We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like this Museum restaurant”
Review of Tangata Restaurant

Tangata Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
Tangata Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #12 of 687 Restaurants in Santa Ana
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Main and 20th
Description: Tangata Restaurant serves a Pacific Rim lunch menu at the Bowers Museum in Santa Ana, and also offers wedding and event catering.
Carlsbad, California
Level 6 Contributor
160 reviews
74 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Like this Museum restaurant”
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Museum restaurants are usually quite good and Tangata does not disappoint. We have eaten here with friends and family and the food has been consistently good. However, I wish they would vary the menu more often.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Trekduet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

83 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    32
    8
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Eaton, Ohio
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Great place!”
Reviewed October 9, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

I have lived New York City and Washington, D.C. where I enjoyed their museums. The cafes and restaurants in the museums are usually good but Tangata is the one venue standing out among them. Bowser’s Museum is definitely one of the hidden gems in Southern California, and so is Tangata. Great atmosphere, good services, and wonderful food in decent prices. My teenage sons declared Tangata has the best burger ever. I have tried several different dishes and never disappointed. As Bowser’s often offers the spectacular special exhibits, Tangata’s seasonal dishes are fresh and sensitive. Enjoying great arts and food in a gorgeous California afternoon… what can be better than that?

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank ShiroWani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Irvine, California
Level 5 Contributor
82 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great place to dine and visit.”
Reviewed September 20, 2013

This place is a real treat. The food is great. The service is great and ambiance is great. We ate on the patio and it was one of the most pleasant experiences we've had in a long time. I would highly recomend a visit.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank JamesF920
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paso Robles, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“When Hunger Beckons”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

The Tangata is definitely a place to go to when visiting the Bowers Museum. The ambiance, food, drinks and staff are top notch. It certainly qualifies as a 'special' place to go with a friend. The menu is enticing, the food presentation delights the eye and the stomach rumbles in anticipation of the morsels coming its way. After walking around the exhibits it is a dream to sit down and know that this restaurant delivers its own special exhibit. a bit pricey but oh so worth it! Bon apetite!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank diane c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tangata -- great lunch!”
Reviewed July 22, 2013

First time visit to Tangata, great food and atmosphere. I would recommend it to Bowers Museum visitors.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hcfman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tangata Restaurant also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 
Santa Ana, Orange County
Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Tangata Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing