We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unexpected”

Bowers Museum of Cultural Art
Book In Advance
More Info
$13.00*
and up
Bowers Museum Admission
Ranked #2 of 21 things to do in Santa Ana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Exhibits specialize in the art of the world's indigenous peoples.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Competent venue for unusual art exhibitions, which travel and somehow find their way to Santa Ana. They also offer performances, workshops and lectures. A precious addition to the lively local art(ist) scene in Santa Ana.

Date of experience: November 2012
Thank RGerman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (363)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
All reviews
"permanent collection"
in 21 reviews
"orange county"
in 36 reviews
"gift shop"
in 26 reviews
"pacific islands"
in 13 reviews
"special exhibit"
in 18 reviews
"california history"
in 10 reviews
"world class exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"excellent exhibits"
in 7 reviews
"early california"
in 7 reviews
"nice restaurant"
in 6 reviews
"empress dowager cixi"
in 6 reviews
"on display"
in 19 reviews
"the frank lloyd wright"
in 4 reviews
"different cultures"
in 5 reviews
"visiting exhibits"
in 5 reviews
"each month"
in 5 reviews
"docent tour"
in 5 reviews
Filter

271 - 275 of 364 reviews

Reviewed May 16, 2013

There is a different theme every month or so. You can select the one that appeals to you. Small but well thought out displays.

Thank Arnold V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

Well don't expect a docent, piece notation or recorded tour to help you through this miraculous cultural experience. The museum has everything from early California to Ancient Chinese to the Gems of Medici but it sure does not seem to have nice helpful docents or tours (live or self guided). Don't bother looking confused or asking for help as neither worked too well. There were a few educational signs with movie times and some nice Chinese materials but some docent tours would really help the novice, even if they were recorded and self-guided. Too bad great eclectic collection but no sense of shared cultural experience to be found. Definitely go if you can go it alone as you likely may have to at least on a Tuesday.

Date of experience: May 2013
Thank beagle47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This was our third visit to the Bowers. We live almost 70 miles away so we don't visit as often as we would like. The bowers is not a large museum and about half is devoted to local history, in the other half they manage to have a string of wonderful, top quality traveling exhibits and if we lived half as far away we would get a membership and see every one.

Today we came for the Lucy's Legacy, The Hidden Treasure of Ethiopia, which was about to close. Next week will be Gems of the Medici and later in the year, The Tsar's Cabinet. Also art from Maurice Sendak.

Other exhibits we saw today was Spirits and Headhunters: Arts of the Pacific Islands, Ancient Arts of China, and one (as a former professional model maker) I enjoyed was scrimshaw, carvings on bone.

We definitely hope to visit again.

Date of experience: April 2013
Thank Kenneth L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
See more reviews
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

We went last year to see the special exhibit of the Chinese statues and it was really impressive. The displays and treatment of material were all top rate and the exhibit was very well done, dramatic and enjoyable.

Date of experience: January 2013
Thank campfamily50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bowers Museum of Cultural Art also viewed

Santa Ana, Orange County
 

Been to Bowers Museum of Cultural Art? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing