We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Total Dump-Possible credit card fraud alert”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Travelodge San Ysidro
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Ysidro
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Total Dump-Possible credit card fraud alert”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

I booked this hotel through Hotwire. Upon checking in, I was asked for a credit card for incidentals. Not sure what incidentals can be had at a dumpy Travelodge, but no problem, at least until he began writing down my credit card info on a piece of paper in the office. When he proceeded to turn the card over to get the verification number I told him to stop.

He said that they write down every customers credit card numbers since they do not have a machine. He then said that my reservation was canceled and to deal with Hotwire. Hotwire didn't care and said they would not refund they stay and I had to dispute the charge with my CC company who were amazed that a merchant is writing down numbers and not at least getting an imprint which shows how sketchy this place is. They immediately advised me to cancel the card and get a new one reissued.

Anyone who stays or has stayed here needs to check the card they used closely.

I am probably lucky I didn't end up staying here. The "lobby" check in area was disgusting. Walls were gross, huge chunks out of the floor tile. The breakfast area was the most pathetic thing I have ever seen.

At best, you may save 10-15$ over a better place in the same general area. It's not worth it. This place is a dump in all aspects.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SDNX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

572 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    91
    146
    107
    74
    154
See reviews for
203
73
123
101
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2012

I came across this hotel because of the price to be honest. I really like to be closer to the city but the prices are near 60 dollars. When you realize that it is only ten minutes away, it's not that bad for a savings of 25 dollars. The rooms are very spacious but I suggest the deluxe because they are newer. The regular rooms are good for the price but the deluxe is like getting a Marriott looking room for a couple of dollars more. I come here often because the price is right and Orlando treats me and everybody with respect. He sounds and acts like Mr. Rourke (ricardo montalban)from the show Fantasy Island. The value is unbeatable. Arthur W

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Azenday5216
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manila
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Initial impression..."OH MY GOD... Glad I'm not driving... my car would be gone in the morning."

On the outside, the place is filthy, junky looking beyond description. The lobby is not any better... there's nothing inviting about it at all. Breakfast nook is sooo very depressing.

Worst thing about the place, tho, was the guy at the front desk. This guy has no customer service skills at all. AND I MEAN NONE! He would not give me his name... but I'm pretty sure it was Neil. He takes any comments about the hotel or Internet reviews as a personal affront. He needs a one way ticket out the door...

He refused to check me in even tho I pre-paid the hotel.

Wydham does NOT need this type of hotel or employee among
it's ranks.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ManilaBubba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these San Ysidro hotels

San Diego, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Management was rude, the rooms were dirty, the rooms were musty, and the appliances were rusty. I would never book a room there again. The entire stay was most uncomfortable.

Room Tip: Do not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ccxz87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 18, 2012

I read the reviews and decided to book at this Travelodge. We were NOT in a renovated room. The floor wasn't level in spots, the bathroom had cracked and stained spots. I didn't even want to get into the bed. There was an ancient looking kitchenette, something I would not feel safe using. I feel like I did not stay at the same hotel as some of the other reviewers.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LC C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 2, 2012

I have worked so hard within the last couple weeks that I just needed to get away with my family and relax. I decided to travel here from Tucson, AZ. I arrived @ about 2am and the person I dealt with @ front desk is Orlando the night auditor. Now this man has what it takes when it comes to Customer Service skills. No matter what I needed he was very attentive & he was very knowledable on the surrounding attractions which made it very convenient to make sure that my kids had a very good time. I surely hope that Oralando is recognized and rewarded in some way for his hard work and dedication. Thank You so much, I will definetely stay here again. The only recommendation I have is to have a little bit more selection when it comes to breakfast.

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MARISELA R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoba
Level Contributor
99 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2012

My sister-in-law had booked this hotel for a two night stay in San Diego, & our 1st impression when pulling up to the hotel was...."what the heck have we gotten into!" However, after we checked in, we were very impressed with the recently renovated rooms. Tastefully decorated, lovely linens, mini fridge and microwave. Rooms were small, but efficient. Price couldn't be beat! Don't know the last time we paid less than $100.00 (taxes in) for 2 nights of lodging. Literally 1 block from a large outlet mall, and just 1 mile from the Tijuana border. Breakfast was simple, but just right to get you started for the day, and a lovely woman oversees the food bar, keeping it stocked at all times. The walls are pretty thin, but it was a quiet area to stay on a Wed and Thurs night. All in all, nothing negative to report.

Room Tip: I can assure you that room numbers 107 & 108 were very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank winnerManitoba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near San Ysidro
0.2 mi away
Knights Inn San Ysidro
Knights Inn San Ysidro
#5 of 7 in San Ysidro
86 reviews
1.2 mi away
Best Western Americana Inn
Best Western Americana Inn
#116 of 279 in San Diego
302 reviews
1.4 mi away
Quality Inn and Suites Near the Border
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.1 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Chula Vista South Bay
5.2 mi away
Chula Vista Inn
Chula Vista Inn
#11 of 21 in Chula Vista
231 reviews
16.3 mi away
Days Inn San Diego Hotel Circle Near SeaWorld
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Travelodge San Ysidro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Travelodge San Ysidro

Property: Travelodge San Ysidro
Address: 190 East Calle Primera, San Ysidro, CA 92173-2921
Phone Number:
Location: United States > California > San Ysidro
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 7 Hotels in San Ysidro
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Travelodge San Ysidro 2*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Travelodge San Ysidro reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge San Ysidro Hotel San Ysidro
Super 8 San Ysidro
San Ysidro Super 8
San Ysidro Super Eight
Super Eight San Ysidro

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing