We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs a Detailed Cleaning”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 15 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Ranked #3 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
DC
Level Contributor
95 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Needs a Detailed Cleaning”
Reviewed June 20, 2014

This hotel is in a nice location, offering easy accessibility to I-405 and great shopping and dining at South Coast Plaza in Costa Mesa and Fashion Island in Newport Beach. At a glance, this hotel seemed nicely kept. However, when it came to the cleanliness of my room, many spots were overlooked. All of the light switches had a dark, grimy buildup in the crevices. The thermostat was full of dust as well as the return grille. The refrigerator had not been cleaned. Additionally, there was not a properly fitted mattress pad on the bed. It seemed that a queen size pad was used on a king size bed. This made for a lumpy, uncomfortable feeling when lying on either side of the bed. The bathroom was not properly ventilated. There was an exhaust fan, but it did not work well. The bathroom would get so steamy during a shower, the bathroom door had to be left open. However, this made the room itself unpleasantly humid. Due to all of these factors, I found it difficult to truly relax and enjoy my stay here. However, all of the staff I encountered were very friendly and professional. I think the service deserves extra credit (that's why I didn't give a two-star rating). Also, as a gesture of hospitality, we were given a warm cookie upon arrival. I would not recommend eating it, though, as it is made with many unnecessary additives (e.g., propylene glycol).

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GoldenMonarch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Golden Monarch,

Thank you very much for your honest review of your recent stay with us. I have shared your comments with our housekeeping and engineering team in order to ensure proper and detailed cleaning of the guestrooms and functioning bathroom fans. We strive to ensure a positive and memorable stay and hope we can have you back again to prove this to be the truth. I do appreciate the kind words regarding the service of the staff and will be sure to pass this on to the team.

Thanks again for your review.

Regards,

Rob Koscelnik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,046 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    507
    298
    133
    65
    43
See reviews for
233
161
82
489
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (88)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
san diego, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 20, 2014

employees in the restaurant, front desk and the manager are rude. manager even argued about the issue of complementary breakfast and i want to stay somewhere elses since he's doesnt care and rude, he even suggested me to stay else which really pisses me off. total RUDE.. will never stay here again. AND I THINK BEING A GOLD MEMBER IS NOTHING FOR THEM.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
5 Thank Kanill E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Kanill,

We’re sorry we didn’t provide you the high quality of service that you deserve. This is not typical of our hotel and staff, and we have addressed the issues you mentioned. We try to make each guest experience a great one at our hotel (especially Hilton HHonors Members) and your satisfaction is important to us. Thank you again for your feedback and we value your business. We would love having you as a guest and hope you’ll give us another opportunity soon to make your stay the best it can be.

Kind Regards,
Rob Koscelnik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Ana, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 8, 2014

Very clean, and it was a nice romantic getaway, I asked them to decorate my room with rose pedals and birthday signs and they did an amazing job! there is nothing bad i can really say about this hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
1 Thank Susana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, July 2, 2014
Susana,

Thank you very much for your kind review of your recent stay with us!! I am so glad to hear that the staff took care of your requests and created a wonderful memory for you!! I will be sure to pass this on to the team.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon!!

Regards,

Rob Koscelnik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
orando, United States
2 reviews
Reviewed June 7, 2014

this airport hotel does not offer any morning coffee in the lobby and the dining room does not open until 6 am no coffee for early morning flights. fitness room is the size of shoe box with limited fitness equipment rooms are nice and comfortable.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Joseph S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, July 1, 2014
Joseph,

Thank you very much for your review of your recent stay. I truly value your feedback and appreciate your business. We are always willing to be flexible and meet the needs of our guests, as such you can now receive coffee in the early morning prior to your flight. I do hope we can welcome you back again soon.

Kind Regards,

Rob Koscelnik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cosa Mesa, CA
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2014 via mobile

Pros
+good room w amenities
+staff super nice, even the concierge and parking staff
+courtesy shuttle
+love the cookie-:)

Cons
-parking fees
-Internet fees

Summary
The additional fees would deter me from booking a room, unless the rates are low! Unless I can figure out a way to use the shuttle better, the parking fees are a rip-off.

Stayed April 2014, traveled solo
Helpful?
2 Thank Xenoglosophilic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, June 6, 2014
Xenoglosophilic,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I appreciate your kind review of some of the amenities and more importantly our biggest asset...our staff!! I will be sure to pass the sentiment along to them. I am sorry that the extra fees would deter you from staying with us again in the future. We do offer many different packages online that include Internet and parking and you can find them at our hotel website. You can also sign up with Hilton HHonors and enjoy the many benefits of being an HHonors member, such as Internet, parking and breakfast.

I do hope we can have you as our guest again in the future!!

Regards,

Rob Koscelnik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fontana, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

Very nice accommodations. Everyone very friendly. The women cleaning the rooms were great and very accommodating. Went for a wedding where we all stayed. They were able to put us all together except for the last minute guest.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Lisa,

Thank you very much for taking the time to review our property on Tripadvisor! I am happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay and the event was a success!! I will be sure to pass along your comments regarding our staff.

Thanks again and we look forward to having you as our guest again soon.

Regards,

Rob Koscelnik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, United States
1 review
Reviewed June 2, 2014

The rooms are super nice and the staff is friendly. If you're lucky, you'll get a room on the side with a good view! Valet is available for $19 or you can park your vehicle in the deck downstairs for free. The Meritage Restaurant has a great little bar scene, especially if you are traveling on business. Food there is good too.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Helpful?
Thank Margaret D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rob K, General Manager at DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Margaret,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am happy to hear that you have enjoyed your time with us!! I will be sure to pass along your comments to the team here. Keep your eye open in the restaurant and bar as we are upgrading our menu selections in the coming months.

We hope to have you as our guest again soon!!

Regards,

Rob Koscelnik
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Santa Ana
0.2 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
1.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Santa Ana/Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Santa Ana Orange County Airport
2.6 mi away
Ayres Hotel & Suites in Costa Mesa - Newport Beach
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Santa Ana Orange County
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport
Address: 201 E Macarthur Blvd, Santa Ana, CA 92707-5776
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Santa Ana
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport 3.5*
Number of rooms: 253
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This Santa Ana hotel is six miles from Newport, Laguna, and Huntington beaches and offers complimentary shuttle between the hotel and John Wayne Airport. South Coast Plaza is only 2 miles away. Take advantage of the cosmopolitan pedestrian area surrounding the hotel. Dine in the plaza's elegant restaurants, and enjoy the valet parking and Concierge service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelsforEveryone, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, HotelsClick and Hotel.de so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree Hotel Santa Ana
Doubletree Santa Ana
Santa Ana Doubletree
DoubleTree By Hilton Hotel Santa Ana - Orange County Airport CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing