We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chilly Cheese Fries!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chuck Wagon

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chuck Wagon
Ranked #5 of 42 Restaurants in Sanger
Cuisines: Fast Food
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Seating
Manhattan Beach, CA
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Chilly Cheese Fries!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

Hands down, this place is a must visit. Chilly Cheese Fries are a trademark (I add shredded lettuce). It's kind of a "to go" place, so great place to pick up and take home.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank USC95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

15 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    6
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Squaw Valley, California
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“This place sucks”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2012

Chuckwagon is the most overrated fast food joint in the Fresno area. Frozen patties and fries along with canned chili makes for a horrible meal. Add to this the fact they are very rude to their customers- unless you are Hispanic- and I avoid this place at all costs. I have given them several opportunities over the years but they still themselves bigots. Even my Hispanic in-laws have observed their bias. Go grab a McDonald's instead.

Visited February 2012
Helpful?
4 Thank 4B3ARS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clovis
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Best chile dog available in the central valley and maybe in California,”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2012

I had kept hearing about the great chile dogs in Sanger so I decided to check it out. I didn't know the name of the place or exactly where in Sanger it was. I only had to ask once to find out and despite the outside appearance, the Chuck Wagon chile dog didn't disappoint me. Just something about a messy onion ladened chile dog that appeals to me. No cheese please! The Chuck Wagon chile dog was even featured on Huell Howser's California Gold visit to Sanger and broadcast on the local PBS station.

If you're looking for a 5 star dining experience pass it up but if you just want a gool ole chile dog, chile burger, chile fries ,chile Frito boat or a bowl of chile and you're close...this is the spot.

  • Visited April 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank hattles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Good, Fast, and Fun.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2010

The experience of Chuck Wagon is fun. You order outside and eat outside. Great for a nice spring day with the family. The chile dogs and chile cheese fries are great. Oh, and the milkshakes are awesome. And the prices can't be beat.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank thebabaganoush
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awsome!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2009

Sanger's best chilli comes from Chuck Wagon. Everytime you go to Chuck Wagon you see happy people coming to the small little place to get a bite. A small building thats painted a faded dark red color rests on one of Sangers corners. Chuck Wagon actually looks like a wagon. So don't expect a nice dining room with a waiter serving you. Chuck Wagon is more of a drive up and park next to the place, go up and order. Wait calmly at the sidewalk as you hear the humming of the large fan that rests above the counter. Then hearing your number called type of place. Chuck Wagon is pretty worn down, and the benches in the back are pretty rubbish. But really if you look at it, it sort of gives it an attitude. Yes prices are a bit high, but its worth it. So don't be surprised to find people from out of town driving to Sanger just to get chili dog.

    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lightning777Wolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Chuck Wagon also viewed

 

Been to Chuck Wagon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing