We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surprisingly Tolerable - but really at 2.5 not 3”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I was frustrated by a blind booking engine that placed me here as I do not think that this property is a 3.0 star EVER.

That being said -- I consider a star system on the basis of Luxuries and not cleanliness -- but it seems in modern parlance - it is meant to reflect good vs. bad or clean vs. dirty.

All said - this property was surprisingly tolerable. The bed was small but acceptable. The open area of the room nice and a large refrigerator. It was clearly a refinished room - I cannot speak for other rooms.

Prior reviews had my caution flags up for this property. Persons has references poor staffing, safety concerns, limited parking, etc. For my experience, the Staff were extremely polite at check-in and sufficiently polite at check-out.

The 1st floor room was not in a position near the pool that some might desire - but for us it constituted more noise and more limited privacy

Parking is tight at night which ads to stress -however the front desk re-assured me that it was not fully booked and that it would not likely be an issue --- Did I change my plans for my hotel? Yes I did. I came back earlier to avoid a potential parking issue.

In any case - I think its an acceptable 2.5 --- but that it should never be classified as a 3.0

Also - skip the free breakfast. Its free for a reason and a stretch to call it breakfast.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank B P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (586)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

404 - 410 of 586 reviews

A La Quinta traveler
Orange, California, USA
1
Reviewed September 7, 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A La Quinta traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
A TripAdvisor Member
Santa Ana, California, USA
1
Reviewed August 24, 2013

I'm delighted to be writing this review. I appreciated the intelligent design of the room and the courteous service. The placement of the refrigerator, sink, and microwave oven is exactly what I would want for a stay away from home. The hotel is located walking distance from a good restraunt and I found the spa relaxing at the end of day. I look forward to my next stay.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 23, 2013

Being a guest at this La Quinta Inn is a 3-D experience--it was Dirty, Depressing, and Disgusting. This is NOT a 3-star hotel; the rooms it offers are much more suitable to a cheap motel. Our room reeked of cigarette smoke. The carpeting was so dirty that my husband and I waited to take off our shoes until we were at the side of the bed. The "suite" they provide is merely a small foam sofa (with ripped upholstery and cigarette holes) and a chair--the single bed is on the other side of a small wall--not a separate room. There are no amenities provided except a bar of soap. We paid $100.+ for this room--we should have slept in our car instead. Save yourself the trouble of staying here. This La Quinta hotel is too dirty for families /children, and too depressing for any business person looking for an oasis to relax after a long day at work.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goldink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

One night was simply awful, but we had trusted this to be a 3-star for 6 nights and it was horrible! The hotel -- the rooms, the grounds and walkways, the parking lot-- ALL was simply Filfthy! Filfthy! Filfthy!... and much of it was in disrepair! The walkway around the pool hadn't been swept in 6 days!

If this weren't enough, the dogs were everywhere. One man alone had FIVE DOGS that he walked morning, noon, and night. And, the smoking was terrible, too... especially terrible for a non-smoking hotel! ! ! Not in the rooms, apparently, but on the walkways, sitting on the chairs, you'd always find smokers...so many, that it was impossble to open one's windows.

Stay away from this one!

Room Tip: The lower floors were the kennels, but the scent of the dogs were everywhere.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

The staff was very friendly and offered information on places to visit locally to eat, etc. The location was good as well..super close to the 55.
The room, on the other hand, was only so- so. It looked pretty clean; but smelled bad of stale cigarette smoke. I did like that it had a working microwave and small fridge.
I am on the fence as whether I would consider staying there again.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sue0212
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Trendy updated rooms. Spacious and incredibly clean. Join their rewards program for speedy pre-check in and earn points quickiy. Central location as a base of my business in OC. Easy freeway access. Lots of parking, free. I prefer rooms on ground floor, often park directly in front of your room.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with La Quinta
Thank DashDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Santa Ana hotels
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Santa Ana-Orange County Airport
0 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, John Wayne Airport, CA
0.1 mi away
Clarion Inn & Suites Orange County John Wayne Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Orange County Airport North
0.6 mi away
Candlewood Suites Orange County/Airport
1.2 mi away
DoubleTree Club by Hilton Orange County Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport

Address: 2721 Hotel Ter, Santa Ana, CA 92705-5603
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > Orange County > Santa Ana
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 23 Hotels in Santa Ana
Price Range: $101 - $177 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport 2.5*
Number of rooms: 183
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, LaQuinta, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
La Quinta Inn Santa Ana Hotel Santa Ana
La Quinta Santa Ana
Santa Ana La Quinta
La Quinta Inn & Suites Orange County Airport Santa Ana, CA

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing