fitness center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn and Suites - John Wayne Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Suites John Wayne Airport Hotel Santa Ana
Quality Inn Santa Ana
Quality Hotel Santa Ana
Country Inn And Suites - John Wayne Airport Santa Ana, Orange County, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing