We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“I love this place. (Moscow mules are the best here)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of School House Restaurant and Tavern

School House Restaurant and Tavern
Ranked #1 of 43 Restaurants in Sanger
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $10 - $30
Cuisines: American, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: In a country school house established in 1921, just north of Reedley and east of Sanger, School House Restaurant & Tavern offers vast array of experiences unlike any other. Watch the game in our country roadside tavern, dinner in our historical dining room a view of the kitchen, or the outdoor fire lounge patio looking out to our gardens at the base of the Sequoia and Kings Canyon National Parks. The food represents a modern approach to classic dishes we all crave, with a focus on farm fresh, local ingredients. Our service staff is knowledgeable and attentive, yet relaxed and friendly. School House offers an extraordinary dining experience that's not just about food and drink, it's about creating lasting memories.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“I love this place. (Moscow mules are the best here)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013 via mobile

There are a few places that make an exceptional Moscow mule, and this is the place to have it. I love coming here for brunch with my friends, or for drinks. The customer service is excellent here, they always accomadate the menu to my vegetarian palate. This is a great place to come whether you're with family or friends. I just wished they had vegetarian plates.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Wndrrluster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    58
    28
    2
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Love this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The best place around.. that's for sure... a special gem in the middle of nowhere. I came up here from Fresno for a special night out. I really loved the decor, the history. The service was excellent and the drinks delicious. A lovely place for a romantic meal.. took our time.. no rush! Had some delicious salmon and really enjoyed the salad here... fresh and crisp. So glad we could have a special night here.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank casey h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dinuba, California
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Birthday disappointment”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

My friends and I (group of six) had my bday dinner here last night. It was a disappointment. We order appetizers & drinks, salad, main course, and dessert. The time between each course was very long. The appetizers serve two people at best. The beet salad was made from canned beets. The main courses took a long time to come and the food was just average. When you are served your plate it is empty if you order steak. You are only served your steak with a very small side. The desserts were good the bread pudding is excellent! The Sand Box drink was also really good made with blue moon and orange something. At the end of the night our total was $360 which is $60 per person. Gratuity is add on before tax :( it was nice to try this place once but I will never go back for dinner. I would go back for drinks and dessert.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Hosanna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pasadena, California
Level Contributor
39 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Good Choice in Sanger”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

There is not much to choose from in Sanger but this one fits the bill, offering good food, good service, atmosphere and good wines at very reasonable prices.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank traveldiva10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
138 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Great restaurant not far from a fantastic B and B”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Ate at this place twice when staying at a nearby B and B (The Sequoia View). First night we ate in the tavern and the food was quickly served and really good. A few locals were in so the chat was good fun. The next night we booked a table in the restaurant and despite there being a family birthday celebration in progress our meal was really good, service was excellent and cost was good. The meat loaf was delicious. The freshly baked choc chip cookie was amazing!!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SusieQScotland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed School House Restaurant and Tavern also viewed

 

Been to School House Restaurant and Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing